Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Sophie's Heart

Harvest House Publishers Sophie's Heart

Befriending the quiet visitor who slips into her Bible study group, Janet discovers that Sophie has fled her native Czechoslovakia and is in need of work---and companionship. Janet thinks of her brother Alec, the father of three, who recently lost his wife in a car accident. Could Sophie's loving heart be what Alec needs? 432 pages, softcover from Harvest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sophie's Heart
Review 1 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has loveable characters.

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
doglover
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the most memorable books I have EVER read and I read alot! Sophie is someone I would really love to meet. The way she loves with all of her heart. The way she gets her American words and phrases mixed up and mispronounces things made me laugh till I cried. She is so endearing and a great character of the book. I have read this book three times and would read it again! One of the best Christian books EVER!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Book Ever!

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
WiseNaomi
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This is the best book I have ever read & I have read a lot of books in my lifetime. What I enjoyed most about this book was the fact that it didn't just end after they got married. The book continued & the characters were developed even more. You feell somewhat cheated when the characters finally realize they love each other then it's "The End". When it did end it felt complete. Take note other authors, stop ending the book so soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
This book is wonderful. I've read it several times. God works wonders in our lives when we let him have control.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Dawson
This book earns a 5-star rating from me. I was captivated from the first page and on to the last page. Lori Wick really knows how to weave a great story, always using the perfect characters. I would love to see a sequel that carries Sophie and Alec's family beyond this book. This is a great read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ayo
This is still my all time favorite of Lori Wick. I've read some of her other books yet none seems to beat the beauty and simplicity. It may seem like an ordinary story but this is one novel that spoke to me; infact I stopped in the middle of it to pray into my life one of the things I learnt there. I would recommend it in a beat. Good job Lori!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Calhoun
One of Lori Wick,s best. Sophie has a tough struggle at first, but she is a hard worker and loves taking care of people. A must read. Find out how and if her dreams do come true.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tania
My first book of Lori Wick,and this book caught off guard,is a book that you want a happy ending for the Sophie and Alec,what is a beautiful example is the sincerity and frienfship between the family,beside that I think that Sophie was too christian,but the story was sweet and made me imagine that good things happen to good people...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2008
This was the first Lori Wick book I read. The story revolves around a young Christian woman named Sophie. Sophie leaves her grandmother behind in Czechoslovakia when she is granted a visa to come to the United States. Sophie attends a Bible study and is befriended by the groups leader, Janet. Through a series of God ordained events Sophie becomes the nanny and eventually the wife of Alec, who wife was killed in a car accident. The theme of "God is in control" permiates the book and in the end we do see "all things work together for good." Lori by the way lives in south central Wisconsin in the area where our family lived for six years. This particular novel is set in the same geographical region. It was fun to read about the different locations Lori describes and know where those places are and who some of the people are in her novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
rbogert
I first read this book in college, now over 15 yrs later I still love this book. I have lost track how many times I have read it. Yes, it may be predictable, but it is still a book that makes me cry and feel better about my life and what I am/have/may go through that God is still going to be there with me. Give it a chance, well worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathy Lacey
Great book. Best I have read by Lori Wick yet. VERY hard to put down. Keep them coming Lori Wick
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
GJH
This book was a book club choice. I loved it and would recommend it to anyone. I was sitting at work on my lunch hour when the tears started flowing. My supervisor walked in, looked at me, shook her head, and kept on walking to her office. It was so good that I could not put it down. Instead of leaving at break time I would pick it up and read. Yes, this is my first Lori Wick book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Randi Angelskaar
Sophie's heart really touched my heart. I worked in another country for 5 months and got some of the same experiences that Sophie did. This book will make you laugh and cry and smile and nood your head. It teaches you how much Jesus loves you, the importance of christian fellowship and prayer. That christians might get lost as well and will need help to find Jesus again. It's about forgivness and joy and serving the Lord with everything including your sensitive heart. God is in control.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rose
"Sophie's Heart" was a typical Lori Wick book; sweet but utterly predictable. Sophie was really cute and I actually liked her, despite the fact that she was close to perfect and her flawed English seemed forced and got rather aggravating after awhile. Nonetheless, "Sophie's Heart" was actually starting to draw me in until about page 125... romance between the lonely widower Alec Riley and Sophie was utterly predictable, and it somewhat spoiled the rest of the book for me. I just couldn't get into the romance, and Alec falls in love with her far too fast. One moment he is ignoring her, one moment he actually notices her, and the next moment he is ready to marry her... I quickly fell out of interest. Lori Wick's style never changes in all of the novels I have read (quite a good amount), and I am beginning to get quickly bored even with a new Wick book. They just all seem the same. "Sophie's Heart" was an adorable and fairly plausible novel... one thing I am grateful for was that it was staged in contemporary times (well, relatively). I am so tired of Wick's periodic dramas, particularly those set in England, because she gets the time lines all wrong. "Sophie's Heart" doesn't force anything down your throat and is a gentle story of finding love where you least expect it - also has a few other themes such as dealing with loss and anger. This is probably one of Wick's best and I would recommend to those who typically like her writing style.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2007
This was my second Lori Wick, and in a lot of ways, I liked it even better than Bamboo and Lace. The characters are well-drawn, and Sophie's tenderness with the children, especially Craig, is wonderful. I have two criticisms that have cost this book a star, however. One, I don't understand why Sophie is Czech. If Lori meant this element to be of historical significance because of the book's setting in the early 1990s, she forced it. Also, once again, most of these people are far too sweet and perfect. But I definitely recommend this for the great family dynamics and interesting romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cindy
This was my first Lori Wick book. I read it in my early 20's. I loved it and I've been reading her works ever since. She's the only fiction romance author that I'll spend my money on. Most exciting of all - I had the chance to meet her at a book signing at CBD recently! Awesome!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amanda Connolly
I was about 16 when I read this book. I am now 27 and still read it from time to time. I have all of Lori Wicks books and still collecting. This is the first book of hers that I read and I loved it immediately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
a reader
This book was excellent! I love Sophie; she is so sweet. I wish I could have a friend just like her! I recommend this book to everyone I meet because I love it so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jenna
Sophie's Heart is some of the best reading I've had in a long time. It is good writing and has Christian influence which is greatly needed in this world. This is a book I'm recomending to all my friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Courtney
I absolutely loved this book! My friends recommended this book to me a couple years ago, but I thought that it would never be as good as they said it was. They proved me wrong. I love Lori Wick's books because they aren't fairy tales. She talks about hardships and sufferings that people face everyday. And it reminds me that even though I might be going through a hard time, it's only a moment and it makes me stronger with God's help!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sophie's Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2005
Customer Avatar
Alice Ellis
I just love this book. It reminds me a lot of Bamboo and Lace. It may be predictable, but I think all books of this nature are predictable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>