Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook

Howard Books Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook

Unearthing a lost memory may cause her to lose everything she holds dear. but could it also set her free?

Volunteer Bryn Hennesey was there at the Grove Street Homeless Shelter the night five heroic firefighters died at the scene. Among them was her husband, Adam.

Now a terrifying absence of memory has her wondering if she might, in some way, be responsible. Garrett Edmonds' wife, Molly, was the only female firefighter to perish in the blaze. He was supposed to protect the woman he loved.now she's the one who's died a hero. How can he go on in the face of such unbearable loss? And what started the fire that destroyed the dreams and futures of so many? Investigators are stumped. But someone knows the answer..

Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness, Dealing with Grief and so much more

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God always places a book in my hands just as I need it. I started this book right before my life was turned upside down. My husband and I began looking for a new church.
Even though no one died due to my troubles this book uplifted me.
Bryn did something very few people today would do and that was face up to her part in a tragedy. Most would have looked to have placed blame on others. Or let the fire department never have a clue to fire.
Sometimes walking the narrow road is very difficult but the truth will set you free.
I have not read one book by Deborah Raney that has not touched me in some way or other.
To lose one's spouse and others to die because of a careless mistake would be hard to get past. But we would be more careful in the future and have more compassion for others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very enjoyable

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Megan DiMaria
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Almost Forever is the story of a devastating tragedy that resulted in the death of five firefighters. The firefighters' families, as well as the woman whose negligence may have caused the disaster, must deal with the aftermath.
Raney's characters are rich and real. The struggles they face produce realistic responses. I connected with the characters to the extent that I teared up when they were facing difficulties and celebrated when they triumphed.
I discovered Deb Raney's books years ago, and I'll continue to be a fan. She knows how to deliver a wonderful story, always with an uplifting message. As usual, she didn't disappoint with the first installment of the Hanover Falls series. Can't wait to read the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn
When I open a book by Deborah Raney I expect several things. I expect to be drawn into the lives of the characters from the first page, travel a journey of faith and growth with them, get confused by a few twists and turns in the journey, and believe in the ending. Almost Forever delivered all I expected. The characters, Brynn Hennesey and Garrett Edmonds, lost their spouses in the same tragic fire. Mourning brings them together, friendship grows until secrets and the revelation of a horrible accident threaten to destroy the friendship and halt the healing. It is no wonder Deborah's books have won so many awards. This one will probably follow suit. Grab the book, a cozy blanket, and curl up for a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Meyers
Whenever Deborah Raney has a new release it is an auto-buy for me. Early this morning I finished her latest book, Almost Forever, which is part of her new series called Hanover Falls. I thoroughly enjoyed this read. In true Raney style the reader is taken deep into the characters until you feel every tug of grief, every fear, every joy that surprises in the midst of all the sadness. And, last night just as I was about to turn off the light, the tension amped up and there I sat reading until my eyelids refused to stay open. I finished the book over breakfast this morning. The story had a very satisfying ending with a strong spiritual arc.I highly recommend this book because Deb Raney continues to be an auto-buy for me. Hands down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
It's hard to rate this book. Good story line, good characters, but I was tempted to skip - and gave in to that temptation. I am glad I did; though I will go back at some time and re-read properly. I skipped because I had a hard time with some parts. And I skipped because of the character Garrett. He is a little 'off'. His reasons for not forgiving and then forgiving etc. are difficult to read and comprehend. I needed to know a little about the 'outcome' in his case.The reason I checked Ms. Raney's books today: I was looking for FOREVER AFTER. That must be #2 in this series and isn't out yet?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Jo Jenkins
The readers of Deb Raney's latest book, Almost Forever, should begin her story with rested eyes, a hanky, and lots of spare time. I slipped into this story on page one and could scarcely tear myself away until I had read the last page.Having survived an explosion in my youth, I read with trepidation about the five firefighters who died trying to save lives during a horrific explosion and fire at a homeless shelter. I cried, I stumbled, I fretted through vivid scenes as Bryn Hennesey, a volunteer at the center, learned of her firefighter-husband's death. It was then she realized she might have been responsible for the tragedy.Repressing her secret fear, Bryn lives with her loss as best she can, finding comfort in her growing friendship with Garrett Edmonds, a teacher whose firefighter wife also died in the fire. Bryn slowly rises from the dark sorrow of her loss. She misses her husband dreadfully, but sees shadows of hope in the light of her new affection for Garrett. But guilt gnaws its way to the surface of Bryn's heart. She makes the only decision she can make - confessing her possible responsibility in starting the fire - to the grieving families of fallen firefighters, to the police, and to Garrett Edmonds - the man she now cares for deeply. Deb continues to weave a heart-wrenching conclusion to the courageous choice Bryn makes, and the aftermath of her decision to trust her future to God. Bryn knows now that God alone can bring forgiveness and redemption to the heart.This beautifully-written story remains in the heart of the reader, compelling us to love fully, and to trust God even in life's most difficult circumstances. This wonderful story enriched my life as only a truly great story can.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Engstrom
