Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents

Harvest House Publishers Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents

If you have an adult child (or grandchild) whose life is one crisis after another and you find yourself constantly caught up in the drama, author Allison Bottke shows you the way out. Using the acronym S.A.N.I.T.Y., she encourages parents to take a tough-love approach in dealing with their dysfunctional adult children. Written by the author of the popular "God Allows U-Turns" series. A Focus on the Family Recommendation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Review 1 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

gives you a strategy

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
kellyd
Location:CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
IM still reading the book, the application of it will be telling about myself
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book on setting boundaries

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carol Simmons
Location:Oregon state
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so pleased that I purchased this book. I have read the famous boundaries book by Townsend and Cloud, but wanted tools for setting boundaries with adult children and this fulfilled my desire. I also sent a copy to my sister.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great resource for hurting parents

Date:November 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie S.
Location:CT
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I have benefited greatly from this book and have given away several copies to others grappling with similar challenges. The suggestions for dealing with adult children struggling with various addictions and growing up in general were very helpful. It provided a framework for us to set limits with our oldest son. He chose not to comply and we asked him to move out. It was the hardest thing I've ever done as a parent. About six months later he acknowledged that he needed that push to help him to get his life in order. A little over a year since we asked him to move out, he's still taking baby steps in the right direction and our relationship has been restored. Praise God!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book, have even recommended it to our support group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It was right to the point and understanding.

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ladybuglady
Location:Dorchester, South Carolina
Age:55-65
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a grandparent but could understand as I went through some of the situations, but God is awesome in all ways. Being a parent is wonderful, but can be a real challenge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nannygoat
Location:Eastman, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is just what I needed to help me deal with the problems I am facing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Helpful

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paula
Location:Houston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have seen this book before, but never read it until now. I have adult children that I am in the process of setting boundaries with. This book has been very helpful and encouraging.
Thank you for the good price and a good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A real eye-opener for me.

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hope
Location:Albuquerque, New Mexico
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent resource for those of us who have been "helping" our children only to discover the hard truth of our negative enabling behavior. This book gives many real anecdotes of parents who have been down this road, and practical examples and steps of what to do and not to do. Although very painful for me to read, I highly recommend this book to anyone who is tired of the continuous drama in their adult child's life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
dawner
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
highly recommend this to anyone who has adult children.
it was very helpful to me in my time of need
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
kittycoo
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent and informative book. Helped me with the issues I am having with my adult children. Highly recommend this book to any parent seeking answers on how to detach with love and start setting boundaries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Allison Bottke's book was extremely helpful to my husband and me in writing out a plan of action to present to our grown son. Everything Allison presents is biblically based. She includes in her writings applicable and helpful quotes from books on boundaries written by other highly regarded authors, most if not all, being Chrisitans themselves. Allison also includes frequent quotes from Christian counselors who have extensive experience assisting parents with establishing boundaries. I purchased an additional copy of Allison's book for a friend of mine who is in a similar situation with her grown son.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book Will Change Your Life!

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Chicago
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you find yourself coming to the rescue of your adult child over and over again, and if your adult child feels he is "entitled" to being taken care of by you even though he is now an adult, then YOU are an enabling parent! If you truly desire to change this pattern of parenting, and find freedom from all of the insanity in your life, then I would highly recommend this book to you. It will change your life and by the grace of God, it will change the life of your adult child too!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well thought out strategies

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
KellyB
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is organized and direct in its approach. I am finding it encouraging and helpful as we seek to establish healthy boundaries with our adult children. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was very helpful

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
tiffytwo
Location:Smithfiels, Utah
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It seems like every family has at least one child in their family that brings chaos into to a working-well-family.
I read and shared this book with my sister and we both feel that we are making breakthroughs to success. If you are truly interested in changing your chaos to peace, this is the book that can really help you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing information

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Lima, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book ever, other than a novel, that I just could not stop reading. I related so much to her life with her son, as I have had nearly the exact same life with my son. I am now going through the steps she gives so that I too can stop the enabling cycle in my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is loaded with great information!

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was sincerely impressed with this book. The information contained in it, is great for all people who either have children or who are considering having children. The book allowed me to reflect on the things big and small that I have done to contribute negatively or positively to the upbringing of my adult kids. I will treasure this book for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has been life changing!!

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melanie Chalut
Location:Southern Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would suggest all parents of adult children read this book! Allison writes from her heart and her experience with her son. She has done an excellent job sharing how God has changed her and how God can change me. She has referenced many books that I plan on reading some of those next. I have a new focus, new direct and a new hope for my life. Thank you Allison for sharing your ups and downs with us. I would give it a higher rating if I could!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
esljanet
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although my child is not a far gone as the son of the author, she is on the wrong path for a life of happiness. This book is giving my husband and I support to stand back and allow her to make her own mistakes without (too much) guilt.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already own this book and purchased another copy for a friend who is struggling with a grown son. It was very helpful for me and I hope that it will be the same for her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Setting Boundaries With Your Adult Children: Six Steps to Hope and Healing for Struggling Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
pots
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
very good book for parents of adult children who help keep them up. gave it to a friend hoping it will help her to see tough love. would recommend it to any one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.