Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Discover the Bible for Yourself

Harvest House Publishers Discover the Bible for Yourself

Kay Arthur gathers together her inductive study tools in this hands-on, how-to guide that will walk you through the Bible book by book. Applicable with any Bible translation, Discover the Bible for Yourself contains:
  • A proven method to read, mark, and study God's Word
  • Specific instructions for studying each book of the Bible
  • Maps and charts to add historic and geographic dimensions
  • Word studies for NASB and NIV translations
  • Introductions to set the stage for every book of the Bible
  • Definitions and explanations to simplify interpretation
  • "Things to Think About" for personal application
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Discover the Bible for Yourself
Review 1 for Discover the Bible for Yourself
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great quick reference

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
loud187
Location:cleveland, ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Timely delivery, quality for the price is outstanding. I use it as a quick reference to my studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Discover the Bible for Yourself
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible study book

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
bianca
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always wanted a way to study the Bible besides just taking notes when I read. This book has a great method for studying and I have learned a lot even though I have only done 1 small book, but the method is pretty complicated that is why I gave it only 4 stars. All the different colors of pencils you need and lists to make and forms to fill out, is tedious, but the learning potential is there, much more than just reading.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Discover the Bible for Yourself
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anita Johnson
I can't wait to get the Bible so I can start experiencing God's blessing for my life. It answer my question concerning getting to know my Lord and Savior. This is a wonderful instrument for anyone wanting to know more about God and HIS ways.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Discover the Bible for Yourself
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sheila Nelson
What a great value! This book contains a lifetime of Bible study. Guides for studying every book of the Bible are included. To learn this method of studying, however, it might be better to start with one of Kay Arthur's shorter books, such as "Lord, Teach Me to Study the Bible in 28 Days." It also helps to take a class on inductive Bible study at church, which is what I did. I probably would find this book overwhelming if I hadn't first had an introduction to this method of study. The most effective and life-changing Bible studies, in my opinion, are the ones that immerse you in God's Word, and rely on the Holy Spirit to guide you into truth rather than telling you what you should believe. This method of Bible study does exactly that. I highly recommend it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Discover the Bible for Yourself
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Buddy Sturm
I have really been enjoying the OIA method in general for the classes I lead. This method has really opened the bible up to me for God to show me what he wants me to learn. I am starting my second or third time through Ephesians using the OIA method and He shows me something new every time. After Ephesians, I plan on starting in Genesis and working my way through the Bible. Thanks Kay Arthur
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Discover the Bible for Yourself
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
gloria
Kay's method to studying the Bible has really opened my eyes to what God's word says. To know and undersand has deepened my love for God and what He has done for me. To know His Word takes time this book has shown me a way that will help me remember what I read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Discover the Bible for Yourself
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Ducombs
This book would take a college degree and the rest of my life to understand her methods. Wish I could send it back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Discover the Bible for Yourself
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
Nancy Reece
I love this study guide by Kay Arthur. It has helped me so much to understand what I am reading and with her help on how to look up words in Greek and Hebrew, I have come to know exactly what the Bible is talking about.I understand so much more. I highly recommend this to anyone having trouble studing on their own or relying on comentaries that your not sure of. This is a great study tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.