Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mathis Publishers, Inc. The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations

Mathis Publishers, Inc. The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations

Unlike other multi-version, parallel Bibles—whose objective is to allow you to compare one translation with another—The Word's purpose is not to compare, but to give you all the insights from 26 time-tested classical and contemporary translations - while saving time - by not duplicating identical words and phrases. Click More Info for a complete list of translations.

Features include:
  • 8-point type
  • Three-column format
  • Ribbon Marker
  • Gold page edges & stamping
  • 9.75" x 7.75" x 2.00"
  • Premium Bonded Leather, Navy
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
6 out of 875%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Review 1 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peaches
Location:Conyers, Ga. 30094
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Pastor told us about this Bible. I brought my Bible from the Mathers Pubishers. It was SO...... good that 30 Ministers in my church purchased the The Word Bible,for that they gave me a big discount off.If you really want to know the various versions of The Bible this is the one. You will be Bless by it...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
biblman
Location:San Diego county
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has become my favorite bible to take with me to church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good book

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
alchapsr
Location:Bullhead City. Az
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
But the pages are a little thin, so much info. You cannot get to much of God's word or his grace and mercy, out of any book or any way He SPEAKS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike Pattison
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT RESOURCE IF YOU WANT TO DIG DEEPER INTO THE WORD...LOTS OF INFORMATION TO DIGEST. A GOOD MEDITATION TOOL.......
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Understand its Purpose...and It's Incredible!

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bible Lover
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, the correct title for this Bible is THE WORD: The Bible from 26 Translations--NOT "in" 26 Translations.
The title used here, "in 26 Translations" might set up an expectation that every verse has 26 different translations listed in their entirety. And that's not the case.
The description, itself, states, "The purpose of this work IS NOT TO COMPARE TRANSLATIONS..." So if you purchase this Bible for the purpose of comparing 26 different translations, you’ve missed the point entirely! (And besides, you would have to purchase the equivalent of a 26 volume encyclopedia—not just one pre-researched leather book! )
The objective of this Bible is to provide the most significant biblical insights and textual meanings quickly, easily, and most of all, simply.
The King James Version appears in its entirety, in bold faced type, followed immediately by the most significant insights taken from 25 additional time-tested English Translations.
The Bible from 26 Translations instantly gives the casual reader all the various shades and nuances of meaning that come from 26 of the most trusted, classic Greek and Hebrew to English translations ever compiled into one volume.
In other words, the editorial board has already done the comparing and has completed the research so I don’t have to! So, what I get is the complete King James Version plus only the different insights from 25 other classic English Translations—without re-reading the repetitive similarity of each translation.
It’s instant Bible study!
Now, if you want to compare translations, go ahead. Take your precious time to read 26 different Bibles spread-out on your desktop, or from your exhaustive Bible software, or from a multi-translation website online. After you've clicked and read each verse 26 times, you'll find that there are probably only four to eight additional words or phrases from all that reading that will enhance the very first translation you read.
The bottom line is, by doing all that comparison, yourself, you’ll find you’ve wasted a lot of time and energy. So save your time and money. The beauty of this work is that the editorial board has done the work; and they’ve left us with only the additional insights and shades of meaning that will enhance our understanding in just a few seconds! Wonderful!
Like many, I'm quick to purchase the latest and greatest flavor-of-the-month-translation. I do it more out of curiosity than necessity. (After all, no one has discovered another Qumran in more than 60 years!) And anyone, anywhere, anytime can decide it’s time to create a new Bible translation.
But even now, with all my newer translations, I've found that NO single translation--NOT ONE--renders the subtle, almost three-dimensional nuances and insights I've found in this wonderful, abundant, time-saving Bible. One translation simply expands and adds commentary to the next.
When it comes to PURE SCRIPTURE, The Bible from 26 Translations is still the Bible of Bibles.
Response from Christianbook.com:By Internet MarketingDecember 1, 2011
The title has been corrected.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

There are better research tools.

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Philip Tutt
Location:Sacramento, CA
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this work hoping to find a sound alternative to the time-tested research method of comparing translations. What I find, instead, are mere interpretive curiosities, often what I would call eccentric readings, some, in my opinion, contextually unsound. So, the book is useful only as survey of the range of possible readings of a text, but not as a source of solid analysis. For those who have not yet read and acquired a feel for the standard translations, I recommend avoiding the book.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Totally disappointing

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
lionsden53
Location:Baltimore MD
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As a book, it is poorly constructed with some text nearly off the pages. Most entries rendered are interpretations rather than translations. My parallels with KJV and NLT; and NKJV, ESV, NLT AND MESSAGE will undoubtedly be used much more often than this one. I regret the purchase. The only redeeming quality is the KJV base text, but that can be had for $100 less.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful study tool!

