Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1

Thomas Nelson Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1

When Demetria Costanas finally confronts a fellow professor to tell him that their affair is over, it's more than the relationship that's finished. After a photo is delivered to the university president and her husband, she may lose her career and marriage, too! Will sorting things out with Christian counselor Sullivan Crisp help? 400 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.964 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Review 1 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book!!!

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Sullivan Crisp novels are some of my favorite books. This is the first in the series, and you will definitely want to continue with #2 and #3 after reading this. Many twists and turns throughout the book, but God's redemptive work always shines through! Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Guaranteed, you will need a handkerchief.

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phone Tree Edifier
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
Healing Stones is a story of heartbreak, healing, and redemption. As you are drawn into the lives of Demitria and Dr. Crisp, you will learn things about yourself or perhaps someone you know. Guaranteed, you will need a handkerchief for this one.
Phone Tree Rating: 5/5 Stars *****
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Avid Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have thoroughly enjoyed all in this series; can't wait for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kameki Wells
This book is a must read! It was so captivating that I read it in 1 weekend! It is very well written and the ending was great. This book brings to light what Jesus said,"He that is without sin, let him cast the first stone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa
What an awesome book!! A definite 5 star book in my opinion!! I enjoyed reading of a woman who made mistakes (which we all do) and took full responsibility to change her life and make it right again with the Lord and her family. Sin is sin..and it made me think twice of times when I've thought one sin worse than another. ALL sin grieves the Lord..yet he offers his priceless forgiveness as we repent before him...He wipes the slate clean. Very powerful book...it will make you think!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
WOW. I have to say it again: WOW. Healing Stones wins the award for the most profound book I've read this year. At first, I had a love-hate relationship with it, simply because I relate so well to Demitria, and what happened to her broke my heart. I honestly thought I'd end up sobbing on the pages. But then, as her healing began, I couldn't put this one down. Demi, Sully, Jayne, Audrey, Rich...all the characters are wonderful, even those who are "villains." And the authors did a fabulous job of painting Christians who are less than wonderful in Estes and St. Claire. I really hated those two, but could kinda see where they were coming from too, which made them great three-dimensional antagonists. The authors are also superb at language and description, as well as plot twists. There was one where, a la Sullivan Crisp, I flopped back on my bed and screamed, "HOLY CROW!" I probably won't read this again for awhile because it's a ton to digest, but I'll tell everyone else the truth: READ THIS. I know you'll love it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sherry Smith
This book is so good you will never want to put it down. Thanks for real life reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julie Jezowski
I could hardly put this book down. It wasexcellent. Looking forward to reading the second one in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joan Mettler
Terrific story. I loved the way she learned to take her power back and show her family members and everyone else involved how she expected to be treated; that she had made a huge horrible mistake but she was not going to be kicked around the block FOR THE REST OF HER LIFE because of it. It has also taught ME to give more grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2009
This book was not what I expected. It pretty much broke every stereotype of Christian fiction in the first few chapters. This book is not your typical Christian fiction novel. The story is in your face, makes you uncomfortable, and really gets to you. It's not all happily ever after, perfect little Christian family. This book portrays real people in real life situations. It that shows that not everyone is perfect but that we all have been given a second chance in our lives. This is how I feel all Christian books should be. HIGHLY recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynda Hoagland
This book was amazing! The authors captured the emotions of the characters so well, and I believe their portrayal of adultery, its consequences and God's grace will bring many readers healing and a better understanding of God's forgiveness. It is very well written and I could hardly put it down. I liked it so much that I have already bought the second book in the series, and I have purchased the set as Christmas gifts for several friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susie Wimmer
Excellent writing and compelling story line. Honestly a 400 page book would normally overwhelm me at first sight. This however, is one you won't want to put down. Not only is there a great true to life story here, but there remains multiple opportunities for applying what you learn here to your own life or to help guide someone you know. CAN'T WAIT for the next one...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Helen I. Boucher
Having been an avid reader my whole life, I have enjoyed Christian fiction since I was introduced to the genre by a close friend. My #1 favorite of all times is Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. However, I now have to rate Healing Stones a close 2nd, which is saying a LOT! I have read it twice already. It is a very poignant touching story. I am looking forward to more in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenda
This was a wonderful book. It is a true page turner and one you shouldn't begin too late in the day. You will not want to put it down. The authors remind us of just how gracious, merciful and good God is. I loved Dr. Crisp and Ethan. It was funny, I was on Demetria's side from the beginning. Though I did not share her experience I shared in her pain. A must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
sher
Words fail. Moved beyond my ability to convey. A story perfectly woven, perfectly told of the imperfect nature of us mortals and the perfect love of God. That He is obsessed with our happiness and obsessed with our redemption when we fail, our peace when we do what passes for our best - an amazing tale of God's love. Richly layered and thoughtfully textured - this book definitely belongs on the required reading list of any Christ-centered journey inward. I pray that it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Norfrey
I bought this book as a gift for my friend who is a Christian therapist. However, I had to read it myself before I gave it to her, and for those few days, I could not put it down. The combination of real emotions, our human sinful condition and the grace of God is well-balanced. The story line is realistic and has several twists and turns to keep the reader on the edge of one's seat. The ending was so exciting! Looking forward to the next installments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michaell Jamison
I can't pick one favorite thing about this book, it was riveting from the first page. The message of the power of God's redemption for everyone from anything is spellbinding in how it's presented in the novel. Many times I ask myself "should I waste my time on Christian fiction", I should be reading things that deepen my faith and walk with God. The answer to that question is a resounding YES! This story is capable of finding us where we live, in the problems and trails we face daily in our lives and the lives of the people we come into contact with. Read this book - you will be blessed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Darlene
A detailed, authentic exploration of christian conflict and resolution that is so realistic yet not predictable, you are drawn into each character and rivoted to every page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jen B.
This book was fantastic! I couldn't put it down and wanted to keep reading even when I was tired and had to go to sleep. When the book was over, I hollered "NO" because I wanted MORE! I wanted to know what happened to the characters after the last page. They were so real, so deep and so relatable. I found myself invested in them, even one I never thought I could - Demetria, who cheated. Even until the last chapter, there are suprises you don't expect. I recommend this book to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Cole
I loved this book! I even recommended it to all the women in my Bible study. I've been in counseling at various times in my life and always felt uncomfortable for the need to go. This story was beautiful in the way that Demi and Sullivan interacted. Seeing her recover from all she went through was so encouraging. His ability to help her when he had his own issues to deal with... The gift she had with ministering to her daughter and the pregnant girl was probably my favorite part to read. The little twist that was added about the way Mickey had such compassion for Demi but none for her own daughter made that part seem so authentic. Isn't that just the way we can be, a contradiction in terms? I am thrilled to know that there will be more books about Sullivan.Congratulations on a wonderful story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>