Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy

Harvest House Publishers Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy

In Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy, licensed clinical social counselor Leslie Vernick reveals the secret to true happiness. It is not found in changing your circumstances but in developing a new perspective! Her practical strategies will help you determine why you're unhappy and show you God's plan for well-being. You'll learn to make good choices, create healthy habits, and embrace godly attributes in relationships. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.871 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Review 1 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet B. Wojnaroski
In her newest book, Leslie Vernick simply and compellingly helps us understand how to confront the demands of life with the promises of scripture. To do so she takes up-to-date psychology, tests its truth and authenticity against Scripture and spits it out in understandable prose and simple, but powerful questions and exercises.I recommend this book for Bible Studies and general personal reading. all of the relevant data in a meaningful relationship
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Riley
Happiness is a choice. Leslie shows us how to climb out of our pit of dispair. She uses practical & biblical sound advise to direct us to inner peace and happiness. She shows us how happiness is a chosen state of mind, not a result of circumstances. We can Choose to Be Happy! First by redirecting our negative self-centered focus to... seeing ourselves through God's eyes. God made us who we are. We are his perfect creation and he loves us! inspite of our faults! Happiness is knowing we are on his team...resting under his protection and his direction. And knowing that He put us here in our (good or bad) situation for a purpose. Thank you, Leslie, for impowering us to choose HAPPINESS! It's where I rather be.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
tracy
Wonderful book. Not only is Leslie's advice sound and biblical but it is practical and easily applied to everyday life. I read the book anticipating to use it in counseling and teaching but found it very thought provoking for my own spiritual state of mind and happiness level. Well worth your time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hannah
I greatly enjoyed Mrs. Vernick's latest book Lord, I just want to be happy. Leslie writes in a way that is easy to understand and motivating for change at the same time. She makes understanding spiritual growth and spiritual disciplines simple. One of my favorite quotes from her book states that "Happiness isn't about feeling fabulous and never feeling pain. It's about feeling pain and finding purpose. It's about experiencing joy, hope, love, and peace in the midst of our tears." Lord, I just want to be happy is practical, encouraging and hopeful!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ruth Shuck
As a pastor's wife I encounter many woman who are looking for freedom to enjoy life despite whatever difficult circumstances they are experiencing. In her book Lord I Just Want to Be Happy, Leslie Vernick offers practical and effictive biblical steps to get out of the cycle of unhappiness. Through the process of coming to a clear understanding of what makes us unhappy and the "how to" of overcoming these obstacles. She shares with us some of the skills necessary in order to retrain our thinking from a self-focus to God-focused mentality. Through practical daily application of Scripture we are given just the encouragment and skills necessary to "be happy". I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
C Martin
When I was first contemplating reading this book, I was a little concerned with the title. Would this book be another fluffy book with a rather self-centered bent? Having read previous books by Leslie Vernick, the answer was as expected.....NO......NO FLUFF!!! It is an excellent book that explores the causes and effects of happiness and unhappiness through the lens of the Bible. It also provides practical means for working your way through your unhappiness, which makes it a book to keep on your shelf for further reference when unhappiness hits. Thank you, Leslie Vernick, for a wonderful tool to a godlier life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2009
This is a must read for anyone who has lost joy in their heart, one who is deeply searching for real happiness. Leslie shows us in her book, "Lord, I just want to be happy", just how to find that rich joy again after hurt, after loss, and depression. This is one of those great books that will set you free from searching in all the wrong places for happiness, or for trying to hide your pain. Leslie brings us through step by step in how to reach out to the Lord, how to let go and let God, and gives us insight on gaining strength from being so weak from the pain of heartache. She shows us how to move on from yesterday and gives us the tools we need to seek tomorrow with a new joy in our hearts. I really enjoyed reading this book. It was one that spoke to my heart, words everyone needs to hear at some point in their lives. Tragedy touches us all at one time or another, this is a great gift for someone going through pain and seeking their way out. Although our circumstances may not change we can find joy in every minute we take our eyes off us and our circumstances and place them on the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
tpkeith
Readers will be so encouraged and uplifted when completing this book. Vernick points out simple but profound processes to put into practice to develop a different perspective in life. Her wisdom and personal experiences help the reader realize there is hope for happiness. Well worth the read! Intend to read it again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Shone
Leslie writes in a way that speaks to everyone. She gives such practical advise easy to understand and implement in your life. She starts by addressing troublesome attitudes and wrong thinking, gives applicable scripture and follows it up with real life examples to ensure complete comprehension of problem thinking, attitudes, actions and step by step remedies to make difficult changes. This would be a book to refer to often. It would be a great book to give to someone who is struggling and stuck.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vida Ursic
A must read for anyone who knows they need to think life out and this will be your lst counseling session for $12.99 and maybe the only you need. Outstanding/authentic writing that ANYONE can be counseled/recognizing/choosing/developing/transforming and living intentional. loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bev Christensen
This book is for anyone who desires true happiness. We often substitute things that don't really deliver in our search to be happy. Leslie helps us look at our lives and enables us to see why the things we might be looking to to provide OUR happiness often fail us. A tough topic handled in a very insightful way. A must read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mark Biehl
Lord, I Just Want to be Happy effectively defines and addresses the core issues of unhappiness. Leslie Vernick first accurately diagnoses why we are so often chronically unhappy, prescribes the effective longterm treatment for our unhappiness, and forges a plan for "practicing happiness." I found this a very "hands-on" book complete with countless real life examples of individuals struggling to find pleasure and contentment in their daily lives. The problem was not their lives, it was their self-created expectations for their lives. Verner reminds us that even in the most severe, difficult or tragic situation there is one thing that can always remain in our control ... our attitude. As a licensed social worker and private counselor in a Philadelphia surburb, Vernick draws many experiences and examples from women she counsels. While everyone will discover truths about themselves through this book, it will likely have its greatest appeal among women, especially suburban upper middle class women as they will most easily identify with many of the illustrations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol B.
