Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oaktara Publishers Field of Daisies

Oaktara Publishers Field of Daisies

Andrea and Lans Mulder met as young teenagers on Andrea's family farm in Pennsylvania, renewed their romance as young adults during an enchanted week in Paris, and married in a storybook wedding in a field of daisies.

With two growing children, their life has been as close to perfect as you can imagine. But when the destructive degenerative disease of Alzheimer's strikes the third generation of Andrea's family, can even a made-for-each-other couple stand strong--and stay together? Especially when Andrea herself faces the worst news of her life?

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Field of Daisies
Review 1 for Field of Daisies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart Wrenching

Date:August 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Field of Daisies is a heart wrenching story of a family struggling to cope with the ramifications of Alzheimer’s. Before reading the story, I did not have a great knowledge of how Alzheimer’s affects not only the patient, but the family as well. The reader is captivated into the lives of the characters and the story throughout. I found myself angry at the injustices as well as rejoicing at the victories. I would definitely recommend this book.
I received Field of Daisies from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Field of Daisies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Field of Daisies by Barbara Hattemer

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
MrsTina
Location:Frederick, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Field of Daisies*****
by Barbara Hattemer
Field of Daisies is based on a true story of how Alzheimer's affects 3 generations in a family, how they cope with the disease, the impact it has on the family and their friends, a love story, a Spiritual journey that leads to hope and healing in God's Word.
Andrea Mulder, her husband Lans and their two children have a wonderful life that is about to change. They move closer to Andrea's parents so that Lans can work in the same office with her father. As they settle in their new home Lans is away more and more on business while Andrea cares for their home and children. Her mother tries to influence her in how she helps Lans in his business contacts and much more than Andrea wants.
Andrea's father dies suddenly leaving her mother alone and grieving. Now Lans is away on business even more since her father's death and their two children are away at college leaving Andrea alone to comfort her mother. Over time she notices changes in her mother that are alarming, symptoms of the dreaded disease Alzheimer that her great-grandparents and grandparents had when she was growing up now appear in her beloved mother. Her mother is difficult at the best at times, but Alzheimer's makes it even more challenging and takes a toll on her marriage when she moves in with them.
As the disease progresses, Andrea's marriage suffers greatly to the point that Lans moves out of the house leaving Andrea alone to care for her mother. Her mother does not want Andrea out of her sight and needs constant watching to keep her safe. Andrea seeks advice from her mother-in-law and together they seek medical help for her mother. After taking her to a facility to be tested and hopefully cured, Andrea is tested too at the suggestion of the doctor there. The test results bring shocking news to Andrea, news that she thought she would never hear.
Andrea misses her husband and his support but he does not want to come home as long as his mother-in-law is there. Over the next months Andrea remembers how she and Lans met, fell in love and married and longs for his return but does not see that ever happening now.
As Andrea and her mother return home with a plan things continue to fall apart. Not knowing where else to turn she returns to God, taking her on a Spiritual journey, searching God's Word for answers, comfort, hope, healing and direction. This however turns out to be the best “medicine” she could have sought, not only for how she cares for her mother but herself and her marriage as well.
This story is well written, sharing the difficult times caring for a loved one with Alzheimer's disease, the impact it has not only on the person it attacks but the family as well. But there is hope, which Andrea found in the Lord and His blessings on her life as well as her marriage.
My husband's cousin's mother suffered with Alzheimer's for years so I have seen first hand how it affects someone with it but the family as well.
“I received this book from bookfun.org in return for my honest opinion”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Field of Daisies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

scary real

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful story of a marriage, from their first meeting as teenagers on through becoming empty-nesters. Andrea and Lans are sure that nothing life might send their way could damage the strength of their bond. However, this is also the story of a horrible monster that threatens to destroy that marriage. It is not infidelity or substance abuse. The monster is Alzheimer’s.
Andrea is the sole-caregiver when the monster consumes her mother as it had other members of her family tree. The heart-breaking effects of the disease cause Andrea to question God and alienate her husband, Lans. He grows tired and angry with her placing her mother’s needs before his. In a world where Alzheimer’s and dementia affect so many families, this was a relevant and touching examination of the issues of dealing with a disease that steals the loved one’s personality and independence long before the physical body declines.
The characters are fully developed and the ravages of Alzheimer’s painfully described. I have had personal experience with round-the-clock caregiving and could easily feel Andrea’s emotional and physical exhaustion. The conflict she feels between her duty to her mother and the wishes of her husband compound her misery. The book is not all dreary, however, as the flashbacks to Andrea’s happy childhood and the love story of Andrea and Lans are interspersed throughout the book, and their joy and peace and hope balance the sense of doom the disease brings. Then comes the reminder that no matter what the problems and heartaches life brings, God is with us through them.
This book is highly recommended –to anyone. I received it from The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Field of Daisies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Field Of Daisies by Barbara Hattemer

