Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers God's Grace and the Homosexual Next Door: Reaching The Heart of Gay Men and Women in your World

Harvest House Publishers God's Grace and the Homosexual Next Door: Reaching The Heart of Gay Men and Women in your World

As this controversial issue has gained acceptance in our culture, it's become increasingly difficult for the church to respond without sounding too harsh for something that is clearly wrong. Alan Chambers and colleagues from Exodus International offer insight about same sex couples, answers common questions and open the door for significant ministry with homosexuals God's put in your path.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God's Grace and the Homosexual Next Door: Reaching The Heart of Gay Men and Women in your World
Review 1 for God's Grace and the Homosexual Next Door: Reaching The Heart of Gay Men and Women in your World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carol
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was so excited about finding help for my daughter until I went online and found our Exodus closed in July 2013.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God's Grace and the Homosexual Next Door: Reaching The Heart of Gay Men and Women in your World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
K. S.
This book has been a wealth of information for me. When mainstream Christianity is either hateful or too accepting, this book shows you how to approach same-sex attraction in a loving and biblical way and to find the middle ground that needs to be found in order to love gay-identified people like Jesus would...unconditionally.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God's Grace and the Homosexual Next Door: Reaching The Heart of Gay Men and Women in your World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gregory Parker
This is a must have book every Christian should have. The author and contributing writers [as well as myself] have walked this road and speak with hearts of transparency an honesty. It demystifies falsehoods, sheds the Light of Truth on the lies people & Christians have believed about homosexuality. And shows how you can share Christ's love to anyone struggling with SSA [same sex attractions].
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God's Grace and the Homosexual Next Door: Reaching The Heart of Gay Men and Women in your World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eva
This book was simply amazing! Not only have I read it multiple times, I have also bought it and passed it on to others, and plan to continue to do the same. It's an easy read. Practical. Real. Honest. It de-mystifies a lot of the false assumptions about homosexuality and makes practical how we as Christians should and can react appropriately. In a day and age when people are struggling with this (whether accepting it as valid or desperately wanting to walk out of homosexuality), this is possibly the biggest area of need for Christian education as it relates to our current culture. It helps dispel fear and false assumptions, and helps Christians know how to react in a Christlike manner. <br /><br />And just a quick note on Alan - from someone who has actually met him and been associated with Exodus for a while now, keep in mind that the media skews things. Many of his "quotes" at times have been taken out of context. And some need further explanation and time to explain than is possible in short interviews. Alan is a man of tremendous integrity and honesty. And as someone else mentioned, being tempted by something does not mean you are trapped in that sin. I'm tempted to sin every day. His admitting that he is tempted at times towards past sins no more makes him a failure than anything we struggle with. Even Paul in scripture (Rom. 7) talks about how he still it tempted to do what he does not want to do, and not what he knows he should do. It's part of the human condition. But then in Phil. 4:13 he also says he can do all things through Christ who strengthens him.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God's Grace and the Homosexual Next Door: Reaching The Heart of Gay Men and Women in your World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Philip
This is a good book for any Christian who wants to know how to deal with a gay person in their life the way Jesus would. Personally, I appreciate getting this message from people who walk in obedience to Christ while also being honest about their own struggles. They would be the experts, wouldn't they?
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God's Grace and the Homosexual Next Door: Reaching The Heart of Gay Men and Women in your World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kevin
I completely disagree with Lynn's response to this book. There needs to be a distinction between temptation and sin. Temptation itself is not sin, unless you act upon it. Just because a tempting thought pops into your mind does not mean that you have sinned. Only when we entertain those thoughts does it actually become sin. Unless you are perfect and no longer fall under the category of sinner, "Lynn," your argument for why Alan's book should not be considered worthy of reading is false. I myself struggle with same-sex attractions, but I do not consider myself to be gay. Further more I am a proud follower of Christ Jesus and his redemptive message. That is what this book teaches. It gives you the understanding of why we can no longer throw the first stone of condemnation on the so called sinner. It teaches that reaching out with love and compassion as well as grace (which is what the Lord has shown each of us)is the best way to reach out to the homosexual community. Do I still struggle with same-sex attractions??? Absolutely, but I am covered by the blood that Christ shed for me on the cross. I am human and I know my weaknesses. I have to rely on God's strength and His alone to move forward in my walk with Him. I give this book a two thumbs up, it is an excellent resource for the church as well as pastor's, teacher's, youth leader's and anyone wanting to know how to address the issue of homosexuality from a redemptive perspective.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God's Grace and the Homosexual Next Door: Reaching The Heart of Gay Men and Women in your World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bekah
I completely disagree with Lynn. I believe that we all have our sinful nature to deal with. It is an everyday battle within ourselves to not lust, lie, anger, etc. I believe that although not in all cases in many cases homosexuality is hereditary and biological... for these people they must deal with these urges much like the heterosexuals deal with other sins such as greed and jealousy. It is a constant battle everyday to be Christ like and I believe that people who are homosexual just have bigger obstacles to overcome and people like the author of this book should be respected for making the decision to follow Christ and try to overcome this nature.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God's Grace and the Homosexual Next Door: Reaching The Heart of Gay Men and Women in your World
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lynn Parsh
While some of the content in this book is okay, the fact that Chambers is still a struggling homosexual makes one wonder why he felt he had the authority to write such a book.Trying to live as a heterosexual man, while still being tempted to engage in homosexual sex is a contradiction. You'd be better off getting a resource from someone who has been truly delivered from homosexuality rather than someone who is currently still struggling.
-10points
1of 12voted this as helpful.