Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson What Difference Do It Make?

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson What Difference Do It Make?

Art dealer Hall and homeless advocate Moore offer new reflections on what we can learn from reaching out to people not like us. Their thoughts on faith, friendship, reconciliation, compassion, and healing will touch your heart. Includes stories from folks impacted by Same Kind of Different As Me and samples of Denver's paintings. 224 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What Difference Do It Make?
Review 1 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I greatly enjoyed reading this book.

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
meanmrking
Location:Indianapolis, In
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a great follow up to Same Kind of Different as Me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Miss Muffet
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I loved the first book in the "series" "Same Kind of Different as Me". Therefore, I thought "What Difference Do it Make" would be just as good. It's not that it wasn't good, it's just that it didn't add much to the original book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Follow-up to "same kind of different as me"

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lindsay Mitchell
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book should be read, but only after reading the original as one would not understand what happened to make this book happen..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary A Brokamp
This book was a contnuation of the book "Same Kind of Difference as Me" and I found it to be quite interesting. It not only told more about the life of the authors it also had several short stories from other readers telling how the book helped to make a difference in their lives. I don't think anyone can read "What Difference Do It Make" witout feeling blessed for doing so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Blossom
Honesty is always the best policy so I will be honest: I had a very difficult time reading this book! This book is the sequel to the book Same Difference as Me, by the same authors; a book I have never even seen. Although there are catch ups, I still felt a little lost when they talked about something that had been made clear in the first book. I did/do like the book but it is just a little bit slower than I am used to.I am at a point in my spiritual life where I am only on the shore. Sometimes when I read a book meant to inspire, it makes me want to step back unto the shore because the writers are so gun ho that I feel inadequate! I didnt feel that with this book. It is inspiring. I found myself smiling many times without realizing it at first. I would recommend this to those that are in need of a little lift up, needing some motivation. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
D. L.
What Difference Do It Make? Ron Hall, Denver Moore and Lynn VincentI read this book having only ever seen the first one Same Different As Me, on the shelf. I came to it with no preconceived notions, or point of reference to any part of it. That being said, nor was I disappointed in what I encountered during the reading.Its more than a feel good book, or a look at us book What Difference invites us to take a look at our relationship, personally and corporately to the worlds lot around us. I was particularly taken with Rons challenge to Communities of Faith. To intentionally invest in the life of a homeless person for 30 days and together find ways to bring sustainable change into that individuals life.In a relationship that began because of the volunteer work that Deborah Hall was doing, Ron and Dever entered into a friendship most unlikely. I was, as I read about Deborah and the impact her life has made, reminded of Abigail in the Old Testament. It was through her actions that an entire army changed its plans. Although Deborahs Army was very different, the need to turn it around is very real.Denvers distinction between blessings that being giving something that acknowledges the individual as a real human with real needs, and helping getting into the pit and staying long enough to find a way out, struck a real chord with me. Living in a city with many homeless folks, it is too easy to get cynical and just walk on by. To be Jesus to a world that desperately needs hima good reminder and challenge.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
CanCan