This poignant story will grip you to tears, turn you to God and make you wish it would never end well, almost never. The author deals with death and destruction in such a sensitive way; yet, turns the tables to friendship and love when the reader least expects it. Its a story of love lost, love recaptured, and then love lost again almost forever when a devastating secret is revealed. The characters are nice, ordinary, down to earth people who deal with loss and pain and grief in diverse ways. Some bury it deep inside while others reach out to friends.Bryn and Garrett do both; traveling dangerously close to a commitment so strong it almost destroys them.Three of my favorite characters are bluff, wheelchair bound Charlie and the two canines, Boss and Sparky, who display true unconditional love for their humans and each other.Deb Raneys books always have stories of how humans recover and overcome, and Almost Forever is no exception. Its a must read thats nearly impossible to put down even when one is bleary-eyed from lack of sleep. I highly recommend this marvelous story that takes place in small town Hanover Falls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
drrr
Read this book and could not put it down! Plan to stay up reading because this is a wonderful story! The characters are real and I can't wait to see what happens next. Husband read this book and enjoyed the story, too. A favorite of Deb Raney's books! Can't wait for more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin Bayne
I couldn't put this book down. I received it in the mail a few days ago as a surprise from the publisher, and started reading because I have enjoyed other Deb Raney books. This story was compelling and based on something we can all relate to--causing others pain unintentionally. Ms. Raney took an idea that might have been too dark in another writer's hands and wrote a story brightened with hope and forgiveness. I will be watching for the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Penny
I have not read a Deb Raney book that I have not enjoyed and this one was not a disappointment. Interesting plot, likeable characters, etc. Great message about God's amazing grace in our lives and our need to depend on Him and not ourselves when trouble comes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2010
When two firefighters die, they leave Bryn Hennesey a widow and Garrett Edmonds a widower. These two turn to each other in their grief and form a friendship that helps them both in the healing process. But Bryn carries a dark secret that eats away at her heart and soul. Did she really do what she thinks she did to cause the fire, or was it just a dream? With hopes for the future destroyed, they must find a way to begin again, but when Bryn reveals her secret and confesses to accidentally setting the fire, Garrett faces the toughest test of his life as to whether or not he can forgive. Deb Raney has woven a story of love and death and love found again that captures the reader from the first page to the last. Fascinating secondary characters round out the cast for this gripping tale. Its one you dont want to miss from this talented author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Bryn Henneseys husband, Adam, and four other firefighters rush into a burning homeless shelter and never make it out. Five spouses are left to try and make an existence from the ashes of their old lives and loves. Bryns recovery is made even harder by her diminishing faith and a memory she cant quite bring to the surface.When she finally does remember, it could be the most costly memory of her lifein more ways than one.Garrett Edmonds lost his wife Molly in the same fire. When he and Bryn are thrown together by their loss and external circumstances surrounding them both, he finds himself drawn to the pretty widow. But when he discovers the secret Bryns been hiding even from herself, the knowledge could mean an end to their budding relationship.Can Bryn learn to trust God again? Can she accept His forgiveness and put her life in His hands? And will Garrett find his way around Bryns secret to the promise of a new beginning?Almost Forever tugs at the heartstrings with its poignant exploration of wrenching sorrow and unbearable guilt. It probes the difficult world of the homeless, and the controversial, financial and legal difficulties in keeping their shelters operational. Love and loss, hurt and healing, bad decisions and forgivenesseach has a place in Deborah Raneys newest contribution to the world of inspirational fiction. As always, she excels at hooking a reader, and weaves a subtle thread of spiritual wisdom into a wonderfully entertaining tale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
As we open the pages of the newest book by Deborah Raney we meet Bryn Hennesey. She is volunteering at the local home less shelter. But Bryn's husband Adam is not happy about her working there and finds her safety in danger. Bryn choose's to go without her Adam knowing, and on the night she is at the shelter a fire begins. Adam is a firefighter and is on the scene quickly. As the fire is burning out of control Bryn tries to stay out of sight so Adam doesn't see her, but in the flames of the night, Adam's life is taken along with his fellow firefighters, and Bryn is left with guilt and shame. She is also fighting to understand how the fire began. She can't remember if she blew the candle she had lit earlier out and it is taking her to places she doesn't want to go. The weight of her guilt brings her to being honest, as the local fire department is wanting to charge a home less man that they can't seem to find, Bryn finally realizes it was the candle. We watch Bryn as she grows, letting go of her pride and becoming this humble woman before God, growing in her relationship with Him, and also a friend, Garrett, who lost his wife Molly in the fire that dreadful night. They begin to share, and in this we see a beautiful relationship begin. There are so many different facets to this book. It was one I loved, and just enjoyed watching these characters grow and build. We find ourselves in Bryn's situation many times, not knowing if we left the coffee pot on, or a candle burning. Although disaster may not have come from our mistake, it could have, and through this book we not only gain wisdom, but learn the grace of forgiveness. This was a blessing to read, and one that you would also enjoy. Bryn has a passion for the home less, and we get to watch as God continues to use that passion to bring others to Him.This book was a gift by Glass Road Publishers for its review. robinsnest66.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet Thompson
