Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women

Thomas Nelson Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women

Cancer can't be explained away. No amount of Christian clichés will decrease its power. Enter Praying Through Cancer, a daily devotional written specifically for cancer patients by cancer patients with insight, wisdom, and clarity found only through personal trial. Even with cancer, an uncertain future, and a complete lack of control it is possible to experience the grace and provision of Christ's love. The focus of each daily devotional is prayer---personal encounters with God---where fears and anger are transformed into confident expectation and pure worship. You'll feel as though you are meeting kindred spirits, old friends who will come alongside you in your journey, encouraging you and understanding what no one else can. Contributors include Kay Warren, Pat Palau, Barbara Johnson, Joyce Wright, and many more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Review 1 for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
MamaGator
Location:West Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a dear friend. It was a way to open the communication between us about the Lord while she was facing a serious challenge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best book out there for women with cancer

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
bestillgirl
Location:Westlake Village, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a woman living with cancer and having a new cancer ministry as a result, I give this book as a gift to every woman I meet who also has cancer. Each page brings me tremendous peace and hope knowing that God is on this journey with us. I pray it does the same for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Location:Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing help throughout my current journey battling cancer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great help and source of strength.

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pugs
Location:Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only wish I had had this resource when my best friend was diagnosed with lung cancer; I know she would have found it a blessing. I am grateful that I was able to share it with another friend who has cancer as well as her daughter-in-law.
I especially like the Bible quotes.
I am grateful that I found this for myself and my friends,
Elaine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A blessing to cancer warriors!

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
BelieverLynn
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I purchased this devotional book! I was searching for "something" in the early testing days when the word cancer was first uttered to help focus my mind and heart on God during this crisis. This book has exceeded my expectations! I feel as if it is a life line that is tethering me to God as I and my family travel through this disease. The short devotionals are well written and gives words to where my heart is, and the WORD to what God wants to say to me. My husband and I share the devotion together daily as we walk through my Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma to Christ's cure. It is one of the blessings from God in thenmidst of trials.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent reading and personable.

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
angelsdelight
Location:Rockledge, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I opened the book and read the first days writting, that was me, someone else had felt the same way I am. Got to the next days reading and again it was all for me. This has
continued through every reading. I am thinking of buying more and donating them to cancer support groups. I have 6 months to walk with treatment with and this book will be with me the whole way no matter how many times I read it.
LOVE IT!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paula Shell
I purchased this book for a close friend that is going through chemo and radiation. She called me and thanked me for the book after she received it in the mail. A week later she called and thanked me again stating that so many of the entries described what she was going through physically and mentally. She said some she reads over and over because of the comfort it gives her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa Harris
I was diagnosed with Ovarian Cancer November 2008, just 8 weeks after my 4 year old was diagnosed with kidney cancer. This devotion was my constant companion going through chemo. It offered such inspiration and hope!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jacqueline Vartanian
I was diagnosed with lymphoma 10 years ago and have been fighting that cancer when last year I also developed kidney cancer. I have always prayed and kept myself close to our Lord but this book added so much more insight to my prayers. It brought me great comfort and understanding and I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deb
This book was recommended to me after I had completed my cancer treatment, but I wish I had been able to use it as it is intended--as a devotional from day 1 of treament. I just gave it to a friend who was newly diagnosed and she is finding it encouraging and helpful. The book has a good blend of practical tips, humor and uplifting stories, but most importantly, daily reminders that God is present and at work in our lives even in the midst of the most difficult health situation you've ever had to face.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joan Green
There is something for every emotion in this book of devotions as you go through the journey of cancer treatment. I have read through it three times and it has been a blessing every time. One of the stories in it was even an inspiration for a presentation I did in Chapel at the school where I teach third grade.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barb Miller
I gave a copy of this book to my aunt who has peritoneal cancer and bought a copy of it for myself to read along with her in 90 days. She loved the book so much that she read it straight through in 2 days and is passing it along to another friend of hers with cancer! The stories are so uplifting, given that they are told by women who dealt with cancer themselves on a personal level. The prayers are heartfelt and the Biblical resources, inspiring. I'm so glad that I bought this book and would recommend it to anyone who is either going through cancer or knows someone else who is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marcia Mouzon
A wonderful Christ centered devotional for women diagnosed with cancer, and under treatment for the same. I use it as a ministry tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Praying Through Cancer: Set Your Heart Free from Fear--A 90-Day Devotional for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Donna
Hope and help for every day of the breast cancer journey. Newly diagnosed I use it every day as a devotional to keep my mind and heart in the right place. Buy it for friends with cancer...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.