Each chapter flip-flops between Ron Hall and Denver Moore, and is able to be digested on its own; the book isnt arranged chronologically and the stories arent even really connected.The writing style is rife with colloquial language and even a little bit bawdy at times, for a being the fruit of a Christian publishing house. I guess that is to help the reader relate to the humanity of the authors. For me, I found it a little uncomfortable.Many pages are given to Ron Halls account of his dysfunctional relationship with his father. I didnt really find this story to be redeeming, but Im not familiar with what was shared in the previous bookDenver Moore has an interesting life story and some inspiring quotes.Now, Denver Moore has lots of wisdom to share as an artist (some of his paintings appear in the book..he began painting at age sixty-five before he learned to read and write two years later), evangelist, and homeless advocate.What I found most inspiring was accounts of the practical action taken by other people who reached out to the less fortunate/homeless around them after reading Same Kind of Different as Me.Since I have lived for a long time outside of the US, in developing countries, I have given a lot of thought about what kind of charity works for the poor, and what kind of charity is more of a benefit to the giver. To be sure, it is a blessing to the homeless when they see people who care. But to really help, youve got to get down in the pit with people and stay with them until they find the strength to get on your shoulders and climb out.- Ron Hall, What Difference Do It Make?There are some insightful nuggets of wisdom to be found in this book. If you enjoy Southern people, biographies, and want to be challenged to do more for others, What Difference Do It Make?: Stories of Hope and Healing is a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Anderson
I wish I had read, "Same Kind of Different as Me" before reading "What Difference do it Make?" I was confused reading the chapters; but found it easy to stop and start back between chapters. The message to help the homeless was delivered, loud and clear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gail Rosenbaum
I loved the first book and couldn't wait to read this one. I read it in a couple of days and was not at all disappointed. Many of my friends and family are getting it for Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melissa Carlson
What Difference Do It Make? is the follow-up to the New York Times bestseller, Same Kind of Different as Me. It offers true stories of hope, healing, faith, friendship and compassion. These anecdotal stories intend to inspire the readers to make a difference in the world. The book also includes full-page color samples of Denvers paintings.The book claims that it is not necessary to have read the first book before reading this one. While I enjoyed reading the stories in the book, I continued to feel a disconnection, like I was missing something. There are passages from Same Kind of Different as Me throughout the book. The authors purpose was to include enough of that story to catch you up. However, to me, it seemed to be used as filler in order to quickly market another book. I am not claiming that this was the motivation of the authors. I am simply stating my impression of the book.With that being said, I still liked the book and found it to be enjoyable and inspiring to read. One of my favorite stories that Ron tells is about the marital struggle between he and his wife, Deborah. I love his authenticity and vulnerability in sharing something painful and very personal. Deborah wanting to know his heart resonated with me. I highly recommend this book. However, I wish I had read the first book prior to reading this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denise Beadle
When I ordered my copy of "What difference do it make?" I had no idea what would lie in store for me. Two months and 200 pages later, I sit here slightly stunned, feeling as if there is so much I should be doing, and wondering how I can make it all come together.This slim, simple volume has sat on my table, on my computer desk, even on my clipboard at work - silently reminding me that I made a promise.What difference do it make? arrived in a brown envelope, and I eagerly tore into it, anxious to get started. I knew before I finished reading the cover flaps that this would be no ordinary book. The 5-1/2 page introduction only served to confirm that fact. I re-read the introduction and set the book aside, slightly puzzled at the way these few words had affected me.Whether or not you've read same kind of different as me, you very quickly come to know Ron Hall, Deborah Hall, and Denver Moore. In Ron's unabashed grief at the loss of his beloved Deborah, you will feel his loss. In Denver's simple, honest language, you will come to know this gentle man. Through the stories they tell, mostly of how their book affected others, we are given a blueprint of how small changes can effect large results.This book will make you stop and think. This book will make you wonder. This book will make you feel as if you are not doing enough, and will urge you to do more. Pick up a copy today. Get to know Ron, Deborah, and Denver. Carry them with you, and you will find truth in Denver's simple statement: "everbody's lookin for God everywhere on the outside. He ain't in no book, and He ain't in no preacher, and He ain't in nothin or no one on the outside. You go to go inside 'cause that's where God is - in the deepest place inside you."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenn Schram
