Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984

This Bible is patterned after the Willow Creek model of ministry, intended for those in the investigative stage of their spiritual journey. Its "seeker-sensitive" approach also benefits new believers. In-text notes and insights draw the reader into the message and point the way to a relationship with Jesus.

  • 9 point text
  • Single-column format
  • Book Introductions and Outlines
  • Translation and textual notes
  • Over 450 icon-tagged information windows lead you through Bible passages covering six important themes Discovering God, Reasons to Believe, Addressing Questions, Knowing Yourself, Strengthening Relationships, and Managing Resources
  • Introductory articles define key concepts involved in being a spiritually curious seeker
  • "Five Alive" reading plan cover the books of Genesis, Deuteronomy, John, Acts, and Romans, providing you with extra notes and insights on the key messages of the Bible
  • "Where to Find It" lists the Bible's most familiar events and their locations
  • Table of Weights and Measures
  • Subject Index
  • NIV Dictionary-Concordance
  • Blank pages for notes in the back
  • 5 1/2" x 8 1/2" x 1 1/2"
  • Softcover
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Review 1 for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The journey of your life is about to begin!

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jess
Location:Sweden
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent Bible! Easily read information about Gods will and Christian living and interesting insights on everyday life today. Highly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has great real day explanations

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
SCooke
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome for the whole family! Takes the Word from the Bible and gives you real day explanations to understand what is being told. Would recommend it highly!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara Mullaley
I bought this Bible last week because of the price. It's a great price for such a large Bible.
But I see this is so much more. The Bible is loaded with study tools. That anyone can understand. The text is a little small, wish it came in Large Print. But that is only a minor set back.
This Bible is great for the New Christian, as well as the old.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good bible for seekers to begin their journey

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
fatch
Location:Bernville, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bible is a very good tool to have on hand to help the new believer. Many of the questions seekers are asking are answered through the helpful sections of this bible. It helps the more mature Christian come back to basics to intrigue and encourage new believers. Often times when we understand things we have trouble relating to those who have not been convicted or do not understand. This can be very helpful for those times.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Clark
This is a gift for my son, but I looked through it and found it to be very easily understood with helpful notes. I'd recommend it to seekers, baby Christians and even mature Christians!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bren
A Great Bible for the New Christian as well as the Seasoned Christian. The Dictionary-Concordance is most helpful to have at your fingertips. The "Where to find it" helps one to find familiar events and their locations in a matter of seconds. I bought Three to hand out as gifts,
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rosie Blaedon
Our Church uses the Willow Creek Bible for our jail ministry. After passing out hundreds of inexpensive Bibles in small print we decided to make an investment in passing out this teaching Bible. Great for the new believer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janicka N.
I purchased 10 of these Bibles to donate to a community service organization in Camden, NJ. It's excellent for someone who wants to read the Bible and not feel intimidated. This Bible has additional articles and notes to help a novice or intermediate learner of the Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan
I really like this Bible because of the various commentaries throughout. I think they help a "seeker" or new Christian understand Scripture better. The following are some of the commentary headings: Strengthening Relationships, Addressing Questions, Discovering God, Knowing Yourself, Managing Resources, Reasons to Believe. I find these commentaries enhance the reader's comprehension of God's Word. There is an introduction for each book that includes the central ideas, an outline, who the author is & "The Bottom Line" (describing the overall theme of the book). Plus, some of the books have a "story" relating someone's life experience or a well-known/common situation to the main message of the book. I have found this Bible to be well worth the price. I order at least 5 of these at a time because they're a great tool. I've always got one in my vehicle, so that as I go about my day, sharing my testimony (even when my hygienist is cleaning my teeth!), I can give "The Journey" to a needy person - someone separated from God but who would like to know more about Jesus Christ. God's Word shall not return unto Him void. (Is. 55:11).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sande Lofberg
Bought this for a young believer who is reading it hours every day. Great questions and comments with the ease of understanding basic biblical foundations. incredible value for a beginning study Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Margaret Taylor
I have used this Bible previously in a homegroup and with members of my family and with people who want to understand more about Christianity in a non threatening way. It is helpful for those who have no Christian background or want to grow in Christ. Many of their questions are answered as we work through the studys, the little boxes answer their questions which leaves time to carry on reading and studying the scriptures together. There is also great encouragement to read the Bible for themselves. This copy I bought as a gift for someone who is thinking about religion! I do not live in the same city but i believe there is power in the word. I recommended it wholeheartedly. Hebrews 13 v21 Margaret Taylor England.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeff Sexton
Loved it. Met the needs we had as a church. We want to give a good Bible away to any who are in need of one. Plus the price was right.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2005
Customer Avatar
Amanda S Baisey
This is a great study Bible you can get highlighters that do not bleed through the pages.Hi Liter Glide Stick.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The NIV Journey Bible, softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2000
Customer Avatar
Pam Aird
I have given the previous printings of this study Bible to a number of people and it was enjoyed by all. However, I do have a concern regarding this printing - the paper does not allow one to use a highlighter as it bleeds through not only one page but several. A study bible should be "usable." This one is not. The contents are great the product is cheep.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.