Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope

Howard Books Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope

When five Taylor University students and staff were killed in a tragic accident, one survivor---hospitalized and in a coma---was identified as Laura Van Ryn. Another young woman, Whitney Cerak, was buried. The discovery that the girls had been mistaken for each other changed their families forever. An amazing story of healing---and the bonds of faith! 288 pages, softcover from Howard.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Review 1 for Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hae z
Location:Manitoba
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book. At first you can't understand how they could have mixed up the identities, but as you read on it does become obvious that it could happen. One gets so involved with the feelings of both the families, and my heart went out to them. I hope they're all doing o.k.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Lou Duguid
I have heard one of the couples who authored this book tell their real life story. The book is written just like they tell it. It is life in motion, sadness, humor, unbelief, but always faith in each other and in God. It is a road well traveled because through it all, they are a bonded family. It comes through clearly in the penned words from all perspectives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Freeman
This book was heartwarming, the families went through trials that we would never want to go through. The love for each others families were remarkable when the true identity came out. I would urge others to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
DShil
I bought this book for my teenage daughter after having seen the Dateline coverage of the event. She read the book in a weekend and shared it with her English class and sister. It really seemed to reach her in a way only a story about others her age could do. She seems really moved to help others after reading the story and having a reawakening about our own mortality and what to do with the time she has been given.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Ryan
This is such a testimony of their love and faith in God. I could feel their pain. I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Fletcher
I found it to be a very good book.Easy to read. It was sad, but up lifting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vickie Parker
This was an inspiring story. It made me realize how important faith is in my own life. I received my book a week earlier than expected. Thanks Christian Books.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gerhard Pilcher
Great book. Written in a way that truely conveyed the emotions of both families. It's a blessing that the families opened up and shared some truely personal feelings and struggles. Although I have not experienced the loss of one of my children, it is my greatest fear and I can understand how this book would be an important tool to help me begin to cope with such a loss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wendy Stafford
True story. Could not put it down. This book is anointed and is appealing to both Christians and non-Christians. The amazing faith of the parents and siblings involved in this story is inspiring. When many in today's America would be thinking about who to blame and who to sue, the Cerak and Van Ryn families thought about who to pray for and how best to help the people involved in this riveting story of mistaken identity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tonya Gunn
This book is sooooo good. I don't read much. I could not put the book down. It is so touching how these families handled the whole situation. It is a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pamela Schmitz
This is a book you can't put down love it, i pray for the families in this book...God bless you all
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Fisher
An absolutely amazing story of unwavering faith in our Sovereign God in the severest circumstances that could ever come into two families' lives. Very well written; the reader cannot help but be caught up in the emotions that these families exerienced, and to marvel at their love and their faith. A captivating book that causes one to examine the strength of his or her own faith, and to appreciate the time we have with each of our children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Visscher
The picture on the cover tells "how" it all happened....Laura's eyes just sparkle and her smile lights up her whole face.... these two things mark her whole personality. To see "her" in a hospital bed with eyes closed and the smile not there, it would be easy to not recognize her. As I read the book my heart broke to know this beautiful girl was gone from the lives of her family and friends.My deepest sympathy to the Van Ryn family. Of all of the funerals that had to be the hardest. Hope shattered! but faith still intact! To God be the glory with His promise of eternal life for those who love Him....FOREVER! not for the length of time alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.