Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Mending Places - eBook

Howard Books Mending Places - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
0 out of 10%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mending Places - eBook
Review 1 for Mending Places - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing and disrespectful to its locale

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
WyomingRider
Location:Jackson, WY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking forward to this book, as I love Jackson Hole and the Tetons and the plot sounded intriguing. I'm left with a vague sense of disbelief that I paid money for it. While I appreciated the plot twist at the end, for the most part it was slow and predictable. The romance was fun, but, again, predictable. The unforgivable, glaring flaw, though, was the blatant disregard to the locale. I had to wonder if the author had even been to Jackson Hole, or was just throwing out a real place name found on a map every once in a while to try to make it sound authentic. Simple things that would have been easily found out by paying a little respect to the area... For example, there are no oak, birch, or willow trees anywhere near the Tetons. There are willow bushes, but the only non evergreen trees in those mountains are aspen and cottonwoods. There are no crickets or cicadas or any other insects that make noise at night. There are no rapids on the Snake River anywhere near Pacific Creek, and the water of the river is about 50 degrees all summer long. After about 15 minutes in the water, hypothermia sets in. There was no mention of securing the campsites against bear visits, which would have been the number one concern. Just a few things from a book that seems to completely disregard the area it's set in. If you're going to write about a real place, please do a little research.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mending Places - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Em
Bought and started reading this book on a Saturday night. Continued reading it after church the next morning and finished it by that evening! I couldn't put it down! One of the best books I've read in a while. I will definitely be reading more of Denise Hunter's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mending Places - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2008
This story shows the Grand Tetons in all their splendor and the story is packed withadventure and suspense. This book plus therest in this series are worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mending Places - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patty
I loved this book... It is a must read for all of us.. It shows forgiveness and love. It shows us that all problems do not work out just because we want a happy ending.. I did not want to put the book down..You will love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mending Places - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Mending Places interested me from the beginning. I read the back cover and wanted to see how the author worked through the conflict. It was a bit slow to start (for me,) but once I got into it, I couldn't put it down. The conflict with her sister's marriage was realistic and gut-wrenching, and I wish it had turned out with a happier ending, but hey, that's not reality. In regards to Hanna, I liked the way the author brought everything to a climax toward the ending. I felt Micah's pain as well as Hanna's. It is a wonderful story of forgiveness. Though it may seem unrealistic to some, I've known people in weirder situations. I liked the redemption piece and felt like the author handled the resolution beautifully. I also liked the passion and edgy feel to the story. Kudos!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mending Places - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2005
Customer Avatar
Nannie
I loved this book. It shows how powerful God and forgiveness can be in our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mending Places - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2004
Customer Avatar
Holly T.
Absolutely fantastic. Romantic and challenging, this book teaches a whole Bible study on forgiveness while delivering an "eros" whallop to the heart. A great 12-step read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mending Places - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2004
Customer Avatar
A reader
Where do we draw the line? Are some things too big for us--or for God--to forgive? Denise Hunter tackles this question in a way that shows God's ability to transform broken lives. A highly recommended read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mending Places - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2004
Customer Avatar
Deborah Raney
It took a brave author to write a story like this! But she pulled it off with flying colors. The climax is stunning and emotional, and exemplifies the meaning of grace. An incredible story of healing and forgiveness, love and redemption.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mending Places - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2004
Customer Avatar
Kris
It's been a long time since a book really made me question where MY faith was, how deep it really went. I loved this book for that reason, the characters are so real, the story so moving, you forget you're reading fiction. Great emotional read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mending Places - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2004
Customer Avatar
Colleen Coble
Denise Hunter is a fabulous writer! She gets into the heart in a way I've never experienced before. MENDING PLACES was an unforgettable story of forgiveness that made me face things I thought unforgiveable. I can't wait for the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mending Places - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2004
Customer Avatar
L Burns
This is a wonderful book!! The story is so real to true life experiences. From experience I can say that Denise Hunter really "gets it" with this novel. It's well written with great characters and a great story. The message of healing so powerful that it caused me to look into my own heart and release things that I've still held tightly. Don't miss this story, you won't regret it. I can't wait for the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.