Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer

Thomas Nelson Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer

Prayer is one of the most important practices of Christian life, but also one of the most difficult. Ken Wilson thinks it doesn't have to be that way. In Mystically Wired he shares insights in faith and science to show you how you and your brain are designed to communicate with God. You'll discover practical and inspiring ways to go deeper in prayer and open your eyes to God's presence wherever you are.
Average Customer Rating:
3.461 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
0
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer
Review 1 for Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is written in a very easy to understand

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Loco9090
Location:MS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book helps you to understand how prayer works, and why it is important.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Prayer Handbook

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Danielle A
Location:Tyngsboro, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently read the book "Mystically Wired" by Ken Wilson and was pleasantly surprised. It's not often that you are able to find a book that takes prayer and makes it something completely approachable. Prayer is something that most people are intimidated by, so by making it approachable Wilson does something powerful for millions of people looking to get closer to God.
Wilson breaks the book into what I think are two basic sections: how God wired us to pray and relate to him, and then how we can actually go about doing that. The way that he breaks this down is key I think - first understand how it works, then understand how to make it work. Since this is a basic approach to most things that we encounter and tackle in our daily lives, it makes coming to God in prayer a completely realistic thing for someone who may have previously been nervous, intimidated, or just avoided prayer thinking it's too hard. By demonstrating that we're all wired to pray, explaining that we're all uniquely wired, and giving several practical ways to step into the shallow end of the "prayer pool", Wilson removes the barriers that most people have to engaging with God in prayer.
I was truly amazed by how incredibly practical this book was. There were several points at which I agreed with the author, appreciated his challenges, and felt encouraged to take simple steps to come to God in prayer. As someone who found my faith relatively recently, prayer is not always something that comes naturally to me. What Wilson does that I really appreciated was recognize that a lot of people are coming from this position of discomfort and present ways to get past and challenge those barriers. The thing that Wilson does that I found really handy was that he not only give several steps and tools with which to approach God in prayer; at the end of the book he provides an appendix of 10 steps for the reader to use as an easy reference. A month from now I won't remember every single thing that he spelled out in the book, but having an appendix certainly helps with that issue.
Something that may turn a person off to this book is that in the first chapter or two he heavily references the mystics in his discussion of how we are wired to pray. A lot of people may be turned off by this, but I would encourage anyone deciding to read this book to be patient with Wilson as his points are incredibly relevant if you hear him out with an open mind. I personally don't have any problem with the concept of mystics and mysticism, but I understand where this may be a put-off to some.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for practical tools and understanding when it comes to prayer. Again - I caution that some may be turned off by the first chapter or two, but I encourage anyone who gets this book to seriously get past that and hear out the author. His points are valid, they make sense, and the fact he offers simple things that we can do to become more engaged in prayer on increasingly deep levels is great. The reviews on the back of the book all basically state that this was the best book on prayer that they had ever read - and on a lot of levels I would agree. If you struggle with prayer or are just looking to explore new/deeper areas of prayer - get your hands on this book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice practise, too much theory

