Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Whispers of the Bayou

Harvest House Publishers Whispers of the Bayou

Miranda Miller wasn't looking for the news the day the letter came. But, trying to survive in troubled circumstances, she welcomes the chance to change her location for a period of time. The letter informs her that her grandparents' estate is finally about to become hers. She immediately heads down to Louisiana and the old house by the bayou. There Miranda finds secrets that lead to life-changing revelations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.425 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
3 out of 650%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whispers of the Bayou
Review 1 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I finished it but...

Date:July 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Charlene
Location:New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I finished the book but only because I was curious as to when God would make an appearance. The story was so so. It definitely was not what I was expecting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good mystery by Mindy, secrets to the end

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Miranda Miller lost her mother when she was only five years old. Her Aunt Jane (AJ) came down to Louisiana to take her back to Manhattan to raise her, Miranda was in such bad shape that she wouldn't talk to anyone and only stared, it took a lot of counseling and time before she could finally communicate. Miranda is now married to Nathan and has a five year old daughter Tess, she has a job at the Manhattan Musuem restoring artwork. Miranda has a hard time becoming close to anyone in her life because of the events that happened during her first five years of life, it's like she has an invisible wall around her to keep people at a distance but she doesn't know why.
AJ has been receiving letters from Willy Pedreaux, the old caretaker of the antebellum estate that Miranda inherited from her grandparents, but never let Miranda know. Jimmy Smith brings in a painting that he'd like restored which starts a string of strange events. The problem is it didn't really need restored but just cleaned, as she was checking the painting out she noticed a symbol that jogged her memory but couldn't quite place where she'd seen it before. Jimmy insisted on leaving the painting with her and left the museum, he was a very strange acting man. Since this was a Friday Miranda and AJ always met for lunch but on her way to meet AJ, two men attacked her, ripped her shirt up her back from her waist to her shoulders, gagged her with a rag, grabbed the bottom hem of her pants legs and pulled them up to reveal her ankles and calves, ripped off both shoes and socks then grabbed a fistful of hair while pushing her face onto the cold, slimy cement floor. They kept going back and forth in her hair until they found what they were looking for, finally satisfied, they just left her.
She left the building and went to the closest business and had them call the police then called AJ to come and get her. After AJ helped her get cleaned up she told Miranda about the letters from Willy. Later at home telling Nathan about the incident and the conversation with AJ, they discover that their home has been bugged. Miranda decides she has to go to the Bayou to see Willy and find out what this is all about. She leaves the next morning and after she's at the estate a few hours Willy, on his deathbed, tries to tell her everything but dies before he gets all of the details out.
There are many 'secrets' to be discovered in this story and Mindy does a good job of keeping them a secret until the end. If you like mysteries you'll enjoy this book, I have no problem in recommending it to other readers. I am also looking forward to reading some more of Mindy's mysteries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

very disappointed

Date:May 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:Wellsvill, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always loaned out my books in the "Million Dollar Mystery Series" by this author. It was one of my favorites. I liked it as well as "The O'Mally series". So when I read this I was really expecting a lot. It wasn't there. Nothing she has written since the million dollar mystery series has come close. The writing is not there. While I did finish it it wasn't enjoyable. Ihated to write this review but felt I should write whatever I feel about any book I read whether others feel the same or not.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Could Not Finish This Book

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irma Unger
Location:Niagara Falls, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book was not what I expected at all. As a previous reviewer stated it was nightmarish,there was too much voodoo and not much reference to God at all. As stated I did not finish the book and actually put it out in the trash. I hope that the author's other books are not the same as this one.
I have read many other Christian mystery books and none disappointed me as this one did.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such an enjoyable read!

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adey
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had recently purchased and read The Amish Midwife and The Amish Nanny co-written by Mindy Starns Clark and I thought they were quite well done. I decided to try 4 of her stand-alone books including this one and WOW! I found them easy to read, and yet the storylines were unique and mysterious. The books had enough substance that it made me want to keep reading even if it was late at night :)
Highly recommend all 4 of Mindy's stand-alone books (Whispers of the Bayou, Shadows of Lancaster County, Under the Cajun Moon and Secrets of Harmony Grove). She starts with a climax in the first few chapters and keeps the intensity there throughout the rest of the book! Next on my list to buy is her Million Dollar Mystery series and I can't wait!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bren
Location:Stuart, Va.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very good book and I would recommend it to anyone that enjoys a mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara Maroney
I really enjoyed "Whispers on the Bayou" and would recommend it to others. Of course, being from the area that it was written about, helped me appreciate it more because I felt like I had been in the house before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
SHANDLE
ABSOLUTELY LOVED THE BOOK...MINDY WRITES AWESOME SUSPENSE NOVELS WITH A TWIST. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND READING THIS BOOK.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
MrsBloom
This is a must read! I could not put the book down. Lots of research for the facts about the forced exodus from Nova Scotia in the 1700-1800s. A marvelous work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2009
Again this author took a life and time andblended with today's life changing culture.It causes us to look to the past for what wecan use to make life better by facing the past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda
Excellent, excellent, excellent!!! I Love Mindy Starns Clarks books but I must say that this was my favorite. I could not put it down and did not know where the story was going to lead me. There were so many surprises plus her descriptions made you feel like you were in the story!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rae Ann Boerger
I just read it and could not put it down. This book is for me and I loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shandle
This was a very interesting book, it kept my attention, and I could hardly put it down. I strongly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Becky Sanders
This was one of the best books I have ever read!!! Hope to see more books from her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Laurie Klarman
I highly recommend the book- it really challenges you and how you regard your relationships to people around you as well as to God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
A Moore
The book was very easy to read and get into. I found that it was difficult to put down, and what surpises there were in store as the story evolved. Great job!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Kemp
I really enjoyed this book. It had my interest from the moment I began reading. I am not familiar with author so for me I took a chance but I am truly satisfied and hope she has more books out there or more to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynn
I didn't want to put this book down. There are several mysteries going on at the same time and Clark unravels everything beautifully and reverantly. I liked the historical aspects of this book as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debra
Thoroughly enjoyed the twists and turns in this thriller. Can't wait for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Whispers of the Bayou
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joy
Loved this book. I am a reader and this book held my attention. I enjoyed the unexpected twists and turns. A must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>