Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life

Thomas Nelson What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life

Understand your man's heart and mind! Seasoned counselor Rinehart gives incredible insight into couples' communication gaps. In her conversational style, she reveals how men think, why they do what they do, what they struggle with, and how you can respond to them in new ways to enrich your relationship. Includes in-depth Bible study and discussion questions. Paperback. A Focus on the Family Recommendation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.103 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
8 out of 1080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Review 1 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What's He Really Thinking by Paula Rinehart

Date:December 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharayah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let's be honest, we've all wanted to take a step into our husbands heads for just a little while to see what he's really thinking, how he's truly feeling or why he does things the way he does. I've finally finished reading What's He Really Thinking? by Paula Rinehart & although it took me some time to fully get into the book and grasp some of the concepts, I'm glad I stuck with it and finished it.
I, like many other women out there, am always in search of ways to bring out the best in my husband. In "What's He Really Thinking : How to be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life", Paula uses multiple stories and offers great insights on how to become a relational genius with all the men in your life. Her book is broken down into 2 parts. The first part aids in understanding the man you love, touching on subjects like what men do, why they hurt and how they change. The second part of the book dives in a bit deeper and teaches you how to love the man you now understand. It touches on subjects like expectations, respect, conflict, intimacy and so on. One passage from the book that really caught my attention is, "Our expectations of a man must be grounded in the way God made him." & I couldn't agree more. There is also a relational genius guide in the back of the book that offers some practical yet Biblical guidelines to help you apply what you've learned from this book. I was also very pleased to see that Paula provided a section called Praying For The Man In Your Life. She states, "What you want most to see happen in a man's life, only God can do. This section helped me, yet again, realize how important it is to pray for not only my husband but for all the men in my life. I would recommend this book to any woman out there that's been longing to finally understand, What's He Really Thinking?
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com http://BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wasn't what i expected.

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrscruz9909
Location:anaheim,ca
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
What's He Really Thinking? by Paula Rinehart wasn't for me.Its an insight on how men think and why.
This book talks about God alot and shows the importance of keeping god in your marriage, and being spiritually grounded,which is good, but I just am not a self help book girl so I had a really hard time getting into it.Honestly I had a really hard time finishing it. It might be a more helpful book to a divorcee who is struggeling to understand a man and why men think how they do. There is three parts to this book, how men think,why men do what they do, and what they struggle with.
Most of the information given is things I already new and found to be common sense really. I am a young adult so this book would be more for an older woman in my opinion.Paula Rinehart is a good writer , but i just couldnt relate to this book, which is why i had such a hard time reading it and understanding it.
I received this book free from the Booksneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Boasts too much

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Scott Allison
Location:Lafayette, IN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm a guy. So I picked up this book out of sheer curiosity to see if it lived up to its claim that it could tell women everything about the male mind. Here's my evaluation: just like any book that claimed it could tell men everything about the female brain, this book was a little ambitious when it came to its claims. I'm not saying that it doesn't give some very helpful, valid insights, but there a few spots where I would say that it's dead wrong, and a few others where it makes some broad assumptions about all men based on information from one or two guys. Not a bad read, just not the miracle it claims to be!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Woman's Guide to the Inner Man :

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: What's He Really Thinking ? - Paula Rhineheart - June 2009
Do you always sit there and wonder what goes on in that male's head ? What he thinks about relationships , friendships etc ? There's not too much to say without ruining the content of the book but author Paula Rhineheart who has had more than twenty plus years of counselling as written and put together a guide for all women which explains the men in our life , as we all know that they react to things differently than us women. In What's he really thinking ? Paula covers issues from starter relationships, to intimacy and finally the big commitment breaker and M Word that some men try to avoid like the plague - Marriage. In her book , she has three main points which she covers 1) How Men Think ? , 2) Why they Do what they do and 3) What they struggle with. This book has incorporated both worldly and christian views and can be read by absolutely every woman in the world. For me, I found it to be the female version of the hit movie with Mel Gibson "What Women Want".
This is one book, that every female entering into a world of a man or hoping to understand them should have on their bedside table and who knows by the end of the book , you may just be able to understand him more than he does himself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What's He Really Thinking by Paula Rinehart

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Breanne
What's He Really Thinking: How to be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life was written by Paula Rinehart. Rinehart draws on her counseling experience as well as her scientific research to provide women with a field guide to the male psyche. This book helps women to understand the opposite sex better and addresses matters such as how men think, why they do the things they do, and what they struggle with.
Personally I found this book to be a fascinating read which was hard to put down. I learned from what she had to say and thought it was a very informative book. I would agree with the conclusions that Rinehart reached. I particularly enjoyed the section on how men change and how to get through to a man.
Rinehart has a natural talent to see into the heart of a man and the ability to articulate what she sees well on paper. I was encouraged after reading this book because I believe this information will prove useful. I will try to put this advice and wisdom into practice in my marriage. Overall, I really enjoyed the read and would recommend it to all women who desire to understand the inner workings of a man better.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Helpful Book

