Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Just Above a Whisper, Tucker Mills Trilogy Series #2

Harvest House Publishers Just Above a Whisper, Tucker Mills Trilogy Series #2

In troubled times, independent, hardworking Reese Thackery resorts to becoming an indentured servant for survival. This undesirable situation becomes even worse when the man who owns her contract dies...deeply in debt. This puts her contract in the hands of the Tucker Mills Bank, and more specifically, Conner Kingsley, whose family owns the bank. After investigating Reese's situation, he releases her from her contract, but can he release her from his heart? Don't miss this second heartwarming tale in the Tucker Mills Trilogy series!
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Just Above a Whisper, Tucker Mills Trilogy Series #2
Review 1 for Just Above a Whisper, Tucker Mills Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Bagwell
I have read this entire series and I am hard pressed to say which one I like the best all of them are precious stories and I am from the bible belt and the biblical truths are so rewarding I have now read almost all of mrs.wick's books and some twice. I am ready for a new series set in the 1800's.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Just Above a Whisper, Tucker Mills Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
maria
great book but only if you've read the first book in the series otherwise you'll be lost. There are a lot of Biblical references and overall it is a great story that does deal with some human issues that plagued that time period.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Just Above a Whisper, Tucker Mills Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rae
I read the first two books in this series, and in both of them I kept waiting for something interesting to happen, but nothing did. They are good books, but not my favorites.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Just Above a Whisper, Tucker Mills Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
E. F.
I started this trilogy with this book, and I could not put it down. Just grabbed off the shelf in my library not realizing it was part of a threesome. I finished in a weekend. The story flows effortlessly, making you want to keep reading...despite screaming kids in the background.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Just Above a Whisper, Tucker Mills Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
VJ
I loved the first book, but this second one I had to put down for awhile and then pick it up later. I thought there was too much jumping around and alot of stuff that should have been in a whole other book. I would have loved to read more about Conner and Reese, they had a good story line. I felt that the other story lines were unnecessary to Conner and Reeses story. I will read the next one and I hope it doesn't have as much religious stuff in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Just Above a Whisper, Tucker Mills Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
Cassie
This book was okay, but certainly nothing terribly wonderful. I found that I liked reading Lori Wick's books for awhile, but then I just got sick of her books. Many of them, I think, are just plain boring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Just Above a Whisper, Tucker Mills Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
A Reader
I have liked most of Lori Wick's books,but this book is not one I enjoyed. I had to make myself finish it. There were way too many unecessary conversations and characters. I'm glad the people are concerned about their spiritual state, but I got extremely bogged down with all the sub characters' Bible studies, etc. Is this book about the town people or Reece and Conner? The main couple in the book hardly had any story time for them. Characters who weren't even particular friends/relatives with the main couple had way too much page time. Also, more could have been said about Reece and Conner's personalities. I didn't think they even had a chance to get to know one another very well. The previous book was much better then this one was in my opinion. If you are looking for a good Lori Wick book to read I definitely recommend The Californians Series, The Cameron Series, The Kensington Chronicles, Sophie's Heart, Pretense, and The Princess.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Just Above a Whisper, Tucker Mills Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jaime
I loved it! I loved the characters and the way the story line from Book 1 were continued along.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Just Above a Whisper, Tucker Mills Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2005
Customer Avatar
LINDA
This book is much better than the first. I found it difficult to put down and read it very quickly. I've been a fan of Lori Wick's since "A Place To Call Home". I'm ready for Book 3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Just Above a Whisper, Tucker Mills Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2005
Customer Avatar
Sandy
I really enjoyed this book. I loved seeing the salvation of Maddie and Jace resolved in this book. Conner and Reese's story was so sweet. Lori Wick is awesome, and I can't wait to read the final book in the trilogy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Just Above a Whisper, Tucker Mills Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2005
Customer Avatar
Karen
I definitely like this book better then the last couple books she has written. I actually cared about the characters instead of just trying to get through the book. I will say it had a slow beginning and I wish if she was going to keep bringing up Jace and Maddie that they would have actually had something to do with the plot line not just be the witness tool in the book. But I enjoyed the romantic side of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.