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bridget
Location:Middle Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Content: I find that all I need is this Bible, a YLT (included in this Bible but not for every verse) and LITV along with a good dictionary and Divine inspiration for most everyday studies (those dealing with solidifying my beliefs and understanding doctrine). No more trying to find a place to lay out "the library". You will still need to study cultural, archeological and historical subjects elsewhere. This is a bare-bones Bible, meaning no maps, commentary, concordance etc. BUT virtually every verse is in parallel with 3-5 of 26 translations other than the KJV, which is presented in full as the main text. This is exactly what I wanted and expected.
Construction and Format: This is a beautiful Bible! It is large and thick. The leather, tho bonded, is a rich midnight blue with gold lettering and feels like it will last. Flexible from day one - it lays open nicely. It appears to have sewn binding. The gilding is flawless. I thought the triple-column format might bother me but it's actually perfect as each verse takes up so many lines and you don't want to be flipping pages all the time and losing your train of thought. The 8 pt. type is very readable even though I have poor eyesight up close. The paper is a bright white, medium-thick and high quality. The main text is in bold so following just the KJV if you wish is no problem. It would be nice if there was more than one ribbon marker (it's blue btw) - and that's about the only thing I would improve.
My transaction went smoothly in all ways.
I am very pleased with my purchase!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Philip Chan
An excellent Bible study resource! Text is formatted well and easy to read. A must-have in any library!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Whitesell
This is a great Bible. It helps to understand the different passages better. It is great for Pastors to help teach and preach the work. It is also great for teachers. This is a book everyone should have.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Andy
"What can I say but .. wonderful. I use mainly computer Bible programs when I study.. having many versions to compare & contrast endeavoring to catch the full meaning (if possible) of God's truth in His Word. This volume of 26 versions in 1..is really the King James Version (in BOLD) with alternative readings but as part of the verse.. so it's not a parallel bible nor an amplified as such.. If there is a different way of wording it then it is listed with the verse. If my computer goes down or I just want to actually have a book in my hand.. then this is a wonderful resource to have.I have been researching into the whole versions debate.. KJV ( & Textus Receptus) versus everything else.. and the value or possible mistakes in the new versions (based on the Critical Texts) and the others (using the.TR or Majority Texts) I'm still undecided in it all but have learned a lot and having a volume like this is marvelous as a study aid. The publisher has a web site (thewordbible dot com) stating all the versions used (none of the really new ones like NIV, NASB, NKJV etc) but there was enough to be going on with.I enjoy having this volume and consider it money well spent - especially on here where I got a wonderful bargain.. so I was even more blessed. Top marks from me."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karol Roth
This is a great study Bible if you don't want to have a bunch of extra books spread out over your desk, but it would be even better if it had a Concordance and Dictionary attached to it.But then that would make it too big to carry to Church.....Still if it had those two additions to it, it would be the "perfect" study Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nnamdi Ivenso
Very valuable in bible studies because you'll get different shades of meaning at a glance for any passage. The author did a terrific job but it still needs to be updated to also include some of the newer versions of the bible. In conclusion I'll recommend it for any person seriously studying or teaching the word of God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Traci Satterlee
In 2 Timothy 2:15 study to shew thyself approved unto God. If this is your goal then this bible is a great tool to study with. This bible will definitely speak to those that have an ear. Great bible.....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2004
Customer Avatar
Ken Karr
The concept behind this book is excellent. Unfortunately the translations used are fairly old. So the material is outdated. There are certainly better translations on the market such as: NIV, Today's NIV, NLT, NASB (95), Contemporary English Version, etc. A much better book for the New Testament is: "The Contemporary Parallel New Testament with KJV, NIV, NKJV, NASB, and more".
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Word: The Bible From 26 Translations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2003
Customer Avatar
Charlie Toon
I have been a Bible teacher for 35+ years. I owned a 26 translations of the New Testament and used it until threadbare. I was thrilled to find 26 Translations of the Bible. Not only do I use it often when studying but have given several as gifts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.