Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oaktara Publishers Yesterday's Tomorrow

Oaktara Publishers Yesterday's Tomorrow

Vietnam, 1967. Independent, career-driven journalist Kristin Taylor wants two things: to honor her father's memory by becoming an award-winning overseas correspondent and to keep tabs on her only brother, Teddy, who signed up for the war against their mother's wishes. Brilliant photographer Luke Maddox, silent and brooding, exudes mystery. Kristin is convinced he's hiding something.

Willing to risk it all for what they believe in, Kristin and Luke engage in their own tumultuous battle until, in an unexpected twist, they're forced to work together. Ambushed by love, they must decide whether or not to set aside their own private agendas for the hope of tomorrow that has captured their hearts.

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yesterday's Tomorrow
Review 1 for Yesterday's Tomorrow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good romance fiction of the Vietnam era

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kristen was twelve when her journalist father was killed in Vietnam in 1954. He had been covering the war between the French and Vietnamese. Thirteen years later Kristen landed in Saigon. She was determined to finish what her father had started.
And that involved Luke, a photographer for Time. Kristen and Luke are thrown together and she begins to think Luke is more than just a photographer. She suspects he is CIA. And that is exactly the story her father had been working on.
The relationship between Kristen and Luke started out on a rocky path but they soon develop serious feelings for each other. Will Kristen betray the one she has come to love for the story she so desperately wants to see completed?
Catherine has developed a touching story set in the background of the war torn country of Vietnam. She delves into the horrible and uncertain conditions of those fighting the war and reporting on it. She also investigates those held captive for years and listed as MIA. How long does someone wait when it is not know if he is alive or dead?
Kristen and Luke are struggling with their faith early in the book and they make some mistakes. There are faithful Christians around them, however, and God's work is ultimately recognized. Kristen's brother Teddy expressed how soldiers lived each day. “We're living in uncertain times... We're lucky to have had yesterday, and only God knows if we're getting tomorrow. The only day that really matters is today. It's yesterday's tomorrow.” (122)
This is a fine novel that will bring back memories of those times for older readers like me. The story kept my interest and the ending is a real cliffhanger.
I would have liked to have had more description of the locations the characters found themselves in. I almost feel like this novel could have taken place in any war torn country.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Yesterday's Tomorrow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PTSD from Vietnam War

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In light of just celebrating Veteran’s Day on 11/11/11, Yesterday’s Tomorrow by Catherine West gives credence to Vietnam Veterans, a group of veterans who have mostly been forgotten or ridiculed. They gave their lives for a cause, put themselves in personal danger, and suffered mentally, spiritually, physically, and emotionally. PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) was identified from this war. Schnurr, Lunney, and Sengupta[46] identified risk factors for the development of PTSD in Vietnam veterans. (Source:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posttraumatic_stress_disorder)
Catherine weaves a thread of romance in her book through the eyes of independent, career-driven journalist, Kristin Taylor, out to finish a job her father had started, and superb photographer, Luke Maddox, silent and brooding, seemingly holding out on a secret mission that needed exposing. Their romance helped to alleviate some of the trauma of reading about the horrors and atrocities of the war.
The romance itself was traumatic, too, due to the circumstances, but also the brooding and hot temper of the characters. Lack of sleep added to the tension, which was palpable in Catherine’s characters. The full breath of their relationship is heartrending at times.
Personally knowing men who have come back from Vietnam, I am acquainted with the stresses of the war and the resulting turmoil, especially those in combat, search and rescue, and physicians and their nurses. Catherine did an excellent job of describing the horrifying experiences of the war and its toll on the men and women serving, as well as the war correspondents. It made me think about whether I would have the courage to engage in war as they did. Personally convicting.
Catherine’s inclusion of humor was appreciated to lower the emotional trauma of reading about the wartime circumstances and to bring some sanity into the midst of the insanity of the war. The web of faith spread by the ‘Preacher’ ultimately kept many of the men and women striving for resolution and hope for healing. In fact, I just heard this week that they are providing ‘stick Bibles’ (technological forms of the New Testament) for the men and women overseas today, giving them hope through Christ during their stressful times.
A great book to help understand PTSD in loved ones and encouraging them to receive help for their very real symptoms.
This book was provided by Catherine West through This Is A Blog About Books in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Yesterday's Tomorrow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Debut