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Athena
Location:West Jordan, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
'How to be a relational genius with the man in your life.' That is the subtitle of this book by Paula Rinehart. It intrigued me. This book is written from a Christian perspective, with biblical and scriptural examples scattered throughout it. The author uses real-life illustrations, which I always enjoy reading in a self-help type of book like this. Somehow the real-life examples help me understand the point the author is trying to make even further. 'What's He Really Thinking?' is mostly about the male-female relationship from a marriage standpoint, but also talks about other male relationships, even a man's relationship with his own father. There are appendixes at the end of the book that are helpful: Praying for the man in your life, and Understanding this man. Then after the appendix is a 'Relational Genius Guide' with questions to answer from each of the chapters in the book.
I did enjoy 'What's He Really Thinking?', and while I can't say there was information that I felt I didn't already know, the way the author presented the information was a great reminder of how we are different and how to best handle those differences. Paula Rinehart has cute little boxes on most pages with key points in them, and I really liked how they were presented. An example from the chapter 'Understanding Your Influence': 'We are better able to love what we understand. And loving and being loved is the main way we reflect the glory of God'. I did take quite a few notes from this book, and I would recommend it to others, especially young couples who are just starting out.
Disclaimer: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Booksneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We are better able to love what we understand

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Chicago
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Men are other. They are not merely women with big feet and beards", and so begins Paula's book that has the purpose of helping women understand, so that they may love, the men in their lives. And as, we are women, are surrounded by men in spouses, fathers, brothers, sons and friends, it is a good thing if we can understand what drives them and speaks to them.
The information in this book is nothing you have probably not heard before but the whole book is arranged in such a way that you hear it as if for the first time. Paula draws on her experiences as a counselor to give real life illustrations of the concepts and in doing so makes them recognizable in one's own relationships with men.
She encourages women to have expectations of men although to do so makes ones heart vulnerable yet it is because of that vulnerability that these relationships can grow deeper and richer.
This is an excellent book as I have found myself bringing up points from it in a variety of conversations with both men and women the entire time I've been reading.
While it is written to a female audience that does not stop it from also being a great book for men to read for a deeper understanding of the way God has made them.
Don't be fooled by the easy to read conversational style it employs, this is a powerfully deep and comprehensive book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read!

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
melissa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What's he really thinking?" by Paula Rinehart gives an indepth look into the mind of men. Paula explains many topics of the male mind that some of us have always wondered about, such as the influence of women, ways men feel respected, ways men deal with conflict, and many more. Rinehard has had over 20 years of counselling experience so she really knows what she is talking about. Even though my boyfriend and I have a great relationship, this book really made me see things the way he sees things, which has made our relationship even better. It has made me realize that men and women see aspects of relationships differently, and Paula explains these differences in a way that makes sense to me. By using Paula's sugguestions, I was able to change the way I react with the men in my life- my boyfriend and my brother. This in turn, changes the way we react with each other.
Women often think that men are incapable of communication, but Rinehard shows us that men communicate in their own way. This book teaches you to learn how they think and process information, so you and your man can relate to each other better. This leads to stronger and better relationships.
This book covers a wide range of topics on how to understand the men you love. The author really goes deep into the fundamental differences between a man and a woman, and even into the differences between men themselves. There's The Fighter, The Protector, The Adventurer, The Builder, The Nurturer, The Reflective, and The Scientist. Paula encourages readers to try and figure out what kind their man is.
I personally very much enjoyed this book, and it was 10x better than I thought it would be.I recommend this book to ANY woman in a relationship, even if things seem great, as I guarantee she will learn tons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great review of the male psyche

