Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged

Harvest House Publishers 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged

Are you ready to walk down the aisle? Deciding who you are going to spend the rest of your life with is a huge decision. Be sure to get to know your partner before you take the big plunge. In 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged, couples counselor Norm Wright steers you through a series of questions concerning spirituality, finances, family of origin, past relationships, and annoying habits. A dynamic book for anyone seeking God's guidance in finding a lifetime companion that will last a lifetime.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Review 1 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Insightful Read

Date:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Houston26
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The questions were really good ones to consider! Some of the questions I had not thought of before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Help Before Engagement

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my fiance and myself and for 4 others. Excellent conversation starter....my fiance and I talked and talked about each subject. I also bought the BEFORE YOU SAY I DO DEVOTIONAL, by H. Norman Wright to go with it. Both are a must!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
3ftmom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I purchased this book for my daughter before she got married. Her and her boyfriend went through the book and loved it so much. I decieded to purchase this book again for another gal who is now engaged. My daughter said this was the best thing for her and her now husband.
She said they grew in ways they never knew possible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book is not for me

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
tcal
Location:Cola, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my daughter and her boyfriend who are thinking about getting married someday. They have yet to read it. So just pray they will both open their eyes and have a real hunger for the Lord.
I found out about it through a co-worker who is about to get engaged.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good questions

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
GoTCUFrogs
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had gone online and looked up discussion topics and questions to ask before engagement and was concerned this book would just repeat all the questions we already talked about. I was glad to find the book had a great number of unique questions that had not been found through web searches. Each page also has kind of a break down at the bottom of some things to consider based upon responses to each question. It has been a great source of in depth conversation for me and my girlfriend (and future fiancé)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book asks couples a lot of great questions.

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
TF4HIM
Location:Smyrna, TN.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book asks couples that I counsel for premarital counseling as well as post marriage counseling, a lot of deep and probing questions. Questions that I know for a fact that they have not asked themselves or have been asked by others. This book, the way I use it, is a communication starter. One of the biggest keys to s successful marriage is communication. This book when used by the couples together, gets them to talk about some funny things as well as some deep things in a comfortable way. Great book!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
chl1234
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Questions are good--there is not a lot of discussion. I like the format of one question per page; it allows us to answer one pair of questions before going to the next pair. For the most part they are directed toward younger couples, not those who were previously married so some did not apply.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hannah Keener
Fantastic book! I recommend this for all couples. The questions are not necessarily deep questions that require a lot of thought, but they are difficult to answer and talk about. It addresses many important topics that all couples should talk about before even considering marriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennie
I recommend it to any couple that are serious about getting to know each other and building a good foundation for communication. You have to do the work in talking, but it gives you great questions to think about and use. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ashley Rose
This book is great. My fiancee and I, though already engaged, are using it to help our relationship get deeper and to help reveal any problems we should work on before we get married. It has been so helpful in both areas and has helped us get to know each other an a completely different level.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jordan Johnson
The questions are relevant and touch nearly every subject. I would strongly recommend it to anyone considering marriage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Randy
My partner and I are really enjoying this book. It is helping us discover and learn many new things about each other. Love this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sara
Overall, I feel that this book is a good starting place for couples to be sure that they have covered most of the important issues before heading too far down the road to serious/lifelong commitment. One of the things I noticed going through the book was that one question could open the door to many discussions within the couple. Overall I felt the book helped to grow closer and to know each other better. The book also allows the couple to easily address issues that they may have already made assumptions about, which is good for clarity in a relationship. I also feel that the first review of this book seemed to miss the point of the book. No where does the book ever say that deciding who to marry is THE most important decision a Christian makes, rather it says ONE OF THE most important decision, which is very true as you should walk together with Christ and agree on church teachings. Also, just being Christain does not insure a happy marriage or that the person you chose was a goo choice. As one of my ministers said 'I firmly believe any two Christians can make a marriage work, rather the question they should be asking is how hard they will have to work at it'. Very true, I think that reviewer was just looking to bash the book for no focusing on accepting God into your heart, which was no the point of the book, and thus an unfair judgement.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
Crystal
This is the type of book I need. For a 40+ single, never married person. This book makes you go beyond the fun feelings of being in love and points to things to think about if you wish to build a life with this man. Furthermore, it forces you to evaluate you own motives and agenda for marriage. It's been a positive eye-opening experience for me to read & I would highly recommend this book to any other starry eyed couple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2005
Customer Avatar
jon
Not helpful for Christian couples. The back quotes thus, "How can I be sure? Is he really right for me? Deciding to spend the rest of your life with someone is one of the biggest decisions you'll ever make. The key to a successful marriage is getting to know your partner before you take the plunge."Two things are wrong with this statement, showing that the foundation of this book is off greatly. First, the greatest decision a Christian will ever make is NOT who they will marry, but whether the will repent of their sins and follow Christ. Secondly, the key to a successful marriage is NOT getting to know your partner before you take the plunge but getting to know your Lord through his Word, walk in humility with Him and obey His commandments, that is the key to a successful marriage
-37points
2of 41voted this as helpful.