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Megan DiMaria
Location:Denver, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yesterday’s Tomorrow by Catherine West is a bittersweet tale set in the chaos of the 1960s. Young journalist Kristin Taylor travels to Vietnam in search of truth and discovers much more. Her raw and honest reporting stirs up trouble both for her and the man she’s falling in love with.
I love that this novel is set in a time period underserved by publishing. The 60s was a time that shaped our future, a time people grappled with ideas of war and peace and equality.
The writing was beautiful, and the story was captivating.
Yesterday’s Tomorrow kept me turning pages, and in the end, wishing for more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Yesterday's Tomorrow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Powerful Story Told With Emotional Grit

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reviews By Ann
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
West did a masterful job evoking emotion in the reader.
I had zero interest in reading about Vietnam, but picked up Yesterday's Tomorrow and couldn't put it down.
It moved me more deeply than a book has in a very, very long time. When I shut the book, I felt disturbed. West made me believe her characters were real people, and I hurt for them as though they were.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Yesterday's Tomorrow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Vietname Story that will Touch your Heart

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Location:Atlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved the cover of this book. It helped to set the tone for what to expect inside! I was thankful for the review copy and the opportunity to read such a gripping, emotional book.
Catherine West pens an honest portrayal of how disturbing the Vietnam War was for everyone. What happened there, the challenges they faced and how the soldiers were treated so horribly when they came home.
Main character Kristin Taylor is young and was passionate about being the best reporter in Vietnam, which wouldn’t be easy in a male dominated field. She was compelled to complete the mission her father died trying to complete.
She partnered up with Luke Maddox, who was a photographer per her bosses’ request. This guy got under her skin. Who did he think he was bossing her around – They were equal partners last time she checked?
Kristin tells her partner, “Luke this war has gone on so long that nobody back home seems bothered by what’s going on over here…I don’t think they have a clue what it’s really like for the guys on the front lines. Neither do the people who think we should be here. The whole country is caught up in a political quagmire. If you support the war, you’re accepting the death of countless men in the name of freedom; if you protest against it you’re a peace-loving hippie in bed with the communists.”
Kristen found conditions rough and wanted to be safe. She learned to survive and had a sarcastic wit about her. Things were crazy, but she found herself drawn to her partner. That was the craziest thing of all- she fought it on many levels. Luke was an amazing photographer but could he be trusted? She was becoming tough and street wise, and wondered who she could rely on? She knew she definitely couldn’t depend on God!
Kristin asked her brother Teddy, “Where is God in all this madness?” “...Since coming to Vietnam, she’d seen nothing to convince her God even existed.”
“Kris…God didn’t make this war. We did…when I think about this war, I think about the guys on the front lines, I can’t help but think of Jesus. “No greater love has a man who lays down His life for his friends.” That’s what the guys out there are doing for us. Kris. None of this makes sense, I know, but it makes even less sense without Him!”
What’s normal after Vietnam? When her assignment was complete- how could she go back to the USA? Who could she relate to? Kristin wasn’t the only one trying to figure life out. Many were afflicted with Post War Syndrome and didn’t know it. Josh set up Vietnam Café’s where people could get together and talk with others that they could relate to. This helped ease the pain and helped they cope with flash backs etc.
Catherine helps the reader get a taste of how people suffered in Vietnam and out- it’s gritty and real! She also helped show that God works all things out for His glory and our good! Luke says to Kristin, “We may never know why things happened the way they did. But I don’t think that matters. What matters most is how we grow through the struggles we’re given. At least that’s what I’m trying to do.”
I think this explains about everything we go through in life! I enjoyed this unlikely love story in the middle of a chaotic war called Vietnam. I hadn’t realized all the political issues and how dangerous it was not only for a woman but for anyone that was trying to help fight the good fight.
Thanks Catherine for such an honest, brutal look at this war. This story was gripping and would make a great summer read! Not only will you learn about Vietnam and history but you’ll see the hand of God at work in all things, amazingly- even in the middle of war. I look forward to reading more by this author!
Nora St.Laurent
The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Yesterday's Tomorrow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Moving Story Honors Vietnam Veterans

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Keli Gwyn
Location:Northern California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Catherine West tackled a tough subject in Yesterday’s Tomorrow. For those of us who can remember the Vietnam War, there are sure to be strong feelings associated with it. West doesn’t dance around them. In fact, she explores them with compassion and understanding.
Through the eyes of journalist Kristin Taylor and photographer Luke Maddox, the reader witnesses the realities of that war as well as the aftermath. While West captures the essence of the experience in tastefully crafted scenes, the story is much more than a snapshot of battles fought. Feelings, choices, and consequences come into play as Kristin and Luke meet in the midst of a turbulent time in history. Although the story takes place in the middle of a war, their relationship is at the forefront. I found myself laughing and crying with them as their friendship deepened into so much more.
Yesterday’s Tomorrow is a moving tale of love and triumph over adversity, one that pays tribute to the brave men and women who served in Vietnam and those who gave the ultimate sacrifice. If you enjoy a story with page-turning action, vivid imagery, engaging characters, and a lot of heart, I recommend Yesterday’s Tomorrow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Yesterday's Tomorrow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story!