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
flurrysmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How Men Think-Why they do what they do-What they struggle with. These are some of the topics the author addresses in this book written mainly for wives. The book reads quickly and could be used as a small group study for women with questions in the back to create discussion. I have read several books on the topic, I think mainly in hopes of getting a "different answer", and this book was a great review and reminder for me of the basic men/women differences. I enjoyed the "Praying for the Man in Your Life" section and thought overall the author did a good job of explaining the whys and wherefores of the mail psyche. I would recommend the book and think it could make some relationships go smoother if women understand that men are not just a little different from us, but as the author states, they fall into the "other" catergory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
hollyroc
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What's He Really Thinking? by Paula Rinehart turned out to be a really good book. Honestly, I opened this book with much cynicism.
Once I began turning the pages, I realized I couldn't put it down. Not only did it help me understand my husband more, but it helped me understand myself more as a woman . Paula Rinehart uses stories and her professional expertise to give any female insight into how the male brain works. Quickly I learned that this book was not just for married couples, or even couple in a romantic relationship. While Rinehart does address those types of relationships, she also explains how men think in other relationships, such as a father-daughter/mother-son relationship. The book is very practical and extremely relevant no matter what your relational situation may be with the many men in your life. Rinehart also uses scripture to back up her claims and gives thoughtful insight to how to approach sensitive subjects.
I recommend this book for anyone who has any interest in dealing with the opposite gender. But remember, that this book will cause you to look inwardly at your life. It will make you consider your actions and your words and how they can be helpful or hurtful in your relationships with your man.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anne Blinch
What's He Really Thinking by Paula Rinehart explains the heart and soul of men. Men are as different from women as night is from day...and they are normal. Paula explains how they respond in relationships, how sex is a driving force, what makes them change plus so much more.The author has spent many years as a therapist listening to men talk. Out of her experience she has written a book for women. Not just married women but mothers, sisters, daughters and friends. Men need women in their lives to respect them and understand them. Men are who they are and too often we women are seeking to change them.With the guide in the back, this book can provide lots of good discussion for couples. It will help couples understand and appreciate the deep differences between the sexes.I enjoyed this book and would highly recommend it. The author made me stop and applaud the man I have. I want now to celebrate my husband's differences. This book has made a profound difference in how I see all men both those close to me and those in business. A must read for all women!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mrs Tom
Great - we are going to be using this for our young wives and moms group at church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marta Hoelscher
The title of this book really intrigued me. After all, what woman doesn't want to be able to decipher what men are really thinking? While I found the book had some useful information, I didn't find it an easy read. It felt choppy and I found it hard to engage in the topic. I really had a hard time keeping with the book.On the plus side, the author explores some great topics I thought. She explores the following: * What Men Do * Why Men Hurt * How Men ChangeIn all of these she explores why and how men think like they do and how they are different from women. I think this is the one aspect that we as women can take and use in dealing with men in all areas of our lives. I think once you understand how their thinking differs from ours, you can understand their reactions to things in a more positive manner.Another positive area of the book were the discussion questions for each chapter. Whether used as a small group discuss or as a couples study, these questions will surely lead to an interesting discussion.There are also prayers included in the back of the book for praying for the men in your life.Overall, while I had difficulties with the presentation of the information, the insight I gained was worth the effort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Doug Hibbard
I was under-impressed with this book. Perhaps I took the wording more strongly than Rinehart intended, but when she refers to women as "the antidote" that men need in the first 4 pages of the book, it started me on a negative view of this book. The references to "completion," "beauty," or "pizzazz" didn't bother me, but to state that women need to view themselves as the "antidote" to men's lives sets up two major issues: one is that men are flawed in ways that women are not; the other that women are responsible for fixing whatever may be wrong with the men in their lives.The chapter entitled "What Men Do" seemed to boil down to the idea that men do two things: work and sex. While those things are certainly a part of men's lives, there are, hopefully, more layers to men than this. Especially given that the apparent intended audience here is Christian ladies in regard to Christian men.Perhaps men are as simple as they are portrayed here, but I doubt it. I don't see it in the men I work with as a pastor, nor in the mirror when I see myself.I'd add a word about this book's use within Christian circles. While I understand that not everything Thomas Nelson publishes is exclusively marketed to the Christian reader, this book speaks to relationships and uses references to God and how He has made people. The references to God remain vague and only applied to trying to explain what men do. Throughout giving guidance to women about interacting with their husbands, I did not notice any emphasis on seeking Biblical guidance or following that which God has said about relationships. The study guide at the end contains references in questions and outlines, but the text itself seems to leave them out. As such, I think the book lacks the foundation that a book aimed at the Christian market needs.Note: I received a free copy of this book from the Book Review Bloggers Program from Thomas Nelson Publishers. Honest reviews lead in exchange for a free copy of the book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Valerie Lynn
