Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Barbour Publishing The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country

Feeling stretched and stressed? Mennonite pastor's wife and fiction writer Brunstetter invites you to slow down and learn practical lifestyle lessons from the Amish. Her peace-and-quiet devotional thoughts offer 60 unique meditations, each featuring a Plain People story and cultural insight; a spiritual lesson with complementary Scripture; and a "bonus" witticism or recipe. 192 pages, softcover from Barbour.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Review 1 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good extra for small gift for a cook

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
iris
Location:lapel in
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy the fact that it was a small devotion, but had some recipes mingled in with it. Good to stuff in with a kitchen gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For the Soul and the Body

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barbra Fox
Location:Alaska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like how the book shares life examples with the WORD and with recipes - weaving a lifestyle tapestry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a quick resource

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
wraparoundporch
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the book because it is good for a quick pick me up. The lessons are simple and pertain to everyday life events.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
bouquets
Location:Small Town Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delightful devotionals shown through Amish eyes. The recipes sound delicious; may have to try some.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this book during my daily devotions and I found myself jotting down so many notes and quotes and scriptures. I really loved it and was sad to see it end! Very nicely put together and I agree with other reviews that it would make a great gift; especially for fans of the Amish and their way of life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simple folk Real lives

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
ifonly
Location:Barrie, Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great devotional with real life application of scripture.
Christian fundamentals in action.
Great recipes as well, along with insight into the Amish community.
A subtle guide to how living a simplified life might be achieved.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

confort

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
MIQ
Location:Florida
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This devotional is different from the ones I have purchased before, but I liked because of that, reading it give you the confort and peace of the country side. It also has some recipies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
maestra
Location:Gooding, ID
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having visited the Amish country in PA and part of NY and having read a great deal about the Amish, I especially can appreciate and relate these devotionals to their lives and to my own. These are short, but meaningful devotions, applicable to our everyday lives and challenges. Would make a great little gift!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A devotional unlike any other!

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
BUCKEYE
Location:Vermont
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually look forward to reading a few pages every night. It won't be hard at the last page to start all over again at the beginning of the book. A must for those who like Amish culture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an interesting devotional.

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
karen
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy reading the devotions and am going to try some of the recipes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprising Value for the Money

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Luann Bryans
Location:Woodstock, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was expecting some homilies for daily reading, but the wonderful recipes were an overwhelming surprise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Nice Surprise

Date:November 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
DeeDee
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying this little devotional book. I have always been intrigued by the Amish and this gives some insight into the lifestyle. These are pleasant stories and reminders of how to be our best for Jesus in everyday events. And! Each story ends with a real Amish recipe!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
debs
This is the Children's version of the book The Butterfly Effect. I would recommend this for ages 3-7; however, children of all ages will enjoy this book. The book has very colorful and very well drawn illustrations. Each page is filled with a picture of what is happening in the story. This is a great book to be read out loud to children as the illustrations will keep the attention of the young ones and keep the older children wanting to know what is going to happen...it is a page turner for children. Great book for bed time reading and discussion.The story tells of 3 different boys and what effect they have had with what they have done in their lives. In the end it illustrates how each boy has made a difference in the world and how it all ties in together. It gives you great examples of how your actions, education and hard work will change the world.The ending of the book does a great job to explain (with lots of colorful butterflies) what the whole butterfly effect is and how you can change the world with just one simple act of kindness, hard work, study hard and have a passion for what you do.I would recommend this book be purchased and read to all children.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joy Peck
I am so delighted with this book that I have given some as gifts. It gives wonderful thoughts for daily life, the soul, and "food" for the body...in the form of wonderful Amish recipes. I will read it many times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
D.c. Jeanes
I ordered this book for my wife, and she loves it. It's got wonderful devotions and a good deal of recipes. My only thought is that it could have been bigger. Otherwise, it's a great gift!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Frances Baer
Took this on my Women's retreat with me this weekend. Shared several devotions from it during our prayer and reflection time. I would recommend this book to anyone who needs to be uplifted and reminded to walk with God always!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diane Rivard
wonderful and also has great Amish recipes, it is worth every penny of the low price of $4.99.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anissa
I was very disappointed with this book. I found the devotionals to be light & fluffy. I didn't realize this was in story-format which I found to be cheesy. I do like the author's book series but I just don't care for this devotional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy Denoyer
I bought this one for my mom. She loves it! I was especially excited about the recipe for Whoopie Pies - we've heard a lot about them in Amish fiction we've read, but never knew what they really were.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sandra G.
If you need a quick fix to relax, I believe you will find this a help. I read 1 - 3 stories each evening. They are the very last thing I read before turning the light out at night. I would recommend this to everyone.Wanda Brunstetter is at the top of my favorite author list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.