Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger

Harvest House Publishers She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger

You've overreacted too many times with your kids, mismanaged your anger, and feel embarrassed and guilty. Someone else has been where you are right now. With honest humor, Julie Barnhill points you to the amazing grace of God to redeem and repair irritable hearts and behavior. Repackaged with additional help.
Average Customer Rating:
4.944 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Review 1 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I breathed a sigh of relief and freedom

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rian
Location:Gaithersburg, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julie's words gave me so much hope...they gave me a place to start, they "normalized" my experience, and they gave me Biblical truth to start replacing the lies in my life. In my eagerness for explanations and solutions, I read it so quickly that I need to go through it again and actually do the work at the end of each chapter. I am eager to share this with other moms and to see myself and others grow through the freedom of naming a problem and crying out to God for help!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Definitely meets a need

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mommentor
Location:Davenport, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this book for our Moms' Bible Study group on the recommendation of a friend. Since publicizing it in our church and school bulletins, our numbers grew dramatically, and I ordered the book two more times before our fall class even got started. The moms are enjoying the chapters and our discussions, but I find myself having to delve into the Word to reinforce the author's advice. That's a great exercise for me, but I wish the book had more biblical references for us to begin with.
The author is very personable and easy to relate to, which is great in our group, where some of the moms have little Bible study background and are overwhelmed with their responsibilities.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michele
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it for me and my daughters and my youngest has not put it down says it is very helpful she has a rambunctious little boy almost 2
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging and genuine

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mama2five
Location:North Augusta, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I feel like I'm the only one wrestling with anger, Julie Barnhill enters in with reality, humor, and grace to remind me that I'm not the first nor last to struggle with loving my kids on the one hand and about to explode at them on the other. This book has humbled me and is helping me to sift through the confusing anger and begin the search for the deeper issues. She also gives good ideas to help in the immediate crisis. Above all she reminded me that the Lord is the One I must submit to and fall hard upon to receive grace and mercy in my times of need. Julie Barhill delivers her thoughts with clarity, honesty, and humor; it hits hard if you are willing to hear the truth.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Have!

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
ejshmk
Location:Zanesville, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend recommended this book to me & I thank God every day that she did. I got it at the library and before I finished the first chapter I knew I would end up buying it. This is one of those books you just keep going back to for inspiration, support and encouragement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very helpful

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
doodle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very honest, personal and touching approach to a subject that is not discussed much among Christian moms. It made me feel that I was not alone and offered very helpful advice that has really helped me to keep my cool with my kids. I recommend this book if you have struggles with losing your temper with your kids.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Above and Beyond

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nicole C
Location:Firestone, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is so nice to know that I am not the only one who feels like she is going to lose it when the kids make us crazy. This book is amazing and written in a way that makes me relate to so much!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don’t be afraid of this book! The author lays out informative and helpful steps to take if you find yourself behaving in a not so Christ like way! Every one of us has a boiling point. We may not be proud of it or how quickly it can be reached but we are all equal in having one.
The author, Julie Ann Barnhill, does an excellent job of making you feel like you are among friends. She opens up and talks of her issues and how she overcame them. She gives you ample examples of other Christian Mom’s who have dealt with their blowups.
The best parts of this book are the tips on how to handle it when you feel one of your blowing up moments coming. She also teaches you how to go to the Lord in prayer over past blowups and how to move on. This easy read book is an excellent resource for any Mom no matter the age of her children or the size of her most recent blow up!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Real Situations

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mom of 3
Location:Roanoke, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julie Barnhill is one of my favorite speakers, and now one of my favorite authors. She is so very down to earth and real. I was taken back more than once by just how candid she is in this book. I am trying to get my women's group at church to do their next book study on this very book. great topic that no one wants to talk about!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cece
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very helpful book that is teaching me to think before I react to my children. I appreciate the biblical references and find I need to read the Bible more often. Thank you for helping me see how blessed I am to have children. I love all of the author's personal stories, because it helps me to realize I am not alone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Vitko
A friend recommended this book and I'm so happy she did! Actually I had to buy it again because I gave it away and hadn't finished it yet. My fav part are the timeout tamers. If you have moments that aren't "so pretty" with your children then GET this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Vitko
A wonderful book for me because I have some no "so pretty" moments. The author gives personal experiences along with Godly counseling. She offers resources too. I tell many friends about this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judi Ditmer
A must-read book for all new and old mom's. I'm 48 and have 3 grown children and 2 four year olds. I wish I would have had this book when my 3 sons were at home. I was totally amazed at her honesty in this book. And I know each one of us could have written a chapter in this book.(or more)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Teeteetare
This book helped me to feel better about my mothering and had some good tips to try and keep from acting out in anger toward your children. It was also very entertaining. I laughed and cried throughout it. I will definitely be recommending this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carrie Savino
excellent book. provides humor, helpful advise and biblical truths leaving you feeling that you can do this the way god intended and keep your sanity at the same time! it truly is about finding the grace of god and putting practical truths into action. simple and completely effective! a must read if you've ever felt like "i'm just not sure i can do this".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Sawyer
Ok, I haven't finished it yet. I am a busy mom of 4. But just the first three chapters have been insightful, tearful, challenging...everything I would want in a book that promises help. There has also been laughter in the readings. I especially love the questions at the end of each chapter; by answering them, you can really own what you have just read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Belen
It was a reality check for me. I believe every mom can use get sooo much out of this book. Anger is not just yelling and hitting!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for She's Gonna Blow: Real Help for Moms Dealing with Anger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Susan Johnson
I LOVE this book and will read it again and again. It's one of those books where you get more out of it each time you read it. It's like Julie is inside the head of each mother who reads it...I guess all Mom's really are alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.