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was looking for a book to help me deepen my prayer life, so when I was given an opportunity to review this one, I jumped at it. It says “Mystically Wired is a practical guide to cooperating with your brain’s inate capacities in order to experience a richer, fuller prayer life. Your brain is wired and waiting to pray in new ways, enabled by a fresh understanding of some ancient prayer disciplines.”
Sounds good, doesn’t it?
I have to admit the book didn’t do a great deal for me. The second half had some useful prayer techniques; and they are summarised nicely in the annexure, which is very useful. However the first half was focused on convincing us that our brains are scientifically wired to respond to activities such as prayer in a certain way. It felt at time as if the writer was trying to convince me that prayer was “scientific” and that our religious response is in fact a physiological response to the meditative aspect.
This is not what the writer was getting at, as he has some very real spiritual insights. But it felt a little apologetic at times, as if prayer needed to be explained.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelamenter Smith
Mystically Wired is more than practical, it is a life application on prayer. It gives me a sense of feeling comfortable with saying my prayers. Praying should not be a challenge to us nor should we feel intimated, we should feel privileged to be able to pray. This book is a great asset in developing a prayer life, Ken Wilson mention that our brain is already wired, we just have to activate it by making time to pray continuously. Prayer is a key essential in developing a relationship with our Heavenly Father. I would definitely recommend this book and to read it thoroughly knowing that you will benefit from reading this great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda
The book divides neatly into two halves: the what & the how. In the first half, Wilson lays out his argument for why our brains are designed to pray. He talks at length about what we do when we pray-what we experience, where we "go", etc. While I thought he made interesting points, the style of the book got in the way of the message. Chapters are lengthy, but broken up by headings, sometimes as many as 2 or 3 separate "sections" in as many pages. Typically I encourage that as I think it helps readers track what the author is trying to convey. However, in the context of this book it was very distracting. It made the material seem disjointed. Every time another heading appeared, I felt as if I had to make a mental switch to a new topic. My issues with this part of the book weren't with the substance of what was being said, but with the style of the book itself. It read at times like a scholarly article, yet the "voice" would quickly switch to a personal, more conversational tone, which I felt was probably Wilson's most natural voice.The second half of the book is the "application" section - the "now what?" To be candid - this section saved the book. I felt like Wilson was in his element here, providing methods for putting into practice the concepts he had introduced. I ended up using nearly 50 little post-its in this section, flagging thoughts that jumped out at me as particularly insightful - sections on the importance of meditation and how to calm the seemingly incessant internal chatter in your head.While I'd say I enjoyed the message of the book the style was a hurdle that I couldn't ever entirely overcome. {Disclosure: I reviewed this book via Booksneeze, Thomas Nelson Publishers' blogger review program. Thomas Nelson provided me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an objective, honest review. All opinions are my own.}
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
blue raindrop
Mystically Wired by Ken Wilson is one of my favorite books that Ive read recently.The book is very conversational and easy to read, and won points with me early on by addressing the fact that sometimes prayer seems really hard, and sometimes we make it a lot harder than it needs to be because we live in a culture that doesnt particularly encourage experiences with the supernatural.It goes on in the first half of the book to talk about various things our brains do that lend themselves naturally towards prayer. Its explained well, in spite of being somewhat technical studies and such at times, and the book is well footnoted throughout to look into things more if you choose to see where hes getting it from.The second half of the book goes into practical things that you can try that might not be the most obvious methods of prayer as our society expects it. While most of these werent exactly new to me, it was really nice to see them explained a bit more as to the reasoning behind why they help.He does use the term meditate rather than calling it silent prayer or contemplative prayer, as well as using the term mystical instead of supernatural.. which along with at least one of his personal experiences mentioned may drive off some of the more conservative.But then, on the other hand, he also discusses using books of written prayers instead of focusing on spontaneous phrasing, and rituals of praying short prayers at certain hours of the day everyday. Personally, I know of a few people on the other end of the spectrum that would probably be just as critical of those methods, and the lack of mention of things like prayer languages.Overall, the book was really encouraging. It put things that I already knew a bit into words to explain them better than I ever could, and gives a nice boost of confidence in relaxing and remembering that prayer is something we were built to do.(Book was provided by Thomas Nelson in exchange for reviewing)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
I'm not finding this an easy review to write. Not because the book wasn't well done, it was very well written! I completely appreciate the different techniques that Wilson gives to help you better relax and concentrait while praying! My only problem is this, when Christ died on the cross, he freely gave us the gifts. While we have to accept them, there is no pattern or earning technique to achieve them. You have to be very careful while reading this book not to take a legalistic approach to putting into practice what he's saying. (not that I"m saying Ken wilson's book is legalistic, I don't think it is, he has the right heart behind it) Christ said "freely you have recieved, freely give" When God gives some one a revelation, there is no pattern for someone else to recieve that same revelation. For example when you can't follow steps 1 2 3 4 and you get the revelation. It doesn't work that way. That is my concern with this book. That people might use it in such a way.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carl S
