Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded

Moody Publishers The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded

A bestseller for almost 50 years, this time-honored classic is now more valuable than ever. Its 6, 700-plus entries, reflecting the most current scholarship and over 1,200,000 words, are supplemented with detailed essays, colorful photography and maps, and dozens of charts and illustrations to enhance your understanding of God's Word. Based on the New American Standard Version.
Features:
  • cross-referenced to all major Bible translations
  • major articles treat individual Bible books and authors
  • 16-page map insert
  • more than 100 new illustrations and 48 maps
  • modernized pronunciation guides
  • new photography with 380 full-color photographs
  • full-color 16 page map insert
  • updated bibliographies
The late Merrill F. Unger (A.B., Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University; Th.M, Th.D., Dallas Theological Seminary) pastored several churches before joining the faculty of Dallas Theological Seminary in 1948. There he served as professor of Old Testament studies until his retirement in 1967. He was the author of many books including such monumental reference works as Unger's Bible Dictionary and the two-volume Unger's Commentary on the Old Testament. Dr. Unger died in 1981.
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Review 1 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very helpful

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
preacherlady
Location:Detroit Mi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i brought 3 one for my pastor and 1 for a new minister and my self and they are all very well used we all love it so much very help
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very delighted with this product

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Ocala, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has been a great source of information to me during my discipleship studies. So very glad that I bought this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nom De Plume
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent resource and a must-have for all who study the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superior Reference Guide

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
peanut
Location:Georgetown, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the Reference Guide to go with your Bible. It has everything I've needed and just as the description states. I love it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I wanted!

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kaki
Location:SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is clear, consise, easy and FUN to read! My pastor recommended it & as usual he was right. It has beautiful color pictures of Bible related things & of the Holy land. It is very helpful when I need a quick answer to a question I don't know or am not sure of. Also, when I teach Sunday School I think it is very important to inject as much Bible history & background as possible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
luther
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is very helpful with understand just what something are in the Bible. The pictures are also helpful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Molyn
Location:Washington, DC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I was taking a bible class and we were asked to use Unger's. I found it to be an excellent tool to use in the study of God's Word, for it is quite thorough.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ungers
Location:CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is an excellent dictionary. I would like modern political facts included in the Dictionary that are relevant. There ARE Biblical Views which I know already, but it would be best to articulate them in such a seminal work.
A Biblical View of:
The Palestinian conflict: (The Land is Israel's not the Palestinians.... give a historical reasoning for this.)
Homosexuality: (Never condoned. Always considered completely pathological....explain this by scripture.)
Pre-marital sex: (Never allowed. According to Genesis, if one has sex with a woman they ARE married... site the scripture.)
The Second Amendment (be careful of this one.... the Bible DOES fully supports the citizenry possessing and using military arms.... explain the Biblical basis for this and remember, in the USA as opposed to the Roman era when Romans 13 was inspired and written by Paul, WE are the government in the USA, not the bureaucracy or the Representatives).
In other words, put some meat into Ungers beyond what Ungers has accomplished. If the topics seem too political for you to do so...or if you would take a view other than those I have summarized which are Biblical... then leave that for other authors.
Tell, Cyril Barber, I hope he is doing well. God bless him.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gert
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a vast source of information and the price I paid was exceptional. I would recommend Unger's Bible Dictionary to anyone who is in the market of purchasing a Bible dictionary.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Ogle
It is fine but Iam a Dispensation beliver and there is word like epignosis,pleroma,simcahah and chesed from the greekand hebrew not in the book. A good historical and religous book . Will keep . but not what I expected
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
George Coleman
Very good reference. It is one of three Bible Dictionaries that I own. This one was recommended to me by a pastor.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael L. Greene
I have only had this book about 4-5 months, and have not used it extensively. The topic headings are easy to locate and the print is very readable, making the book enjoyable to use. The full color photos, maps, and diagrams, etc., are a real plus, and I have found the articles which I have researched in it to be generally useful and often very informative, though some are not as in depth or as informative I would prefer (sometimes on topics of major significance [ex: the new conenant], while at times other topics of seemingly less importance [ex: the name Johanan] seem to be given more attention than is actually warranted). The binding on the one I received is of poor quality, and the front cover is already coming loose despite only minimal useage and never having been mishandled. A little duct tape should solve the binding issue; and, overall, I think this book will prove to be a very useful addition to my reference library, and a book which I intend to refer to frequently in my studies.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Allen Rinks
I give this book an excel. rating ,,,very easy to follow ,yet tech. at times.......I highly recommend this to any library .....good job and thanks CBD
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael L. Greene
I've not had this book long, but I turn to it frequently. The aricles seem well written, informative, and very readable; and I have found it helpful and enlightening in my studies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Francis Krautler
if you are a student of the gospel this book you cannot be without it is a must to have. many times i have leaned on this book for answers that you could not find anywhere else !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jacki Burgess
This book is a requirement for our "How To Study The Bible For Your Self" class. It was one of the Instructor's top recommended tools.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2008
I've really enjoyed using this dictionary in my study time. Easy to read and understand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beth Smith
Great reference book to accompany your Bible studies! This updated version published in 2006 is fantastic with the full color pictures. A wonderful addition to your Bible study reference materials!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ramsey Mannon
An excellent resource for bible study and sermon preparation. The price vs quality of product was good. I would like the book in larger print for those of us who do not see as well as we used to. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The New Unger's Bible Dictionary, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Diana Humphrey
It's a great book for just short references. I must say the updated version is really good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.