Date:June 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Favorite Scene:
"Settling her on the bench, Lans faced her as if he were ready to do battle. Searching her brilliant blue eyes, he found them enchanting, the color of an ocean on a sunny day. They sparkled with sunlight in the daytime and candlelight at night. Whatever time or condition of the day, they invited him to join in their fun. Her eyes exuded a warmth he did not have. His was an analytical mind. Good at figures, at problem solving, he lacked the depth of compassion he found in Andrea. When she invited him into her world, he experienced more of life. He felt complete, Realizing he needed her, he could not let her go this time.
Andrea interrupted his thoughts. "Will you stay here after you graduate?"
"I had thought about it, but now I'm not sure. I wasn't prepared for how I felt when I saw that Chico character sweep you into his arms. Since then I haven't been able to think about anything but how easy it would be to lose you again. If I stay here, I'll leave you vunerable to all those crazy American boys."
Andrea glanced at Lans and laughed. "You must be joking."
He studied her in complete seriousness.Did she feel what he was feeling, an inexpressable yearning that had built mysteriously inside him in all their years of trying to spend time together? A yearning he had crushed down until he thought it had gone away. "I know it's been alot of years in between, Andrea, and we haven't spent much more than a month together overall, but there were all those letter and all those years trying to get together when we were younger."
"Yes, it seems I've known you all my life," Andrea spoke in little more than a whisper.
I don't know what happened that changed things between us that weekend at Dartmouth. I thought you had changed."
"I've always been the same, Lans. It was you who changed. It was like you were someone else. College had gone to your head and you were trying to fit in with all the kids from boarding schools. The boy who had loved the simple pleasures at the farm seemed to have died. I was heartbroken. And when I told you I had decided to go to Smith to be near you, you didn't say a thing. You left me thinking you couldn't have cared less."
His heart panged as he thought how much he must have hurt her. "Since you were already commited, I didn't know how to tell you I wouldn't be there. Nothing worked out that weekend, and I didn't know how to deal with it, so I didn't." He turned to her again. "I'm sorry if I hurt you, Andrea. I didn't want to."
"After this week, it doesn't hurt anymore." She smiled at him. "This week has erased all those sad memories."
The tightness in his throat relaxed, and his heart flip-flopped. He took her in his hands. Then, fumbling into his pocket, he withdrew a small box and handed it to her. "They don't have fraternities here, so I don't have a pin to give you, but I want you to wear this promise ring. It's a promise that I'll come back to the States as soon as I graduate so we can spend time with each other and explore a future together. Are you willing to commit to that, Andrea? I'm in no position to offer you anything more than that right now, but I want you to know that you're still the only girl I've ever thought about spending my life with. I can't bear the thought of losing you before we have a chance to see it it can work. Will you accept it? It means no impetuous eloping with Chico or his like."
"Oh there's only one like him. And there's only one like you. I'd be thrilled to wear your ring and explore a future together when you come home." Her eyes sparkled as he slipped the ring onto her finger.
"I can't believe this is happening after all these years and in Paris, of all places. I always dreamed it would be at the farm."
"Then you didn't give up on me these three and a half years?"
"No, I tried to tell myself it was over, but something deep inside wouldn't let go."
"I'm grateful," he said. Taking her in his arms and holding her close, he kissed the top of her forehead and nuzzled his face in her hair."
Meet The Characters:
Andrea Mulder: Andrea was a very free-spirited girl that turned into a very strong woman. Starved for family time with her parents, she turned to her grandparents for the constant love and affection she craved. Time on her grandparent's farm became her oasis.
Lans Mulder: I was very torn about my feelings for Lans. While he was a very loving husband and devoted to his kids and Andrea in most ways, he wasn't there for Andrea when she needed him most. I was appalled at his selfishness at times. Needless to say, he was not my idea of a storybook hero.
Evelyn Collins: Andrea's mother who later suffered from Altzheimer's. She was a socialite that traveled the world with her husband but, in the end, became a huge disruption to Andrea's life due to her disease.
Katharine Mulder: Lans mother and Andrea's best friend. Katharine was a very understanding and compassionate lady. She was there to help Andrea through some of the toughest times in her life.
Fritz and Laura Klinghof: Andrea's grandparents, Fritz and Laura, gave Andrea the "paternal love" she so desperately needed. Fritz's eyes always sparkled with life and Laura was always ready with the hugs Andrea longed for.
My Thoughts:
Andrea met Lans when both their parents met at the farm for a three week work session. Both their fathers were writing a book together and the farm offered the peace and relaxation they needed. Andrea dreaded having to entertain Lans but soon found herself enjoying his company. Both grew up missing time spent with their parents and soon realized they had alot in common. When the three weeks came to an end, it ended with a promise, a promise that they would see each other again. Through the course of several years they managed to keep in contact through letters and a few hap-hazard visits. One thing that was obvious throughout the entire book was the bond they shared and their love that would last a lifetime.
When Andrea's mother entered the first stages of Altzheimer's, life seemed to go on as normal as possible for her family but Evelyn soon progressed to the point that it took Andrea's ever waking moment to care for her. Lans had a very hard time dealing with the strain it put on their marriage but, through it all, love prevailed.
I really enjoyed this book. It had me in tears several times and there were several scenes I could have chosen as my favorite. However, I chose a happier scene to share. I'll let you save your tears for later when you read the book for yourself. It really opens the eyes of the reader about Altzheimer's, the way the disease progresses and the stress it has on the families involved. The only negative thing I can say is, although I am a Christian, I felt like the last quarter of the book went from being a novel to being a Bible study. It felt like the entire focus of the book shifted. Having said that, I am glad I read it. Field Of Daisies had me in tears three quarters of the way through, and I hope you will check it out for yourself.
Field Of Daisies is a story of love lost and found but, most importantly, it deals with Altzheimer's Disease and the effects it has, not only on the person with the disease, but also on all those around them. It can cause a great strain in families and sometimes rip families apart. The patient deals with memory loss, loss of alot of their normal mental functions, but also the loss of their dignity. Altzheimer's generally effects those 65 or older but there is younger onset Altzheimer's that can effect people in their 40's and 50's. For more information go to http://www.alz.org/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Field of Daisies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Field of Daisies