WOW! Leslie Vernick has done it again. Her new book "Lord, I Just Want to be Happy" is a wonderful read. I couldn't put it down once I started reading and I personally found her book to be so helpful & refreshing to me. Leslie has a wonderful way of communicating truth and she makes it very clear what steps one needs to take in order to be a happier and more content person. Anyone wanting contentment and more happiness in their life must read this book. I also love the Questions for Thoughts and Discussions Leslie lists at the end of each chapter which makes it great for small groups. I plan on using this book at our Ladies Bible Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
D.Wilson
Thoughtfully and incitefully written. It stopped and made me think so many times. There is alot of practical material in each chapter and things I did not think I needed to learn, was shown to me in a whole new light. This book is a great read for everyone, even if you think your happy already. Thanks Leslie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Faunce
Who doesn't want to be happy? I found the book excellent to read personally and think it would be a great tool for groups formally or informally to discuss each chapter. I especially enjoyed "Part Three: Practicing Happiness. The questions and scripture references that go along with each chapter re inforce the learning and concepts much clearer than if I just kept reading and didn't take the time to look up the verses and ponder what God's word has to say about the topic. There is a lot of information in this book and definitely worth a second and third read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ginny Westover
The only unhappy part of reading this book was closing the cover on the final page. Flowing with the ease of a conversation with a wise, trusted friend, each chapter is filled with poignant illustrations, practical help and penetrating principles from scripture that encourage and guide the reader into a richer relationship with Jesus. Having read some of Leslie's other books, I expected to learn important truths about myself, my choices and God - specifically, in this case, how each related to being happy. What I never expected was learning how to make lemonade while controlling an elephant or the happy changes that result from putting that knowledge into practice. Read this book - you'll be happy you did!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Henning
Leslie Vernick is very interesting to read with personal illustrations as well as stories from clients. The book is thus easier to apply to our own lives. She begins the book with the thought that holy lives should also be happy lives. Happiness is due in large part to the choices and responses we make on a daily basis. She talks very practically about how we must choose to keep our minds focused on God and His good purposes for our lives; must choose to serve others; must choose to replace negative thoughts with positive ones; must choose to correct areas in our lives that need to change; must choose to be grateful. She expands on these areas and many more (prayer, the Cross, fasting, solitude, meditation, etc.). I highly recommend the book--I like to mark in the books I'm reading and this one is full of marks! The book has challenged me especially with the thought-provoking questions at the end of each chapter (would be a great book to use in small group settings). I plan to order several copies as gifts!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wendy
Don't pick up this book if you think this is going to be a "quick fix/feel good" kind of read. This book is in-depth and focuses on God--not on our temporal happiness. And to accomplish the type of happiness that Leslie is describing will take work, which makes the end of the chapter reflective questions so helpful.Vernick is an excellent writer and she must be an awesome therapist. While reading this, I often thought that she was in the room w/me coaching me to change my negative thought patterns, to be more grateful, and to embrace (and) my God-given talents.The only negative is the title. Lord, I want to be happy, sounds so "Jabez Prayer," and will entice readers to pick it up for making themselves feel better through traditional consumerism and self-centeredness. Perhaps a better title would be "Lord, teach me to have joy and contentedness in my life."Overall, I would recommend this book, especially if you're a pessimistic person, like I am. It'll give you tools to change your perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Misti
I just finished reading "Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy" by Leslie Vernick. I have heard Leslie on radio programs but never had the pleasure of reading any of her books. Every chapter is full of Biblical wisdom and insight. The way this book is written makes you feel like Leslie and God really want to help you out of your pit of dispair. I rcommend this book for everyone. If you have ever been unhappy or ever will be unhappy you should read this boook. That's everyone. The steps in this book can be used daily. The study guide at the end of each chapter make it great for personal growth or group study. I know this book will be a great blessing to anyone who applies these concepts to their life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet Vincent
I loved this book. It's a must have for every home library. The book is encouraging and interesting to read. The changes we may need to make are not so difficult. The questions and discussion at the end of each chapter make it great for a Book Club or Bible Study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>