Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear

Thomas Nelson Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear

Fear is like an invisible prison. It holds you captive, influencing your choices and perceptions about life, God, and other people. Can you imagine what your life would be like without fear? With so much going wrong in the world it can seem hard to picture. In Fearless, Max Lucado author of 3:16: The Numbers of Hope, and pastor of Oak Hills Church, shows you how life can be lived with confidence and joy, when you replace your fear with faith. Let this inspiring and timely message encourage your heart today!
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(234 Reviews) 234
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (234 reviews)
5 stars
168
4 stars
57
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
0
17 out of 1989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Review 1 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
dawnb
Location:Belhaven, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my boyfriend and he loves it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book about ealing with fear.

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very happy with this book I have not finished reading the book yet. I like the writing style of Max Lucado. Is very pleasant to read his books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product.

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rev Bubba
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great study for all ages, especially new Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda Teachenor
Location:Port Orchard, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful material - would like to to a small group with this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this book met my expectations

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jmarchesi
Location:Brazil
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is excellent. I love the way That Max Lucado writes; he helps you look at things a new way. I like to buy at the Christian Book website, and this last purchase came faster than I expected.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Albin
Location:Cheyenne WY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Our women's Bible Study choose this for our fall study; we were looking forward to Max Lucado's usual high quality writing and DVD. We soon discovered the DVD simply covered a small portion of the book; the study guide as well as the DVD only addressed six of the chapters with no explanation as to why more than half were simply left out and not addressed at all--neither DVD or study guide. There were some questions at the back of the book; these were often vague and made us wonder 'where is he coming from?" We were looking for some depth; a challenge to search the Scriptures to find answers to life's problems and found this study lacking in all of those areas. The DVD was so poor we sent it back for a full refund (thank you). We did not feel comfortable adding such mediocre work to our church library. I've read many of Lucado's books and expected the same high quality and felt this one truly missed the mark!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It is good for inspiration

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
awarren71
Location:Newfoundland, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book (like many of Lucado's books) is good for inspiration, but I am at a difficult place in my life where I need more "substance" to what I read and not so much inspiring (pretty) words. I plan to come back to this book later and give it a 2nd read to see what I've missed. So I may want to add to this recommendation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, light, thoughtful reading

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
skillfulshepherds
Location:Singapore
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As the title suggests, this book explores various key fears one faces in life, as related to our relationship with God, people, ourselves and the world around us. The author takes us through 15 chapters, beginning with the fundamental issues and on a personal level, such as significance, approval, and sufficiency. He then takes us through broader areas of family, challenges, situations, violence, money, death, before ending with a few chapters on existential issues such as the future, reality of God, global disaster, and the magnitude of God. There’s a good discussion guide for each chapter that’s concise but also substantial enough for personal reflection or small group discussion, each with the same format of examining, exposing and battling fear.
This is one of my first Max Lucado books, as well as one of my first ebook reads and reviews. Lucado writes in a light and casual style, almost like story-telling, with personal anecdotes, stories, verses, illustrations thrown in, which makes for an easy Sunday afternoon read. It’s not preachy or heavy with theological or bombastic terms. However, having said that, it’s more like an afternoon snack or light brunch, compared to a hearty and filling dinner of serious, satisfying content. I was expecting much more in terms of discussion of different fears, as well as possible applications or steps (not necessarily quick-fix) towards alleviating or dealing with them in a godly, biblical way. Of course, there were good nuggets of wisdom and points of reflection that were insightful and thought-provoking, such as "It’s not the absence of storms that sets us apart. It’s whom we discover in the storm: an unstirred Christ," as well as eight steps to stopping worry:
"Pray, first. Easy, now. Act on it. Compile a worry list. Evaluate your worry categories. Focus on today. Unleash a worry army. Let God be enough." (PEACEFUL)
Overall, a good read and would recommend to others. However, it’s rather surface and light reading, so don’t expect if you are seriously struggling with irrational fears or clinical anxiety for your fears to be dealt with here. Food for thought, worth a quick read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fearless .... are you?