This work resumes the true-story of Ron Hall and Denver Moore, which was originally documented in their first book, Same Kind of Different as Me. This book offers more of their personal stories as well as testimonials from people who read the first book and were inspired. What difference do it make? also tells of Ron and Denvers journey since publishing the first book, and of Rons reconciliation with his own father. Chapters alternate between Rons and Denvers voices and stories.I have not read Same Kind of Different as Me, and I found this second book very confusing and hard to follow. There wasnt a clear chronology for this work, and it was difficult to find a purpose in the majority of the stories. This book cannot stand on its own, it is a jumble of thoughts and memories. Obviously, people were moved to action and love by the first book, but this second book, while sharing some of those testimonies, was lacking momentum for action. I kept asking myself, What is the point of this chapter? or Why is THIS the testimony they chose to publish?. Overall, I was unimpressed with this books writing, content and purpose. It felt like a shameless plug for the first book.I am a member of Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger program
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ashley
What Difference Do It Make?In this book, Ron Hall and Denver Moore share their story of how a very lovely lady, Deborah Hall, introduced them and made them friends. What an incredible story! This book teaches us that God helps us to work through and overcome difficult situations like homelessness and prejudice.I cannot say enough wonderful things about this book. This is a definite must read for everyone. Very eye-opening! I felt as if I could relate to every one of the characters in one way or another.My favorite passage in the book was on the subject of prayer. Ron says "Deborah prayed with such passion-not like some nut-ball holy roller but with such knowledge of the Father as though He was her daddy and she was His favorite child. Without pausing or stumbling, she let her words flow like a psalm or a sonnet. Captured on canvas, her prayers would be considered masterpieces...." Wow! What an awesome statement! We are oftentimes so afraid to pray aloud, fearful of what others will think of what we are saying. Will we say the right thing? Will it be enough? Will someone think less of what we say because we can't seem to find just the right words in their mind?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra De
What difference do it make? What difference is made when at our lowest of lows, instead of finding judgement, we find an offered opportunity.Instead of finding criticism, we find someone who values our life. Instead of finding our behaviour to be presumably self destructive, we find a person who believes we will make the better choice. Instead of finding ourselves alone, we find someone who is wanting to be our companion, not for their own ego, but because they genuinely find us a valuable person.What difference do it make? Denver Moore profoundly declares that it makes no difference. Not if money is just thrown at a problem just identified as financial suffering. Plenty when people who understand that God created life for relationship are in your neighbourhood. Because then things change, people bloom and lives are forever altered.God can only change a life if people are willing to first believes He exists before they can accept His help. Those who cant, can be still convinced by those who do by recognising that all life was created by God and is very, very good. Some choices may be a little ill informed and lead to bad circumstances or life may be extremely hard but we are all an amazing creation. This is where some need a brother to lean on for a season.Like Denver says, Of course, she didnt know that theres a difference between helping and blessin that blessin means you give a person a little gift to show em you think they matters on this earth, and helping is when you stoop down with a person and stay there till they can climb on your shoulders to get up.A book where profound truths shared through a selfless heart in the simplest of ways. And I am reminded that To the extent that you did it to one of these brothers of Mine, even the least of them, you did it to ME. Mat 25How can we, who have felt His amazing grace, His heart hungering to be embraced by ours, not be a cup not only full but overflowing to those around us?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Crawford
I have read both books, each in one sitting. My daughter is a drug addict and has spent most of the past 25 years either in prison or living on the streets. Reading "Same Kind of Different" and "What Difference Do It Make" helps me better understand her. Through these books I have been able to not only reach out, but love the homeless without a jaundice eye.I now work in several out reach ministires. I have failed to reach my own daughter, however I live in the hope and prayer that someone has read these books and that they can make a difference in her life. Ron and Denver, thank you for showing me how to love unconditionaly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kelly F
