Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD

Harvest House Publishers PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD

Looking for a way to refresh, renew, and rejuvenate without all the New Age mumbo jumbo of the yoga craze? Try Laurette Willis's Christ-centered exercise program! Integrating Scripture with two invigorating workouts, she helps you increase flexibility, tone muscles, improve balance, relieve stress, and control weight while deepening your knowledge of God's Word. Includes one 60-minute and one 20-minute workout.
Average Customer Rating:
4.027 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
8
8 out of 1267%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Review 1 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surpassed Expectations

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marita
Location:Bloomville, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the first 5 minutes, I felt like this might be a lower intensity work out than I wanted, but as I got into it, It was perfect. I get some movement to increase heart rate, and stretching, while working core muscles. As a young mom, I need these exercises! I also appreciate that I can choose the exercises to fit my time frame. But I was most impressed with the spiritual application! This video is keeping God as the focus, with prayer before exercise, basing movements on scripture, and even inviting you to a deeper relationship with Christ Jesus. I also loved that the women were covered, not dancing around in bras with midriffs showing! It helps me not only with physical health, but to keep my focus on God, my Rock and my Redeemer!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very user friendly

Date:November 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Montana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am often to busy to be active and thus am not very flexible. I found this video to be perfect. It gets me alitlle cardio and lots of stretching to improve blood flow and muscle strength. It fits well into my schedule. If I has different options based on the time I have available.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not what it advertised

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
jojoy
Location:aspen co
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
my doctor recommended that i take up yoga for the health benefits, she and i are both Christians. i was so happy at first to see you offered an alternative exercise. but when i got it and watched the DVD, i was disappointed, it was not slow easy stretches and deep breathing. this DVD is not suitable for people with shoulder or neck injuries or just out of shape. i needed a slow stretching exercise. still do. but i was recomponsated fpr the product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Instructor is annoying

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
ilovehappyfeet
Location:Washington State
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This DVD has a good Yoga work out, but seems kind of old or not very modern. Looking for "real" Christian contemporary DVD this is not it. No music and the instructor seems fake a too "happy" Overall a good work out but too annoying for me to use on the regular basis. Unfortunately I think I wasted my money on this.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dani
Location:MO
Gender:female
The concept behind this video is great, but the production is lacking. For example when the Bible verse being presented was covering the pictures of the participants, making it hard to follow along with the moves. The narration came across as very forced. I think I would enjoy this as a class in person, but probably won't continue trying the video version.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
marrog
Location:Belgium
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for. To start the day with this excercises and scriptures is just wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bobbin
Location:Luling, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been wanting to try yoga but not wanting to be influenced by the religious end and was glad to find this Christian alternative. I really like the scripture affirmations. Very cleverly done.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great DVD

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the poses and the music and the explanations. It is excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is unique

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Godsgrl8283
Location:Melbourne, Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this DVD. It's a great way to exercise using Scripture and a biblical perspective.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elisa Clark
Location:Lancaster, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
It makes exercising more comfortable for older people
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

very poor sound quality

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol Thoreson
Location:hallock, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've never done yoga before and wanted to try the exercise benefits without the negative spiritual aspects. I found this routine hard to follow for a first-timer. Also the sound quality for most the DVD is very poor.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to follow along, great selections.

Date:November 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
NJBSMOMMA
Location:New Richmond,WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing work out, I felt really stretched and conditioned. The poses are challenging yet offer easier variations too. My favorite is the prayer meditation time. It allows you to unwind and relax after a hard day. It's very uplifting.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Pussilano
I dabbled in the "exercise part" of Yoga a couple of years ago and hurt my back, so I stopped. I was on the fence about how Yoga can lead to the New Age Movement but since reading up on the subject, I have a better understanding of how curiousity can grab hold of you when your not looking. I love the whole idea of Praise Moves and appreciate Laurette sharing her journey from New Age to Christianity. But because I have a bad back, hip and knee, there were some moves that I could not do in this DVD. Some of the moves are Yoga stretches but doing them and reciting scripture confuses me a little. Again, I like the "idea" of it but maybe I'm not just getting it.I have a regular beginners Yoga DVD that has nothing to do with meditation. The way the instructer teaches is slow enough for me to move from one pose or stretch to the next. He never mentions "the universe" or the "god within."I am a mature Christian woman and I personally have no desire to meditate while exercising. I never had a desire to search for anything to fill me except for Jesus and His written word. Meditation for me happens when I read the scriptures or write a christian devotional.However, I think it is very important for every Christian to research all things we intend to get involved with and then pray about our decision.Last but not least, this DVD was damaged and I could not return it because I threw away the packaging. But, It is a good DVD for those who can do it and overall, I think it is a wonderful alternative for those who were caught up in the "yoga and new age movement." I would like to see Laurette make another.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna Lopez
I orderd this DVD a couple of months back, I found that I enjoyed the word that was in the DVD .But found that is a little out dated & slow for me. But will pass it on to who may benefit from it & hearing Gods word. Thanks again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Glenda Kilpatrick
Just what I had been looking for. I had been wanting to obtain a yoga video to exercise by and when I stumbled across this, I was thrilled. An uplifting and encouraging way to start your day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea
Wow!! THis is probably the most excellent exercise Dvd I have heard ever! Since I am blind and unable to see the moves, I can't use most Dvds. But Lorette is very descriptive about how to do the postures. She gives enough description in the warm ups that it is easy enough to follow it well enough by just listening to it. Thanks Lorette for an alternative to Yoga. I tried Yoga and felt good, but then I had a hard time studying the Bible. I really think there is an Eastern influence that Yoga has that is dangerous.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam
I liked the exercise & the Christian emphasis. I thought it was hard to see at times. She has on black pants against a dark background.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
I was looking for a yoga alternative and this is it. I love the stretching along with the reflection on God's word. It is a great way to find a focus for the begining of your day. There are two workouts with one being about 20minutes which is great for the busy person who is trying to squeeze in a workout. I always feel so good and refreshed after doing these exercises. She gives you scriptures to reflect on so that you can really use the time to focus on the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie Huang
I was thoroughly pleased with this DVD. It gave me a wonderful workout, and I particularly enjoyed the scriptures used. Caution: if your body isn't used to exercising, start off with a short session (perhaps 20-30 min. for the first few days)and slowly build up your workout time while having fun with this wonderful DVD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PraiseMoves: The Christian Alternative to Yoga, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kerri Troyan
This a a good low impact way to start/end a day or to fill in when I can't make it to my regular exercise class. It is low impact, but offers good stretching poses. The only thing I don't like is that they don't move to the beat of the music in the cardio warmup and that throws my moves off sync with them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.