Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Gold of Kings: A Novel - eBook

Howard Books Gold of Kings: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gold of Kings: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Gold of Kings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromGold of Kings.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic!

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
MathGeek
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Davis Bunn delivers again! Gold of Kings has interesting characters, captivating plot, and is an all-around great read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gold of Kings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromGold of Kings.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christine
Location:Tacoma, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Davis Bunn once again weaves together a good story with his knowledge of historical and biblical artifacts, intelligence services and geographical locations around the world. The characters are uniquely interesting, and the material takes us into a very real world that few ever experience. The plot is well developed. It mades us look forward to the sequel, The Black Madonna.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gold of Kings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromGold of Kings.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great page turner read!!

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Texgrandma
Location:Odessa, Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr. Bunn came into my life with The Book of Hours and continues to wow me with each of his books I read.
This one will keep you awake at night trying to finish it. Then when you think the book is ending another twist keeps you reading more. Wow!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gold of Kings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromGold of Kings.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jacque Entzminger
I am a total fan of (T) Davis Bunn, but kept waiting for the powerful and inspirational message of Book of Hours, which I've sent to missionaries, recommended, loaned out and read over and over. Hey, who has my copy?Oh, and does anyone know why he uses two different names?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gold of Kings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromGold of Kings.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pat Weston
I enjoyed this read from cover to cover. Unsual adventure with lots of twists and turn. Loved the characters. Hated to see it end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gold of Kings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromGold of Kings.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2009
Harry Bennett is a professional scavenger who spent the last year of his life rotting away in a Barbados prison for a crime he didnt commit. Then one morning a barrister from London shows up to announce Harrys release from prison at the dying bequest of an old friend. The will of that friend lands Harry the company of his friends granddaughter. Together they began to seek a treasure that had consumed their benefactor for many years. The search uncovers far more than either ever anticipated, including the murder of the man both loved dearly.Gold of Kings is an intelligent, action-packed tale of loyalty, love, and obsession. Harry finds himself with his allegiance divided between three equal, yet very different kinds of loves: a woman who reminds him so much of the old man that trusted him when no one else would, a Federal Agent who first sees him as a suspect but ultimately captures his heart, and the gold fever both women fear still holds him firmly in its grip. Each of the main characters is driven by his or her own burning passion which at times threatens to rip the tenuous team apart. Which will win out? Will it be the drive for revenge or the desire to be professionally recognized? Or, in spite of Harrys growing brotherly love for one and romantic love for another, will it be the gold that wins out in the end?More recently T. Davis Bunn has been known for his collaboration with Janette Oke but in Gold of Kings he returns to a genre in which he is quite talented. This is suspense with a brain and a heart. The villain is deadly, illusive, and smart. But, unlike many suspense novels these days his methods of killing do not take center stage. Harry Bennett isnt perfect and still has a little larceny left in him at the end of the story. But, he has also learned much about what is of real value. He discovers the greatest protagonist each of us faces is our heart. And, the greatest treasure is more lasting even than the Gold of Kings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gold of Kings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromGold of Kings.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kowrider
An excellent read--intriging, well composed--A cliff hanger to the very end. Many twists and turns keep you wondering who is where and what is really going to happen. This is a believable story of lives intertwining with the Love of God and God's plan, from oone generation to the next. A must read for lovers of Biblical Fiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gold of Kings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromGold of Kings.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
Now this was a fun book! "Gold of Kings" is quite adventurous and easily can be visualized as an action film much like National Treasure or the Da Vinci Code films in theory. The reading of this book gives off a similar vibe to Matt Bronleewe's August Adams series, although it is not quite as cool in my opinion as I just loved those books, but really like this one.There are really three main characters that you are following through out the book in their physical, mental, and spiritual battles. The adventure is laid out for the reader to enjoy right along with the characters. The only flaw points that draw me back are the parts where a character figures something out, but it is hidden from the reader. That makes me feel like an outsider, and I love the stories that are as if you are right along side them, and not viewing from a window, you know?One of the best parts about this book are the historical facts and images that are brought to life and explained through out. As the characters are learning some historical pieces of the puzzle the explanations are given to the reader as well in an intriguing manner. Maybe it is because I have a Bachelor of Arts in Religious Studies and this is just my thing, but over all I was thoroughly impressed and plan to look for more titles like this from Davis Bunn in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gold of Kings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromGold of Kings.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Margaret Johnson
This is one of the best I have read recently. I could not stop reading till I finished it. Besides the mystery and adventure I learned a lot of history. Great author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gold of Kings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromGold of Kings.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Gold of Kings by Davis Bunn is a fast-paced suspenseful thriller about the quest for an ancient treasure. Storm Syrrell's world has fallen apart. Her grandfather Sean fired her from the family business of selling rare and high priced pieces of art just before dying of a heart attack. To make things worse, she's not even mentioned in the will. Harry Bennett has spent the last three years of his life wasting away in a jail cell in Barbados for a crime he didn't commit. Sean's actions in his last days will bring them together, along with federal agent Emma Webb on a search for treasures from the Second Temple in Jerusalem that sends that traveling across the globe and fighting for their very lives. In the growing genre of treasure hunting books, Gold of Kings is unique in its various subplots of family betrayal and international money laundering. Harry and Emma are a interesting, romantic couple who seem to have too many differences to ever overcome their chemistry, and Storm is the emotional touchstone of the book with her grief over Sean's death and her struggle to understand his life. There's a lot of suspense, double-crosses, and treasure, and it would make a fantastic movie. My one quibble with the book, is that I never felt emotionally connected with the characters. I didn't feel Storm's grief or the romantic sparks between Emma and Harry. Even the nail-biting scenes were a bit removed. I'm not sure why I didn't connect with this book, but if Bunn writes a sequel (as the ending seems to imply), I'll definitely check it out to give the characters who have so much potential another chance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gold of Kings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromGold of Kings.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2009
Gold of Kings by Davis Bunn is an incredible work of Christian fiction. Its a masterfully crafted epic treasure hunt that meets God in a head-on literary collision. When Sean is murdered, leaving behind his granddaughter, Stormy, who is an art dealer, she finds herself in the midst of an ancient and intricate conspiracy. Stormy teams up with Harry, a treasure hunter just released from a Barbados prison, and Emma, a government agent. This threesome is in for the adventure of a lifetime.The short, fast-moving chapters deftly weave this story from start to finish. It is truly an enigma wrapped in a mystery salted and peppered with faith. This book is an exhilarating thrill ride! I have found a new favorite author in Davis Bunn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.