Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Liberated Through Submission: God's Design for Freedom in all Relationships

Harvest House Publishers Liberated Through Submission: God's Design for Freedom in all Relationships

P.B. "Bunny" Wilson and her husband, Frank, conduct marriage and family seminars across America. In Liberated through Submission she talks about the freedom that comes through the seeming paradox of submission. Her exploration into this often misunderstood topic helps readers, both married and single, discover the surprising liberation that comes with submission. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Liberated Through Submission: God's Design for Freedom in all Relationships
Review 1 for Liberated Through Submission: God's Design for Freedom in all Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marcia Sloan
I highly recommend Bunny Wilson's book after listening to her testimony 'Liberating Through Submission' on a recent broadcast. As a 34 year old veteran of fleshing out these truths on what submission looks like on a wife in a difficult marriage, I can heartily say an AMEN to all Bunny discovered in understanding the principles clearly laid out in scripture in her own unique marriage situation! Her heart and ear was tuned in to cooperating with a Sovereign God, refusing to give in to her own need for control, consistently confessing each sin in marital communication issues, and pressing on to the bigger picture God designed a marriage to be. I am reaping and enjoying the delicious fruit of this difficult subject because now my husband and I both understand how it works!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Liberated Through Submission: God's Design for Freedom in all Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cliff Tucker
If you're not sure read it just to find out what she has to say about submission. Then you can decide for yourself. I liked how Bunny includes chapters for Men, Women and Singles and then questions EACH would ask. Submission allows God to have influence in other peoples lives THROUGH us. And isn't that what we're all about?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Liberated Through Submission: God's Design for Freedom in all Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
A Maxwell
By far the best book on this subject that I have ever read! This book is entertaining and convicting while conveying the truths of scripture. I have read it several times--for maintenance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Liberated Through Submission: God's Design for Freedom in all Relationships
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan
A nonsensical pitiful book, although written with wit and charming persuasion. What Ms. Wilson suggests approaches a brainwashing cult. Bible students should be careful when interpreting scripture, as text without context is pretext. Ms. Wilson suggests that total submission by the wife will lead to a home without any conflict....of course, why would there be any quarrel when the wife is a total yes-man with no input in the marriage! I can agree with her that total submission does not ALWAYS lead to oppression. Nevertheless, this same total submissiveness OFTEN leads to domination, suppression, oppression, and violence. For centuries, men have used these same bible references to subjugate women to an inferior status, much the same as the bible has been used erroneously to justify slavery and polygamy. This book looks very much like a Warren Jeffs cult handbook without the polygamy. God never intended for women to live a second class life to men, but for men and women to live as equals with love and respect for each other under Christ's leadership. A marriage in its truest sense is a partnership of equals, with neither person exercising dominion over the other, but with each encouraging, comforting, and helping the other. I cannot recommend this book for any educated woman.
-10points
1of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Liberated Through Submission: God's Design for Freedom in all Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karole (with a K)
I read this book when one of my Pastors suggested it during my engagement. It is a mostly humorous view of a very serious subject, and totally changed my way of thinking about that word, "submission." I now provide copies to my Pastor for other engaged couples. Should be required reading for those engaged, married AND single! It's one of my favorite books now.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Liberated Through Submission: God's Design for Freedom in all Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pamela Ellis
I'm really enjoying the book thus far. It's making me rethink some of my attitudes and actions.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Liberated Through Submission: God's Design for Freedom in all Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Montica Brown
This book brought me to tears during a certain section in the book. I have been a victim of listening and adhering to the stereotypes and the opinions of what submission entails. How many of our men today would truly be leaders of their homes if women could truly believe and receive the model God has given for submission. A good book for those who are truly seeking to be liberated in this area.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Liberated Through Submission: God's Design for Freedom in all Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Annette
This is an excellent book! It needs to be read by every wife to be! This is so well written and easy to understand! Purchase a copy for every female in your life you care about! You will not regret it, nor will she!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Liberated Through Submission: God's Design for Freedom in all Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ginger
I groaned when my minister's wife recommended this book but after reading it I smiled. Well written and easy to read yet packed with powerful truth. I highly recommend this for all who seek to grow in faith
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.