Trying to figure out the way a man thinks or acts is something women will never figure out. God created men in such a unique way that He is the only One who could possibly understand the way men think and act.What's He Really Thinking gave it a good try. Paula Rinehart uses Biblical quotes as well as quotes from songwriters such as Aretha Franklin's song "Respect" and lines from movies such as "the Lion King" to set the tone for what the chapter is about. Her book has two parts. Part One is entitled "Understanding the Man You Love" while part two is "Loving the Man You Understand." Subjects range from "why a man thinks and acts the way he does to what a man expects and ending with the ultimate chapter "Intimacy." There is (which I believe is the main thing I liked about this book) a section at the end on how to pray for the men in your life. It lists scriptures you can use from the Bible to pray over them. There is also a discussion section in which you can get a group of your friends and sisters together and discussion each section of the book.Although I was really not impressed with the book overall, you may find it worth reading. Just don't expect that after reading this book you will totally understand the men in your life. Great effort on the part of Paula Rinehart, just not informational enough for me. I am a member of the Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
alisa
I have to admit, I chose to read this book simply for its title. I have not read any books by Paula Rinehart before. Overall, interesting book, but I was disappointed in some aspects. I did like how she put categories of men, (fighter, protector, adventurer, builder, nurturer, reflective, and scientist) and I found it interesting to ask my husband and try and figure out what he was. I also did like how she believes that men want to be the man in the relationship and how certain aspects of their personalities women can help accent. I also liked how she showed intimacy can be as simple as a good conversation and small things with the men in your life to show them you care. However, those things being said, I was a bit disappointed in that I came away from the book not really learning anything new, which I guess I was expecting to. I am not sure I would consult the book again, although I do thing the questionnaire guide at the back may be good to just review with my husband to see how he feels or probe questions. I would rate this book overall 2 stars, okay, but definitely not great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marlana R
Whats He Really Thinking is a clear and consise book written about men and how they think. Paula often gives examples of real people and how women are learning how the men in their lives are thinking and how they are using this knowledge to understand them and become closer to them. By reading this book I have learned that the men around me are not just different people, they also think completely differently than I do. Knowing this allows me to be able to what for my own reactions to their behavior. The main point I liked the most is to keep communications open with the men in our lives. If we dont speak about what were thinking about the other people in our lives will never know what we are thinking. Miscommunication occurs so easily so we have to work at communicating with loved ones. Paula Rinehart stresses this point consistently throughout. What a wonderful read and so helpful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori H. Poppinga
What's He Really Thinking by Paula Rhinehart takes women through the psyche of a man and helps us understand what he's thinking. Rinehart covered topics such as: what men do, why men hurt, how men change, expcectations, respect, conflict, getting through, and intimacy. Her well-researched insight was both helpful and refreshing. I really enjoyed reading this book. The conversational tone and real life scenarios held my attention while the references to other books on the same topic gave credibility to what Rinehart said. Becoming a "relational genius" with men is a challenge for any woman, Rinehart's book gives women a good place to start along with continuing resources including guides for praying for the man in your life, understanding this man, a relational genius guide along with guided questions. I am a reviewer for Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
wjcollier3.wordpress.com
Paula Rinehart has attempted a difficult task in her new book, Whats He Really Thinking? She is trying to explain men, what goes on in their heads, what makes them do what they do. Perhaps the only more difficult topic would be to explain women!First a disclaimer: This book was written for women to help them relate to the men in their lives. I am not a woman. I am the man in a womans life.I found the book to be easy to read and understand. It would have been very easy for Rinehart to get highly technical in explaining the differences between the sexes and how to better relate. I also got the sense that she is qualified to handle that technical conversation. But she successfully avoided that trap.Most books that deal with the relationships between men and women only consider the marriage (or at least unmarried romantic) relationships. This book is about women understanding men. She applies these principles to husbands, sons, brothers, and other male/female relationships.At the back of the book is the Relational Genius Guide. This is a series of chapter by chapter questions. To me, they seem especially good for groups of women to discuss. The questions appear to be well thought out and well written, leading to fruitful discussion.As a man reading a relationship book written for women, I have to say it was reasonably accurate in its descriptions of how men think. I would definitely recommend this book.More information about Whats He Really Thinking can be found at Thomas Nelsons product page. I am a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for What's He Really Thinking?: How to Be a Relational Genius with the Man in Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Do you wonder what makes men tick?Are you frustrated when your husband just doesnt seem to hear you?Do you realize that most men have hidden pain and fears that are never shared with anyone?Do you want to know how to motivate men to make changes?Do you want to become a relational genius with the men who matter in your life?Whats He Really Thinking? is a in-depth look into the world of men. Paula Rinehart, a professional counselor, has spent years listening to the thoughts and fears of men. The conclusions she has drawn from both her experience and from Biblical truth are not ones that are typically discussed or revealed in the literature, but ring very true nonetheless. As I read the book, I found myself frequently stopping to ponder the ideas outlined. I made connections between what the author was expressing and the experiences I have had. I found new ideas for better relating to the men in my life. This is a book that I will definitely come back to and read again.I found this to be one of the most thought-provoking books I have read in a long time. If you want to better understand your husbands, brothers, sons, and male friends, you will find Whats He Really Thinking? to be a valuable aid.This book was reviewed under Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program. http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>