Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Desperate Pastors' Wives - eBook

Howard Books Desperate Pastors' Wives - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Desperate Pastors' Wives - eBook
Review 1 for Desperate Pastors' Wives - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun read

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Location:Xenia OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book and a fun read. I'm looking forward to reading the other books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desperate Pastors' Wives - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book.

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon
Location:Newtown Square,PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the characters and the story. They made you think about how you behave and act, and how we have double standards. However, it didn't hit you over the head or preach but made some major points. How often do we have expectations of others while making excuses for our own behavior? Despite a fairly light tone, it touches a variety of subjects in a way that makes you think without threatening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desperate Pastors' Wives - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra Schmitt
Enjoyed the book. I liked knowing that the pastor's wife was human just like the rest of us and that she need someone to talk to about her own problems. Finding that kind of person can be hard sometimes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desperate Pastors' Wives - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lauren Loman
This book was wonderful! It was very encouraging to me as a Pastor's wife and I found myself laughing at various times as if the writer was looking into my life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desperate Pastors' Wives - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon Payne
Very good book. Pastor's wives will certainly see a bit of themselves in there. It helps to laugh at the circumstances in which God allows us to go through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desperate Pastors' Wives - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2008
This book was a refreshing realistic view into the hardships of what it's like to be a pastor's wife. It really irks me about the absurd expectations people place on the the pastor and his family. Why do we as church members think that the pastor's family should be perfect and that we have a right to judge every move they make? There were several interesting revelations I discovered while reading. One was how competitive pastor's wives are with each other which was the case with Kitty. Now that was a character you love to hate. I actually enjoyed reading all her scenes because she's the type of Christian who's walking around with the plank in her eye. While I enjoyed the book, there were several things that irked me. Out of the four women, Mimi was my least favorite. Her story just doesn't make as much of a statement as the other 3. I know she was tired of having the church members constantly dictating what they could do but it didn't seem as important as the other 3 stories. And honestly I found her refusal to stop joining things rather annoying. Now as for the other three wives, I could understand their plights more. It's not fair for Felicia to be looked down on simply because she wants to work outside the home. The pressure put on Jennifer to have a baby is very realistic in this day and age but it's not right for church members to make her feel unworthy for not having a baby. However, the story seemed to portray Catholics as completely different from other Christians. Also I don't blame Lisa one bit for her anger towards Joel for not treating her with love and respect. I just felt though lot of the misunderstanding and tension in the story could have been made up very easily if people would just talk to each other. It would have made for a shorter story but a lot of drama could have been avoided. Still it was an enjoyable read and I am looking forward to the rest of the books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desperate Pastors' Wives - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amber
I loved this book! I took it on vacation this summer and I'm afraid my husband did much of the driving as I wanted to keep reading. :) I am not a pastor's wife but appreciated the "realness" of the book and how real these ladies seemed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desperate Pastors' Wives - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sally
As a Pastor's wife, I could relate to all 4 of these women at some point in my life. I don't read fiction often, but I couldn't put this book down! Looking forward to revisiting LuLu's Cafe in the next book of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desperate Pastors' Wives - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tina
I thought this book was fabulous. I am an avid reader, classics, thrillers, biographies, non-fiction, chick lit, etc. The problems the pastors' wives face in the book are applicable to any married woman. I cannot wait for the second installment. That's actually why I contacted this web site...to find out when the next book comes out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.