Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Focus Publications The Mortification of Sin

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Christian Focus Publications The Mortification of Sin

John Owen insisted on the importance of Christians dealing effectively with their sinful tendencies and attitudes. He believed that God, through his Word and Spirit, has provided the guidelines and the power for this to be achieved. In this book, John Owen effectively dismisses various excuses for not engaging in self-scrutiny and yet avoids the current trend of self-absorption. In so doing he provides principles to help believers live lives of holiness. We owe a great debt to our Christian forefathers who spent time studying the Bible and applying it to the world around them. The Christian Heritage series seeks to take the best and most practical of their works and re-present it for a new generation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Mortification of Sin
Review 1 for The Mortification of Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical, how to walk the walk.

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
chuckabean
Location:Markleysburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was recommended as an excellent expansion of Romans 8:13, and it is. It is the practical, how we are to put to death the deeds of the body, by the Spirit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Mortification of Sin
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A critical topic in outdated form.

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
ladbak
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is no doubt that John Owen had a firm grasp on this topic, which is critical to believers. Yet I quit reading the book in the middle of the 9th chapter. It was written in the 1600's. The vocabulary, the long protracted sentences, the old English, and the multiplied appositives make the reading of the book drudgery. To be useful, this book needs to be rewritten. If you like outdated English, you will probably do well with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Mortification of Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tameron Blanding
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was for my husband and he loved it! Though it's a short book, it took him quite a while to read and absorb all it said.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Mortification of Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie B. Jackson
I got this book by John Owns for my husband for this past Father's Day, as a gift. He really loved it. I hope to get other John Owen books for him, soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Mortification of Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Marstaller
This book is not light reading, but it is life-changing. I am working through parts of it for the fourth time. His beginning approach of what mortification of sin 'is not' was a little confusing until I read the rest of the book. When I understood how John Owen explained what it is - then I could start to let go of the misconceptions that he was innumerating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Mortification of Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dr. J.S. Achord, Th.D.
We as Christians rarely seek to kill a sin. Instead, we just keep hiding behind our cloak of grace long enough to rid ourselves of the guilty feelings. We convince ourselves that Jesus has saved us from Hell and this is enough. John Owens confronts this tragic attitude with his clear call to the mortification of the sin in our lives. Jesus has come to save us from sin, not just its penalties. We are taught here how to hate sin for sins sake and plunge ourselves into the practices of godliness. In a society that teaches that Jesus can be accepted as Savior and ignored as Lord, this book is especially needed. Because the preacher has divided the offices of Christ, the parishoner is left with divided loyaties between Jesus and self. Do not rush through this book. The first chapter is the hardest to understand but once you adjust to his style of writing, you can find a feast of wisdom if you will devour it slowely. I find it helps to write a one sentence summary in your own words of each paragraph and then after each chapter, go back and read your own writings. Thank God for John Owen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Mortification of Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Widdowson
Owen has few rivals. His insights pierce through the fog of confusion and denial and strike the truth of the matter with a boldness and compassion that leaves you speechless. Before his probing gaze there is only one response, 'Yes, he knows me; he's found my sin out.' This guy is good. I read his book a couple of years ago and his insights still echo in my mind. Until Owen, I thought mortification was for weirdos. But his argument is not only very persuasive, it also is soundly biblical.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Mortification of Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
This is probably the best book on spiritual warfare I've read. The Puritans were practical without being thin on doctrine like today's preachers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Mortification of Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Peter
Outside of the Bible itself, this book is one of the top 3 EVERY Christian should read! It's a little rugged for todays feel good Christianity. I wonder if you could even call much of what we do Christian anymore. We need to get back to the old ways (I am a young man, age 27) when theology and the loving pursuit of God was our highest goal in life. None of that is possible apart from killing sin. Read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Mortification of Sin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Dallas Pymm
A convicting read. Owen stresses the believer's duty to put to death any sin that remains in their lives, and expresses great consequences for those who have no desire to do so. Difficult at times but any reader who puts the effort into digging through this book will no doubt be encouraged to take their sin seriously as God does.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.