The array of emotion I felt while reading this was incredible. Gut wrenching at times and laughing, and happily surprised at others, I loved reading this. Its infectious, for you can not possibly read the stories and be untouched by one if not by each. It is a wonderful tribute to his wife Deborah, a beautiful reconciling with his father and awakening for me. I will forever be touched.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Ron Hall and Denver Moore have written a follow-up to their New York Times best-seller, Same Kind Of Different As Me. The back cover copy reads in part: "What Difference Do It Make? continues the hard-to-believe story of hope and reconciliation...Ron Hall and Denver Moore, unlikely friends and even unliklier coauthors-a wealthy fine-art dealer and an illiterate homeless African American-share the hard-to-stop story of how a remarkable woman's love brought them together."This book, written along with Lynn Vincent, tells how lives have been impacted and changed as a result of reading the first book. Anedotes are shared, and the challenge for each of us is that WE can make a difference in our world."What Difference Do It Make? beautifully showcases God's ability to work through even the most awkward and painful circumstances to bring forth amazing and redemptive changes. It answers its own question with a simple and emphatic answer. What difference can one person (or two) make in the world? A lot!"I was deeply moved by this book. We are part of a church-planting team, working in an area densely populated with refugees and new immigrants, and our inner city is filled with homeless people. After reading this book, I have a new perspective and a renewed compassion to show them the love of Jesus in practical ways. I have discovered through the words of Denver Moore the difference between helping and being a blessing. This is a book that I am recommending for our ministry staff to read and take to heart. I look forward to hearing more from Ron and Denver as they continue to make a difference in the name of Jesus.Published by Thomas Nelson, this book is available through http://www.christianbooks.com/ and http://www.amazon.com/ and at book retailers everywhere. I am a member of Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program. http://brb.thomasnelson.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Clair
What Difference Do It Make? by Ron Hall, Denver Moore and Lynn Vincent is a continuation of Hall's and Moore's story that began in Same Kind of Different As Me. Ron Hall, an art dealer, and Denver Moore, a homeless man, are friends and write the book together. The chapters alternate between Hall's story, which is focused now on the relationship he has with an aging father, and Moore's story, which is more of a teaching format. Interspersed in their stories and snippets of how their first book affected different individuals after they read that book.The content was good. Hall struggling with how to deal with an aging father that disappointed him in many ways was portrayed realistically. Moore encourages people to not judge those that are homeless. Individuals that decided after reading the book that God was calling them to do something different or take a chance was inspiring. I was not impressed with the organization of the book...there are two many parts to it, Hall's story, Moore's story, parts of their first book, and the stories from people that they have heard from. If you haven't read the first book by Moore and Hall, you can read this alone, but you might find the first story more interesting. I am a Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger http://brb.thomasnelson.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Becky
"What Difference Do It Make" is a wonderful book that makes me want to re-read the first book just to pull more wonderful experiences out of it. This book not only allows the reader to get to know Ron and Denver better, it also focuses on the readers of the first book. In a humble way, Ron and Denver tell how their book has circled the country and touched lives of those young and old.A little girl and a lemonade stand, a little boy who holds his mom accountable to reach out and many other experiences are shared. Homeless men women and children are helped, blessed, and saved because a rich art dealer loved his wife and followed her to served meals at a homeless shelter. Because that wife loved God, a homeless man and the rich art dealer became friends. Because of that tedious friendship, the rich art dealer came to know his heavenly Father in a much deeper and closer way. This book reveals Ron's rocky relationship with his father and how that fence was mended before his dad's death. The book ends with Ron remembering his wife who died after a battle with cancer. A woman who also battled cancer and was losing the fight was given Denver and Rons first book. She called Ron to find out how to leave her husband behind and to see how she could help him grieve. The final chapter brought sweet tears to my eyes. Our Father will use unsusal relationships to bring us closer to Him and to do work He has set before us to do.I highly recommend both "Same Kind of Different As Me" and this book "What Difference Do It Make" to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for What Difference Do It Make?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather Jones
This is a wonderful expansion of the story begun in Same Kind Of Different as Me as well as a challenge to not only notice the needs of those around us, but to step out of our comfort zones and serve as Jesus did. The stories of people who were inspired to make a difference are encouraging and challenging. The ongoing friendship between Ron and Denver is beautifully told. Blogger for Thomas Nelson publishers http://brbthomasnelson.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>