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Max Lucado has written tons of books, I have read several over the years. They are all good. I expected to enjoy reading Fearless, like all his other books.This book was great. I really liked it. One of his best books.
I am not super fearful. I am young and will take lots of risks and dares. I don't let fear stop me very often but this book helped show me that everyone has fears. Fear can look like a ton of different things, which he talks about in the book. He also showed in a very practical way how we can have victory over fear. God doesn't want us to be fearful or scared. He wants us to enjoy life the wants he intended, without fear. He wants us to give our fears to him. The Bible says so many times not to be afraid and this book helps with that.
Good book, you should read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Read and be encouraged to trust God more

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bob Hayton
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
"Fearless" is the latest book from best selling author, Max Lucado. In fact it officially releases today. I jumped at the chance to receive an advance review copy of this book, partly because I had never read Lucado before. I've heard good things of his writing, but had just never read one of his books. Often, popularity doesn't translate all that well into Biblical faithfulness, so I wasn't quite sure what to expect from Max Lucado. As I worked my way through the book, I found it not only faithful, but accessible, well-written and timely.
Lucado interweaves stories, analogies and practical Christian advice in a masterful fashion. Each chapter focuses on a specific species of fear. He examines the fear and brings the Scriptures to bear upon it. The book also includes excellent discussion questions for each chapter. They would serve well as a general outline for small group sessions. Usually discussion questions are minimal, but with Fearless, they include a time of discussing the particular fear at hand, Scripture passages to look up and some final application questions.
Max Lucado displays a well-seasoned faith and he knows how to address the spectrum of fears that face us today. His pastoral warmth shines through the book. I particularly enjoyed his thoughts on parenting and fear for the well-being of your children.
"We can take our parenting fears to Christ. In fact, if we don't, we'll take our fears out on our kids. Fear turns some parents into paranoid prison guards who monitor every minute, check the background of ever friend. They stifle growth and communicate distrust...
"On the other hand, fear can also create permissive parents. For fear that their child will feel too confided or fenced in, they lower all boundaries. High on hugs and low on discipline. They don't realize that appropriate discipline is an expression of love. Permissive parents. Paranoid parents. How can we avoid the extremes? We pray.
"Prayer is the saucer into which parental fears are poured to cool. Jesus says so little about parenting, makes no comments about spanking, breast-feeding, sibling rivalry, or schooling. Yet his actions speak volumes about prayer. Each time a parent prays, Christ responds. His big message to moms and dads? Bring your children to me. Raise them in a greenhouse of prayer."
The book's conclusion addresses how to react to the fear that is so rampant in this dark time of economic upheaval and terrorism on a global scale.
"Let others breathe the polluted air of anxiety, not us. Let's be numbered among those who hear a different voice, God's. Enough of these shouts of despair, wails of doom. Why pay heed to the doomsdayer on Wall Street or the purveyor of gloom in the newspaper? We will incline our ears elsewhere: upward. We will turn to our Maker, and because we do, we will fear less."
I confidently recommend "Fearless". You will be enjoy the book and be encouraged to trust God more.
Disclaimer: This book was provided by Thomas Nelson for review. I was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life changing book on fear!

Date:April 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
48flavors
Location:Manila, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone struggles with fear of some kind. I certainly do. I forget to breathe when I’m about to speak in public and my worst nightmares involve losing someone I love and heights.
While fear is common to everyone, there are people who are able to conquer their fears and there are people who are hindered by them. I am somewhere in the middle.
Max Lucado poses this question: “What if faith, not fear, was your default reaction to threats?” He discusses the different fears that plague us, some of them I didn’t even realize I had until I read his book: fear of not mattering, fear of overwhelming challenges, fear of worst-case scenarios, fear of violence, fear of global calamity, among others.
If you struggle with little fear or much fear, this book definitely needs a place on your bedside table. It’s very easy to read. I read one chapter every night before going to bed and finished in two weeks.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book for Worriers!

