Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Roses in December: Comfort for the Grieving Heart

Harvest House Publishers Roses in December: Comfort for the Grieving Heart

This newly revised version of Roses in December offers compassion and encouragement to readers who are struggling with the loss of a loved one or helping a loved one cope. Marilyn Heavilin, having lost three sons, knows the tremendous sorrows and struggles that accompany the death of a loved one. She shares how even in the winters of our lives God provides roses - special people, special memories - to give us strength to persevere. This new addition also includes chapters on losing loved ones to suicide and AIDS.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Roses in December: Comfort for the Grieving Heart
Review 1 for Roses in December: Comfort for the Grieving Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Kempe
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author lost 3 sons, she is experienced in grief survival!!!
I have given this to many people who have lost a child. My relatives who received this manual on how to grieve helped them. Everyone grieves differently, and losing a child, is ALWAYS tragic at any age.
I read this book to educate me, to know HOW to help parents in surviving. It can apply to all who are grieving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Roses in December: Comfort for the Grieving Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
KimS
Location:Douglass, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must read for anyone who has lost a loved one, especially a child. It was comforting to know I am not "crazy" and others had the same feelings and emotions I have. A friend recommended it to me and I am so glad I bought/read it. It was a great help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Roses in December: Comfort for the Grieving Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lula
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a lot of friends who have lost children recently and all of them have found this book to be very comforting. I have bought a copy for myself as well and find it a great reference for things I can do to be helpful and serve my grieving friends. So sorry for the losses of Mrs. Heavilin but the Lord has definitely used her to comfort others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Roses in December: Comfort for the Grieving Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for anyone who has lost a child

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
SusieQ
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first read this book in 1988 when I was searching for a book for a friend who lost her husband and son in plane crash. Since then I have given the book to anyone I know who has lost a child. I bought this book now for a friend who just lost a child to SIDS. She had a follow up book to this one but I don't remember the name of it. I would also like to get a copy of it again. Wonder if Christian Books carries it?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Roses in December: Comfort for the Grieving Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
bookedup
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very candid look into the grief of a mother and practical ways to keep The Faith while healing. An aunt sent it to me on the death of my son, I found it so helpful, I bought a copy for a grieving friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Roses in December: Comfort for the Grieving Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is great for the grieving heart.

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ginny
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book that can be read several times. In fact I could not read the book continually the first time. The book contained things that I was going through. I would read and cry, and take a day or two break from reading, then come back and find more things that were very helpful and common to my grief. It helps to know, and read that others struggle with grief the same way that you do. I have bought several copies since I have read this book, and have given them to people who are grieving over the loss of a loved one. This book has helped myself and my family to know that the feelings that we have are not uncommon and that others struggle as well. I would not hesitate to give or recommend this book to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Roses in December: Comfort for the Grieving Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diana King
This book was a great comfort to me after losing my 28 year old son. It is one of those books that you cannot put down until it was finished. I have since read it two more times. This book is for anyone who has lost a child of any age. It's full of scripture to back up the suggestions to get thru this kind of grief. It also has suggestions to those who counsel the grieving. I have since given my copy to my pastor and also gave a copy to a friend who lost her son just a month after I lost mine. I highly recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Roses in December: Comfort for the Grieving Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Valerie Thigpen
This book is very eye opening for a mother who has lost a child. I usually give a copy to any mother who has lost a child. Marilyn is very real with her thoughts and feeling. Excellent book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.