Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Harvest House Publishers NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984

The original NIV Daily Bible in Chronological Order now comes in a handy size. At only 4 1/8 x 5 3/4 inches, the compact edition contains every element of the full-size bible but in a convenient size for those readers who like to take the Word with them.

  • 6 point type
  • Single-column format
  • Bottom Footnotes
  • Daily Reading Schedule
  • Chronology of Significant Events
  • Topical Contents for the Book of Proverbs
  • Cross-Reference Index
  • 4 1/8" x 5 3/4" x 1 1/4"
  • Softcover
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
6 out of 967%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Review 1 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I expected

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Boston
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print is so small that it is very difficult to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ann Losleben
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This daily Bible is really great. I enjoy it very much. When
it's put into chronological order, the reading of the stories
seem to be better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

nice format

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
gramma g
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a really good way to get to read the bible.I would recommend getting the large version because in the compact version the words are really really small and I already wear glasses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
tina
Location:Carriere,MS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The daily readings are set up in a way that keeps you turning the pages. Before you know it you have finished with your daily reading and your longing for more. The devotional insight makes you stop and consider what you are reading. Guiding you to deepen your understanding of the Word. The chronological order lets you see the events as they unfold. Which helps you to follow the bible stories with greater ease.
Overall, I love it!! This is just the bible I was looking for. It has everything I want and nothing I don't want. This bible reads like a novel. Which make it easy and fun to read. It contains just the right amount of devotional insight. Making it the perfect bible to use for personal or family devotional time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Theologically incorrect comments

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
quizzer
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The commentary in this publication is poor. The book is sufficient if you just want to read the bible text.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

dislike it

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
debbie
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not realize it was a compact version. Very sorry I purchase these
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
anne
Location:NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
font size is a little small for someone my age! Might need magnifier for long reading sessions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice Bible

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Danielle Smith
Location:FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible is easy to read, and I love the daily devotionals included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elisa Clark
Location:Lancaster, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
It makes the bible so much easier to understand when you can read the events as they happened.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
This one was a gift for my eldest daughter I put the review I'm sure she will put it to good use as it should fit unto a purse etc Print too small for me so had to buy the larger addition for myself
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Virgini
Type is much too small for the old eyes in my Sunday School class. If I can't sell the remaining copies, I will be returning the unopened ones. However, I will be ordering several more, in larger print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shelley Winwood
We are really enjoying our NIV chronological bibles. I bought this size for my husband and the compact size for myself. I love the compact size personally, but some might find the text too small. It matches the bigger one page for page. One thing I like is how it introduces/summarizes events before you actually read the scripture. It's really good for me to know what I need to read each day to stay on track to read the bible in a year - each page of the bible is labeled at the top with the suggested date to be read. My only concern is that the paper cover will not hold up well, but probably better than the big one that has extra weight working against it. When we finish this NIV version our plan is to read the Reese's KJV.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Fuller
This is a handy - though small sized - of an edition we have found very helpful. These that we bought are for Christmas gifts for our kids who can still read finer print! Some others might prefer a larger copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Teresa Amatori
Have not read it yet, just looked though it. I am going to start on Jan 1, 20010. Great little Bible, words are kind of small, you may want the bigger version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Ann Nickerson
THE DAILY BIBLE offers the entire Scripture text, arranged in chronological (historical) order in 365 daily readings. Brief section introductions offer helpful background. Scripture references (addresses) are listed in the margins. What a fresh way to read through the whole Bible in one year. The chronological approach adds perspective for improved reader comprehension of God's HIStory. Our church congregation is reading this together for a year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Barbara Brashier
A wonderful way to read God's word! Even if you don't usually read the contents before and after Genesis and Revelations and also the human arrangers message, I really encourage you to do so this time. It will add a lot to your enjoyment and understanding. This is a good Bible for first time readers as well as for everyone who wants to know the whole counsel of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mary Baker
I love this Bible. I had the hardest time having a daily quiet time until I got this Bible. It has a daily reading schedule that fits me to a tee.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bob
Great Bible. I look forward to reading it every day and have to hold myself back not to cheat and read the next day in advance. Every time I show it to a friend, they buy one. Use to read the One Year, but found this one, much more filling and easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Compact Edition 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2006
I purchased this a few years ago and this is my third time reading through. I since have purchased additional copies and given them as gifts. It is laid out nicely and I like having everything in Chronological order. The only thing I would recommend is buying it in hardcover, my soft cover is starting to fall apart from use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.