Date:June 19, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This a wonderful book and I like how the author was able to inform us that when someone is ill it not only effects the caregiver; especially if the caregiver is family, but the entire family is touch by it. One of the greatest things that I think this book conveys is for us to always trust in God and keep our hands in His unchanging hand.
I received a free copy of this book courtesy of TBCN for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Field of Daisies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An emotional realistic story

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
KristinsBookGarden
Location:RI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently finished reading Field of Daisies by Barbara Hattemer. This book certainly pulled at my heartstrings. But, the one thing that was stamped on my heart after reading this is that there is always Hope (Hope for the future, Hope in healing, Hope to reconcile) Jesus, pure and simple, is that Hope. If we dig far enough~~learn all that we can and follow God's will, He will shower His Blessings upon us. He does love us and want to bless us. This story reminds us of that fact.
My heart went out to the main character, Andrea. She had so much placed on her lap, so much to deal with, so many tragedies to overcome and her life was literally turned upside down when she decided to care for her mother who was suffering from Alzheimer's. We all have to deal with tragedies. This book helps you to reflect upon that. It does not matter if you are dealing with Pre-senile dementia, Alzheimers, cancer or any other debilitating disease or problem, it is something that can change our lives forever.
My honest opinion~~This is a truly moving and emotional book that deals with sensitive issues. It helps to remind us that we truly are not alone.
This is a must read book. After reading this book, I felt a renewed sense of hope for the future and a strong desire to get to know my Lord and Savior more deeply. It reminded me that it is important to "Let go and Let God".
Thank you Barbara for writing such an inspiring story~~a true reflection of God's love and blessings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Field of Daisies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An unusual book, relevant subject matter