I had a very hard time getting into this book. I was expecting something very profound that could be used to take ones prayer life to new levels. However, the first part of the book was very dry and focused too much on praying brain research for my taste. However, if you are interested in how thinking/praying effects brain function, it might be worth your time to read. Toward the end of the book there are some practical applications that I found helpful as far as approaching prayer, such as the use of prayer aids and the concept of praying at intervals. I think much of this information could be successfully used to get out of a prayer rut, or, as the author says, explore new realms of prayer. A lot of boring reading to get through for a little bit of insight. Just not my kind of book. I received this copy from Thomas Nelson in exchange for an impartial review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stacey
I received a copy of the book Mystically Wired, Exploring New Realms in Prayer by Ken Wilson for review recently and I was very excited about reading it. Mainly because I have a soft spot in my hearts for "Christian Mystics" (that's not a freaky thing, by the way, just a term) and I thought this book would maybe be a modern twist or an updated version of Christian Mysticism. I'm sorry to say that I was disappointed though! Ken Wilson focused a lot of attention (especially in the first part of the book) on how prayer affects our brains and such. I could see how this would be very interesting if you were into that sort of thing, but unfortunately I am not. I don't really need proof from brain scans that praying does something specifically. So I was a little bored with the first part of the book for that reason. However, there were several little nuggets that I picked up in the latter part of the book. Several practical prayer applications that were good. In fact, the best part of the book was the Appendix where he lists off a recap of sorts of his 10 practices (or ways) to explore through prayer. I think I could have just read that part and been blessed! Out of five stars I would give this book a 2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer D
In Mystically Wired, Pastor Ken Wilson attempts to unite current research with ancient prayer techniques. I enjoy new research and prayer, but I didn't enjoy this book as much as I wanted to. By writing as politically correct as possible, Wilson distances himself from mainstream Christianity and begins to discuss prayer abstractly, instead of as a conversation with God. I found it difficult to get into the book in the beginning due to my expectations for more in-depth research, which was mostly based off Why God Won't Go Away by Dr. Andrew Newberg, etc. Part 2 of the book contains the book's main strength, which are chapters full of prayer suggestions and anecdotes. Of particular interest are the chapters on remembrance and praying in small intervals instead of large chunks. Due to my hectic schedule as a young mom, I will probably try some of the techniques mentioned. Other parts I'm going to try to forget. This book would have merit for people stuck in a prayer rut or interested in starting a prayer life, but I can't recommend it as theologically sound or accessible. [Disclaimer: This book was provided to me by Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Booksneeze program in exchange for an honest review.]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Kerr
So, I didn't have any expectations of Mystically Wired by Ken Wilson when it came into my mailbox. It seemed interesting, but I also am skeptical about mysticism; especially when it's being discussed in a book. It just seems that the average author doesn't cover it in real-world terms or is too keen on proving that mysticism is part of Christianity to discuss it fully.In this book, Ken Wilson takes the time to explain mysticism and what it means, while claiming he doesn't advocate mysticism. This is confusing in the first place, but when he describes mystic experiences with his dead father and other situations, I don't take him very seriously. This walking contradiction took me awhile to get past.However, when I look past it, I see how Wilson is merely encouraging us to find that part of our lives. To see how God can fully, and really, move through his spirit. I appreciate most of what he said, but I also spent a lot of time confused. It's worth reading, though!This book was provided to me as a blogger to by Thomas Nelson publishers. They ask merely for my truthful opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill Colburn
Ken took a rather novel approach to prayer in this book. He reminds us that prayer is not difficult, it is simply a different way to have a conversation. As such God invites us to be willing to learn how to perceive him in a manner that is not readily familiar to us.On the other hand, references are made to various studies on the brain and presented as evidence that prayer really isn't so weird that it exists outside the realm of the common person. Something really does happen in the brain when folks prayer. In fact, it seems, we are all actually hard-wired to pray. In other words, as far as our brains are concerned there isn't anything to fear. It is ready and waiting. We may not have exercised this aspect of mind, but the evidence reveals that the structure for it is there if we are just willing to put it into practice.The author, masterfully leveraging science, explores the how to's of' prayer. He suggests ways to enter into the 'bliss' of a regular prayer life that work in harmony with our physiology, sharing his own journey of prayer along the way. His notion is that if we will give it a try, if we will work in harmony with our designe, we will actually find a life of prayer the lifestyle of choice. We've just, possibly, up to now, conceived of it as far more difficult than it really is. This is probably a consequence of Western culture.Wish you had a better prayer life? Wondering how to get started? Fearful you will be disappointed if nothing 'happens'? This is an excellent book to get started with. If you already enjoy a meaningful prayer life - this book will tweak your experience into the next level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mystically Wired: Exploring New Landscapes in Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
H G
Mystically Wired: Exploring New Realms in Prayer has been very thought provoking for me. It was very new and interesting to see a book that touches on both religion and science and how they can actually work together in many ways. The first part of the book really digs deep into that and it definitely makes for a fascinating read. It is certainly interesting to think about. I very much enjoy reading books that really make me think and ask questions. This book does that. I also really enjoyed the fact that the author shared his own experiences. It was interesting to read about his journey and experience with prayer. The second part of the book really touches on the act of prayer itself and how prayer is instinctual. A strong instinct and not just another thing that has to be done in our busy lives. The book explains that we really need to dedicate our time to prayer and have it become instinctual for us, and not become distracted by everything else in our busy lives. Overall, this was an interesting book with some great insights. A very thought provoking read at the very least.Mystically Wired: Exploring New Realms in Prayer was a gift from Thomas Nelson Publishers for which I am very grateful for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.