Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress James, LifeChange Bible Study Series

NavPress James, LifeChange Bible Study Series

This verse-by-verse study of JAMES offers a challenge to Christians of every age to keep on growing. Participants learn that by faith humankind is reborn into the family of God; but that more than justified infants, He wants mature daughters and sons. The result should be faith that is foundational, genuine, proven, and evident to the world. Participants will be encouraged to apply God's word to their life. It includes historical insights, word definitions, discussion questions, assignments and a leader's guide.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Review 1 for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great expository Bible study!

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patti
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really appreciated this study of the book of James. It is thorough, and for those willing to do the additional questions in the margins, it is challenging - and potentially life-changing! If you read and re-read James aloud, and also copy it over and over as you go through this study, you will become "quick to hear" the Lord. I suggest copying it from several different translations/versions. The study makes personal application practically inescapable, for someone who will honestly consider the Scriptures and ask the Holy Spirit for enlightenment. A short letter (108 verses), James can seem simple - but this study, if done with prayer, diligence and commitment, can take you below the seeming simplicity on the surface, and move you deeper and deeper into profound yet practical truths.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well organized study

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:South Carolina
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This guide organizes the study of what some label as a"disjointed" Epistle so that you have a clearer understanding of the wonderful practical aspects of the Christian life as seen through the perspective of St. James.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book makes one think.

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
fran
Location:Jackson, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
The book was thought provoking and challenging. We enjoyed the supplementary questions, and never felt we were just answering "busy" questions, as many studies do. It brings out the essence of James, which is "walk the talk".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent study book for small groups

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
habitatqueen
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Provides a welcome depth of study for a book of the Bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought provoking questions; a great study

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Andre
Location:Sardis, Oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed my study of James. I thought that
the background information and the thought provoking
questions really enhanced my work. The study made
the book so much more meaningful than just reading it would.
Sometimes I read but don't stop to question what I'm reading as to how it applies to my daily life. This study didn't allow me to do that; it made me think and apply the Bible's words to my daily life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding

Date:February 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
linda
Location:Perry MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Navigators never disappoint. I have used these
studies before and they are Biblcially supported in every way. The study guide is easy to use and enlightening in the way the verse are "unpacked".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just starting James...

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kate
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our study group has always found Life Change Bible studies to be an excellent source for understanding Scripture. We have found the discussion questions to be very insightful and help us dig a little deeper into the Word. This is more than a verse-by-verse study and brings in accompanying notes and references that help you in your spiritual growth. It usually takes us two sessions to get through all the questions and discussion portions because we are a talkative group, but no one wants to skip anything because we get so much out of the lessons.
We have just started James an already I can see that this will be a timely study for everyone. I can highly recommend this series of studies. Our ladies' group really enjoy them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michael Graves
Our class has just started the study on James, so far just what we expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Schrowang
I enjoy using any of the LifeSeries study guides. They are easy to follow, yet offer lots of addition questions that inspire thoughtful answers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Millie Washburn
This is a wonderful, practical Bible study series, whether studying with 2 or 20. It is filled with practical guidelines and really enhances your Bible study to learn and grow.I recommend it HIGHLY and really enjoy using it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debby Schmitz
The LifeChange Bible studies are some of the best. Have done James in the past, we are doing it again with a new group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Cantwell
We have been using this James study in our Sunday School class. (We have also used the LifeChange I Peter and I Samuel studies.) All of these studies have proven very helpful in Scripture study. There are helpful questions for the class facilitator to use to draw more out of each section, background information to illuminate word and verse meaning and thoughtful application questions at the end of each lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2003
Customer Avatar
Jonathan
I use many good products.I wish the Life Change series covered the entire Bible!The Life Change series is one of the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for James, LifeChange Bible Study Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2000
Customer Avatar
Kim Mecham
This study was just absolutely wonderful! I've studied the book of James numerous times in the past... yet, with the aid of this fabulously thorough study, there were new truths yet to be found. I look forward to using the LifeChange series for future studies as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.