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Field of Daisies by Barbara Hattemer is an unusual novel, one that I was very glad to discover. Barbara draws from personal experience as she writes about the difficult subject of degenerative disease with stark realism, but in a way that offers hope to families experiencing Alzheimer's disease in successive generations.
Publisher's description:
Andrea and Lans Mulder met as young teenagers on Andrea’s family farm in Pennsylvania, renewed their romance as young adults during an enchanted week in Paris, and married in a storybook wedding in a field of daisies.
With two growing children, their life has been as close to perfect as you can imagine. But when the destructive degenerative disease of Alzheimer’s strikes the third generation of Andrea’s family, can even a made-for-each-other couple stand strong—and stay together? Especially when Andrea herself faces the worst news of her life?
My thoughts
This book is well researched, but the best part is that Barbara writes from the heart, based on personal experience. Alzheimer's will eventually touch most of us in some way, and Barbara uses her narrative to show what the disease is like and how it can affect family relationships.
In a particularly revealing scene shortly after Andrea's mother starts a kitchen fire, Barbara writes:
All her life the daisies had brought her joy and comforted her when she hurt. Today they made her sad, reminding her of relationships that were no more, relationships that even now were slipping away. . . . Lans refused to believe she could not leave her mother. She understood that he felt neglected, but why was he distancing himself from her? He had agreed to have Evelyn live in their house, but having his mother-in-law under his roof was changing him. As Andrea found herself catering to her mother's demands rather than meeting the needs of her husband, she saw the danger, but she felt helpless to do anything about it. All her life she had longed for her mother's attention. Now there was no escape from it. . . . She and Lans were still together, but emotionally they were as far apart as they were physically separated.
In a perfect world, Lans would have been the understanding and supportive husband, always putting others' needs before himself, never jealous or immature, quick to pray with Andrea and put the situation in God's hands. But while I struggled to like him at times, wondering how he could react in such a way after so many years of happy marriage, no one knows how they will respond to such a difficult situation until they experience it.
Andrea, on the other hand, is a complex character, easy to relate to. Faced with the fear of inheriting this genetic disease, she turns to the Bible and realizes that God is our healer, and that He longs to bless His children.
Barbara shares on her website: "I wrote Field of Daisies to give hope to people like me who fear they may be next, and to caretakers and friends. I have lived this story of three generations of Alzheimer's disease. While the romance between Andrea and Lans is pure fiction, the facts about Alzheimer's are taken from my family experience. Caregivers respond that the book offers an accurate portrayal of what happens in real life."
Field of Daisies deals with serious subject matter in an uplifting, inspirational way - for even in the most difficult situation, there is always hope. I would recommend this book to anyone, but especially those whose lives may be touched by a debilitating hereditary disease like Alzheimer's.
Barbara's website and blog offer a lot of helpful resources. See barbarahattemer.com for more information.
This book was provided by BookFun.org in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Field of Daisies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb story of hope, family and blessings

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindi
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lans and Andrea meet when they are teens at Andrea's grandparents' farm. They become fast friends over the three weeks they spend there.
Both agree to keep in touch and do so over the years. Lans proposes to Andrea while they are in Paris and get married a short time later.
Over time Andrea's mother starts to show signs of Alzheimer's disease and Andrea must make some difficult decisions regarding her care.
This is not only a story of romance but a look inside of a family faced with the dreaded disease that steals one's memory and dignity.
The author, Barbara Hattemer, takes it's reader into the fears and feelings associated with the one afflicted. She goes on to show the struggles of the family who must deal with the pain of watching them decline and make heartwrenching decisions.
Surprisingly, there are blessings to be found through all of this and Hattemer makes it clear how we can find them. I enjoyed this book much more than I ever thought possible, thanks to the well written story and the hope and love conveyed.
I received a copy of this book from bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Field of Daisies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hope for Alzheimer's

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Field of Daisies by Barbara Hattemer *****
Field of daisies is a great read. Although it is fiction it gave a great glimpse into the life of an Alzheimer’s patient. Andrea watched her beloved grandfather suffer from Alzheimer’s. She meets her husband Lans on her grandparent’s farm when she was only 14 years old. They fell in love years later and marry. Andrea and Lans had it all, a good strong Christian marriage, they were deeply in love. Raising two great kids and living a life many would envy. Andrea’s world came to a crashing halt when her mother developed Alzheimer’s. She had made a promise never to put her in a home and kept her word but the cost was great. Being her mother’s sole caregivers has taken a toll on her and has left her marriage in shambles. She and her mother in law attend a week long retreat at a Christian family camp. One thing she finds at camp is a deeper understanding of all that Christ did for her on the cross and the many ways He has blessed her. But can Andrea find peace and end her struggle with fear and worry. Will Lans and her find a way back to one another? The author Barbara Hattemer used her first hand knowledge of the pain and suffering Alzheimer does not only to the patient but to the family. Her real life experiences helped to bring the characters alive. I would recommend this book to every family dealing with this heartbreaking disease. I was blessed and grateful to receive a copy of this book by the Book Club Network.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Field of Daisies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

from a Field of Daisies to a House divided

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cher
Location:NW Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review of `Field of Daisies'
by Cherie Kasper
Andrea lived her young years with very little attention from her parents. Her happiest years were spent at her Grandmother and Grandfather's farm. She had the freedom to run and play, ride her horse Dolly and grow up `spoiled' with love.
During a three week visit during her 14th year from a family friend of her fathers she met Lans. A love developed between them spending time in a field of daisies.
The younger years of Andrea's strengthened her character so that later she would be able to stay the course of continued time as a caregiver for her mother. Andrea had seen what Alzheimer's had done to her Grandfather, and how her mother had handled it, or not handled it. Now she was faced with how she was going to stay the course, but at what cost to her family.
Would this be the wedge that tears them apart? How would it affect her relationship with her children? Does she find that one special person who is there for her when she really needs it? And most of all, how does she deal with news about herself?
Barbara Hattemer captured my attention from the beginning to the end of this eventful story as she wove together three generations of a family with Alzheimers. I identified with the story and with Barbara as a similar situation has occurred in my family. We can always have HOPE.
I received a copy of the book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.