Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Overcoming Fear and Discouragement (Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther)

Harvest House Publishers Overcoming Fear and Discouragement (Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther)

This in-depth look at the Old Testament books of Ezra, Nehemiah, and Esther chronicles the lives and conflicts of ordinary men and women who faced overwhelming situationd charged with fear and fraught with discouragement. Yet they come out winners. And you can too. This study will take you directly to the Word of God, where you will learn precepts of life that will enable you to conquer fear and overcome discouragement. Ideal for individual study, one-on-one discipleship, group discussions, and quarterly classes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Overcoming Fear and Discouragement (Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther)
Review 1 for Overcoming Fear and Discouragement (Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

these studies are great!

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maria C
Location:sedona,az
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are very thorough studies yet not so demanding timewise they discourage you from getting it done. everyone in our class has learned so much. Also a good way to do line by line,verse by verse and still have homework in between class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Overcoming Fear and Discouragement (Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life-changing Word

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Teach
Location:SE Pennsylvania
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a regular teacher of this series, and this book is as excellent as the rest. The first lesson in itself is worth the price of the book. It summarizes Israel's history from the covenant with Abraham to the exile into Babylon from God's point of view. As the student goes from lesson to lesson they begin to see their world from God's view, and it is life-changing. In the process they learn to study scripture for themselves and judge accurately what they hear and read. This book is good for personal study and also for groups with or without a trained leader.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Overcoming Fear and Discouragement (Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annita Bruening
I lead a neighborhood women's Bible study, and this is our first Kay Arthur study. Everyone is really enjoying the study. Comments I hear are they are learning about history; all the underlining and marking of words makes certain words jump out at them when they read other parts of the Bible. We are being more aware of what we are reading, without even realizing it.I like the short lessons. We are doing Ezra now, which is five weeks, and will do Nehemiah in the fall which is also five weeks; then Esther next spring. The ladies liked having three seperate studies in one book. The answers don't have to be complicated. A lot are just yes or no. We like that simplicity.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Overcoming Fear and Discouragement (Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Sheraden
I gave this to my father for Christmas-my mother died almost 2 years ago of cancer. He was excited to get into this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Overcoming Fear and Discouragement (Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lorri Eckersley
We just finished this study. It was overly cumbersome, overly notational. Unless you enjoy marking with multiple symbols in your bible, in multiple colors, and I mean MULTIPLE, this study isn't for you. I'm a stay at home mom. My life isn't overly busy, but I did not enjoy this study at all. It was a busy boring study. I do not think I got anything nearing a description of "Conquering Fear and Overcoming Discouragement". One star for daily devotional and bible time. Pass on this. Try Beth Moore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Overcoming Fear and Discouragement (Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janice Ragsdale
We are using this book in our adult Sunday School class. It has helped us to understand the history, the person and how it applies to us today. Some in the class have said it helped them to know how to study the Bible in a deeper way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Overcoming Fear and Discouragement (Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gaye Clark
This new Inductive study uses all the sound Bible study tools Precept is famous for with an understanding that many students are pressed for time. Each lesson can easily be completed in 30 minutes a day. It's a great way to introduce a busy person to a Precept study, and is sure to entice him pursue more demanding studies in the future. This particular study lifts modern day struggles from the pages of the Old Testament, making them relevant to us today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Overcoming Fear and Discouragement (Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Petry
Kay Arthur not only writes an excellent Bible Study but as you study you are learning a method of studying God's Word. Precept upon Precept. What every Christian needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.