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
familymgrkendra
Location:Berwyn, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always been a fan of and this book was no different. Max Lucado does an amazing job at describing the common fears of Christians and backing them up with scripture. I am always filled with FEAR for many different reasons, but FEARLESS by Max Lucado has begun to help me change my FEARs into leaning and trusting onto God. I recite Proverbs 3:5-6 when the FEAR begins to invade my thoughts and know that God is in control. My favorite part of the book is how Max Lucado helps remind us of being PEACEFUL with his 8 Worry Stoppers.
1) Pray First
2) Easy Now. Slow Down
3) Act on it. Become a Worry Slapper
4) Compile a Worry List
5) Evaluate Your Worries
6) Focus on Today
7) Unleash a Worry Army
8) Let God be Enough
I highly recommend this book for everyone because we all have FEAR in our life. FEARLESS will help you overcome the "what if's" and instead focus on the "what wills"!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to relate to.

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Massachusetts
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had struggles with fear and anxiety all my life. This book very aptly puts into words this struggle and how it can affect a person. I found it an easy, enjoyable and insightful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful!

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Swift
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this book!!! It is an amaing book that is written in a way that makes Jesus's lessons easy to understand. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to live their life without irrational fear! GREAT BOOK!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An easy-to-read and excellent resource for helping to deal with some of the negative programming that we all acquire throughout life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie BB
Location:Monroe, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A New Year resolution is to read this book at the beginning of each new year. It is FULL of encouragement and hope and I always seem to be in need of a "refresher course"!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read this!!

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeffro
Location:Vinemont, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My middle daughter has been having a hard time making her way through life. Read this book, gave it to me and my wife, thoroughly enjoyed it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth picking up

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
Location:USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think what I appreciate most about this book is the simplicity – trust God, fear less. It’s so true! But how to trust God? This is why you should check out this book. :)
The table of contents will give you a very good idea of what this book is about…
Table of Contents:
Why Are We Afraid?
The Villagers of Stiltsville (Fear of Not Mattering)
God’s Ticked Off At Me (Fear of Disappointing God)
Woe, Be Gone (Fear of Running Out)
My Child is in Danger (Fear of Not Protecting My Kids)
I’m Sinking Fast (Fear of Overwhelming Challenges)
There’s a Dragon in my Closet (Fear of Worst-Case Scenarios)
This Brutal Planet (Fear of Violence)
Make-Believe Money (Fear of the Coming Winter)
Scared to Death (Fear of Life’s Final Moments)
Caffeinated Life (Fear of What’s Next)
The Shadow of Doubt (Fear that God is not Real)
What if Things Get Worse? (Fear of Global Calamity)
The One Healthy Terror (Fear of God Getting Out of My Box)
Conclusion (William’s Psalm)
Discussion Guide & Notes
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book for facing worries

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Blue Raindrop
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Fearless is an interesting book that I received from Thomas Nelson for reviewing the book. Each chapter takes a common fear, and addresses it.
You know those little verse lists that go “if you are feeling (x) then read verses (y) and (z)”? It reminded me of one of those, but more fleshed out, and specifically related to worries.
Which was sort of where it seemed a bit less than it’s description had set me up to expect. A whole lot of these “fears” would much more accurately be labeled “worries” to me. They are more nagging concerns, and less trembling sources of near terror.
The advice is good, as far as advice for worries goes. Most involve pointing to biblical examples of God’s provision over related circumstances.
But imagining life without fear is a big of a leap for a subtitle to me. And if your fears are of the type that defies any sort of rational logic and falls more into the unbased emotional response sort where you already know logically that its nothing to fear but do anyway, then it’s not quite the book you are expecting given the descriptions.
Good book for battling worry and nagging concerns, but maybe a bit overstated on true fear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fearless: Imagine Your Life Without Fear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lori
This book is excellent for those of us who struggle with worry and fear. I like how Max Lucado explores this topic and lets you know that as a Christian, there WILL be trouble. Just because you follow God, doesn't mean that now you are exempt from the troubles of life, it just means that now you have a source of comfort. Many of the objects of our fears are touched upon in the book and in each one Max Lucado shows us why our trust in God is much stronger than any of these fears. This book is one of the many resources I would recommend to a friend going through a tough time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345 ...12Next >>>