Bryn Hennesey loves working at the Grove Street Homeless Shelter but her husband, Adam, doesnt want her there after one of the workers was attacked by a homeless person. Adam is a firefighter in their town of Hanover Falls. He works nights so Bryn has been secretly working at the shelter. On the night the shelter burned to the ground, Bryn was working. She is worried that Adam will see her when his station responds to the fire. She also is bothered by something else, something that haunts her. Bryn sees Adam go into the building, along with 4 other firefighters. Five heroic firefighters lost their lives that day, Adam among them. How can Bryn go on without her husband and how can she live with the haunting thought of what she may have done?Garret Edmonds wife, Molly, was the only female firefighter that died that day. He feels that its a husbands job to protect his wife. In his eyes, he failed miserably. The feelings of loss and guilt seem almost unbearable. How could God allow Molly to perish when they had only been married such a short time. They had their whole lives ahead of them.Bryn takes in the dog of one of the homeless men when he has to relocate to another shelter due to the fire. She is out trying to walk this dog when she runs into Garret. They become fast friends because of what they have both been through. Bryn and Garret find things getting closer between them when Bryn has a dream one night that confirms her worst fears. How can she face Garret or any of the surviving spouses? How can she face anyone with what she now knows?I really enjoyed Almost Forever! The characters were very believable and easy to identify with. Deborah shows that facing the truth and having faith in God and in yourself is the right way to go. The book was never preachy and I feel that Deborah got the spiritual message across perfectly! I highly recommend this book and Im eagerly awaiting the next in the Hanover Falls series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2010
I am a huge Deborah Raney fan and her latest book; ALMOST FOREVER The book portrayed Bryns guilt for the death of 5 firefighters with clarity and depth. Bryn Hennesey is a volunteer at the Grove Street Homeless Shelter in Hanover Falls. When the shelter catches on fire one night, killing five firefighters including Bryn's husband Adam, Bryn is left with sadness and guilt. "Almost forever" is a novel that explores honesty, faith, character, love and forgiveness. I believed all the motives behind the actions and loved the romance that was sprinkled through the story. Bryn Bry is very good friends with one of the shelters residents Charlie, he is a Vietnam veteran and in a wheel chair, she and Charlie was playing gin when the fire alarms went off. They were all to meet and wait in the parking lot until everyone was accounted for. As always the media with there camera were up in all the wives and husband of the Heros faces. They would no leave any of them alone as they tried to face who they had lost.Garrett Hammond's wife Molly was one of the Heroes in the in fire. The grieving Garrett turns to Bry for comfort. The pair realizes they have deep feelings for one another but something in her past may cause him to turn his back on her. The story line is embedded with many moral issues that will have readers reconsider their values, as respect and understanding of others are critical in any relationship.As I started to read this book another tragedy came to mind that is so near the same thing this story is about. CHARLESTON, S.C. - Fire swept through a furniture warehouse, collapsing its roof and killing nine firefighters inside the nations deadliest single disaster for firefighters since the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks. I live in SC so this book was really good read to me.This book was sent to me by Glass Roads publisher in order for me to post a review with no obligations for a postive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2010
It is no secret that I am a huge Deborah Raney fan and her latest book, ALMOST FOREVER does not disappoint. The story is about love, betrayal and guilt, all rolled up into one tension building story. What I loved so much about this story and all of Raneys books, are the redemptive themes. The book portrayed Bryns guilt for the death of 5 firefighters with clarity and depth. And the responses to lifes mistakes that ripple through others lives and just what happens when one careless action affects an entire town Reading this book was like coming home. The book deals with the human condition in a way that the reader actually feels their lives unfold. I believed all the motives behind the actions and loved the romance that was sprinkled through the story.It got tense about half way through the book and I was anxious for the characters and what would happen to them. It felt well researched and I loved every minute. Like being wrapped in a warm blanket, ALMOST FOREVER drew me in and tugged on my heart strings. A true keeper.This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the author for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Audrey Hebbert
Almost Forever is the first in the Hanover series. Did Bryn Hennesey forget to blow out that candle? Her husband wasn't supposed to be on duty the night of the fire, but she persuaded him to work so that she could volunteer at the homeless shelter. Perhaps her mind didn't remember such a routine act. Regardless, later that evening she stared at five shee-covered bodies of firefighters who died in a horrendous fire. One of them was her husbnad.The five widows band together to cope with the tragedy and make sense of their lives. Garrett and Bryn are drawn together until they find true romance, but isn't it just too soon? Regardless, the feelings between the two cannot be ignored. Nor can Bryn shush the haunting memory that could leave her holding the blame for the five deaths.Deb Raney and her husband live in their native Kansas, where she has produced award winning novels, beginning with the very first one.You'll like this story, whether you're 10 or 110. Sit back and enjoy.Review by Audrey Hebbert, M.A., author of Green Light Red Light
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Almost Forever: A Hanover Falls Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2010
I like most of Deb's books, but this one is very predictable and by times long-winded. It's a good read, but it doesn't belong to her best books on my list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.