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review is going to be difficult for me to condense into a few paragraphs. There were so many things I loved about this book. I was talking to my aunt about how I was alive during the Vietnam War, but it wasn't talked about much when I was growing up. It was like people wanted to forget it ever happened. I've met a number of Vietnam Vets and none of them wanted to talk about their experiences either. So while I wasn't sure if I'd like this book or not because of the subject matter, I decided to try it anyway because it was a debut novel. Well, I am so glad I did because it far exceeded my expectations.
I've read a few other books set during the Vietnam war era, but none of them were as detailed and compelling as this story. I felt like I WAS Kristin and that I was in Vietnam with her. I rarely have an experience that is so enthralling that I forget I'm reading and my mind goes to the place where I'm reading about. I felt that connection with this story. I read a lot of books so I know exceptional writing when I read it. Why was this story so amazing? I'll tell you...
When I read a book I want to get lost in the story. This book did that for me. When I read a book I want to care about the characters. This book did that for me, too. I loved the people and the relationships between them. I loved the emotion and the fact that the author wasn't afraid to let her characters deal with some difficult challenges. I got tearful a number of times and had to refrain from crying in the airport (I didn't want people to wonder why I had tears rolling down my cheeks.) All I wanted to do was read the book until I finished it, but I had to go out of town, so when I got a chance to finish the story I picked it up again and stayed up until I read THE END.
Did I mention that I loved this book? My emotions soared. I felt like I understood the characters when they had PTSD symptoms. I don't want to give away any spoilers, but toward the end I was practically biting my nails wondering what would happen to them. This novel satisfied me in every way. I never thought a love story set in Vietnam would have such a powerful impact on me that I would keep thinking about the story even after I finished it. There were so many good nuggets of truth in the story. The faith message was believable, and the love story was incredible!
I am definitely going to read another book by this author. Not only is her prose beautiful, but her pacing is perfect and her romantic tension is written exactly the way I like it. A very satisfying read, and just edgy enough to be compelling without being overly done. In fact, though I really hate to part with this book, I told my aunt she MUST read it because I can guarantee she will not only love it, but will spread the word about the story, too. This book is worthy of that kind of buzz.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Yesterday's Tomorrow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A wonderful summer read

Date:May 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A poignant love story set against the backdrop of war, Catherine West has captured the tumult and essence of Viet Nam in the pages of her book, Yesterday's Tomorrow. I could feel the overpowering humidity, hear the cacophony of voices and the burst of gunfire. Novel Journey and I recommend Yesterday's Tomorrow for a wonderful summer read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Yesterday's Tomorrow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Profoundly Moving and Haunting

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amber Stokes
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haunting. Yesterday's Tomorrow is a gripping story--one that vividly depicts the heroism and heartbreak of the Vietnam War, along with its aftermath in the lives of those who lived through it.
I cried several times while I was reading, and also after I finished the book in the wee hours of the morning. I could hardly put it down once I started it. The characters, the setting, the horror, and the hope are so real that I became thoroughly engrossed in the story. A friend reminded me as I voiced my inner turmoil over the drama that it is only fiction--but in a way it is so much more. The suffering and the sorrow are authentic, and to even think about what the men and women involved in the war went through is hard to take in.
The first 60% of the book is action-packed, full of budding romance, secrets, and pain. The remaining part of the book--"Homecoming"--is not as fast-paced, nor is it quite as engaging to read, but it is necessary. Seeing just a glimpse of what it was like for those who had witnessed the unspeakable torment of the war to return home and try to assimilate into a society that didn't understand is beyond tragic.
Yesterday's Tomorrow is a story that tells the truth as best it can--the confusion, the anguish, and the struggle of the U.S. military men and women, the journalists, and the families affected by the Vietnam War. It's not an easy read, but at the same time it is eye-opening and thought-provoking. It is profoundly moving and not without hope. Having been to the Vietnam War Memorial--a trench-like wall covered with names--I feel that this book captures a similar feeling: bringing the enormity of the hurt home in a personal and powerful way.
*With thanks to author Catherine West for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for my honest opinion.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.