Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Crime and Clutter - eBook

Howard Books Crime and Clutter - eBook

A storage unit, a 1963 Volkswagen minibus, and tattered letters...reveal shattering secrets from the 1960s.

It has been a year since Mary Alice lost her father, the father she never really knew. Now she is stuck cleaning out his rubbish from a storage unit. Just when she would rather it all go away from her well-ordered life, her long-held secret is discovered by the feisty Marina, one of the six members of the Friday Afternoon Club. When these friends make it their mission to help Mary Alice tackle her stash, they arrive at the storage unit, prepared to clean. But what they discover takes them on a riotous ride through the crime and clutter of the sixties, the angst and betrayal of those caught in The Revolution, and the forgiveness that can only come through acceptance of a different kind of Cause.

Includes fun, easy, and tantalizing recipes!

Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Crime and Clutter - eBook
Review 1 for Crime and Clutter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2008
"Crime and Clutter" by Cyndy Salzmann is loaded with great recipes for everything from air freshener to sparkling juice to Mexican delights. I can't wait to make the Fruit Cocktail Cake! The recipes relate directly to what the characters in the story are doing/eating at the time. The story of Mary Alice's inheritance of a 1963 Volkswagon Minibus develops a bit slowly, but the characters are diverse and likable. Cyndy beautifully takes the reader from present to past and back again, weaving a story that keeps you interested by not revealing too much too soon. This was a very "hip" trip back to the `60s. I will definitely read this talented author's other work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Crime and Clutter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Stahnke
Absolutely wonderful. Cyndy Slazmann is a wonderful writer. Her book will keep you hooked till the last page. Plan plenty of time, you will not want to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Crime and Clutter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jill Stanish
Crime & Clutter was a wonderful diversion from looking at my own clutter. Ms. Salzmann crafts an entertaining story, skillfully weaving a tale of today as well as the past. It gives the reader food for thought in facing the realities of a past they might prefer to ignore. You'll laugh, cry and have some great new recipes to try!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Crime and Clutter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cathy Elliott (www.cathyelliottbooks.com)
I so enjoyed reading Cyndys cozy mystery, CRIME & CLUTTER, the second in the series. The first one was really a great read, and this one was even better. She did a great job of bringing the sixties to life. Denny and Alis story was compellingthough at first, I didnt want to leave the present day setting with the Friday Afternoon Club friends. But once I was introduced to Denny and Ali, I HAD to see what was happening in the commune! The writing was creative, sprinkled with Salzmanns sense of humor, and lovely phrases like fragile tendrils of dust that made me wish Id written them myself. Add in an abundance of tantalizing recipes and you have a treasure that is delicious in every way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Crime and Clutter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2007
The 60s is my absolute favorite decade. I love the culture of that time period especially the music. I would have killed to be alive when the Beatles were popular. So when I heard about the premise for this story, I was excited to read it. And I was not disappointed. This story will give Baby Boomers and fans of the decade a time capsule of the events that happened. From the Beatnik years to the Summer of Love, the story reminds you of Forrest Gump as you happen to be in all the important events of the time. I really liked the articles that would appear at the beginning of the flashback chapters. They helped to make the story seem more real and place you during that time period. I thought it was interesting that the 60s was picked because, even though I think of it as history, in the literary world it is still modern time period. I really liked the chapters set during the Democratic National Convention. It's an even that gets skimmed over during high school history class so I was pleased to read about it from the protester point of view. The story of Mary Alice and her father was sad to read, having to learn to forgive. Very touching and moving. And then there are the recipes. My gosh, I could have gained a pound just from reading them. They all sound soooo good. I can't wait to try out some of them. They all look really easy to make with nothing too fancy so that anyone can cook them. So don't read this book on an empty stomach because after a few pages I guarantee you'll be raiding your fridge! The only complaint I have about the book is that with only one POV telling the story and so many women in the group, I feel like I haven't gotten to know some of the characters that well yet. Hopefully that will change in the upcoming books. Can't wait for them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Crime and Clutter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2007
This is a hilarious and heart-warming book detailing the adventures of the six members of the Friday Afternoon Club as they help one of their members de-clutter her life and her heart when she inherits an old VW van and many memorabilia from her dad's life in the 60's Revolution. It is a story of the importance of friends, family and forgiveness. Each chapter opens with some great recipes ranging from down-home cooking to recipes used in hippie communes. Captivating characters, a surprise ending and lots of heart-squeezing emotion in between, make this a great read! Hope you will buy this book for your summer reading enjoyment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Crime and Clutter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2007
I'd read Dying to Decorate and expected this to be fun but I didn't expect such a page turner. It's not what you think of as a fast paced thriller at all but the way it's written jumping from very interesting history to very interesting present, I just read and kept reading until I was through the whole thing in one evening. I loved this book.I am also now STARVING for those recipes Cyndy has in the book but that's secondary to an absolutely great, fun read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Crime and Clutter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Crime & Clutter has a totally unique plot, just like Dying to Decorate, the author's first book in the series. It's not often that I find a novel that entertained me as much as this one, yet also had the ability to also keep my attention on both ends. I enjoyed the portions of the story about the hippie experience from the 60's, but really got into reading about the current time as well. And the deep theme of forgiveness in this story will really tug on your heart. Very well done.Salzmann is great with tongue-in-cheek thoughts and humor. She can get you laughing about what seem like the most mundane things, but she shows you them in a humorous light. In short, I couldn't stop reading this book. It's full of life, has "flavor" and depth, and I savored every page. The recipes were also pretty tasty-sounding. I'm sure my husband, who is the cook in our family, will want to try some of them.I also appreciated delving into the mindset of the 60s and how that influenced our culture at the time. My husband remembered being in Haight-Asbury at the same time as one of the real-life events that occurred in the story. The author sprinkled just enough history and lingo from that era into her novel to really bring it to life. It was so fun to read, I might even devour it again. If nothing else, it's incredibly practical because the recipes alone make it a keeper. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Crime and Clutter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Angie Farnworth
What an unexpected find! Who would have thought an author could combine a mystery with the historical 1960s, recipes, a friendship club and Christ--and do it so successfully? I loved this book, and its predecessor, Dying to Decorate! In fact, I read them both in a single weekend. They were so fun and creative that I just couldn't put them down. And the recipes were fantastic! My hubby already told me that Cyndy's recipe for lemonade is the only one I should bother serving from now on! I highly recommend this book. It's a keeper!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Crime and Clutter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jimmie Lindsey
A delightful debute for Ivy Malone, a widow, retired librarian, who finds that being "invisible" has it's advantages... especially when ones curiosity is in full swing. Through the seasons of life she has nurtured special relationships with neighbors and friends but primarily leaves guidance up to the Lord. So as Ivy moves through losses to new friendships, into unconventional sleuthing to bring justice to cemetery vandals, which leads to startling revelations involving a young mysterious neighbor's disappearance. Throw in unwanted matchmaking and much laughter in her untypical senior lifestyle, makes this cozy a fast paced read that you won't want to miss! I enjoyed her flawless flow to segue into her next must read installment of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.