Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It

Harvest House Publishers How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It

Forgiveness is very hard for most of us, especially if the wrong done against you was very painful or the person who hurt you is not repentant. How can you forgive when you don't feel like it? Sometimes it seems easier to cling to resentment rather than letting go. In "How to Forgive...When You Don't Feel Like It" Biblical counselor June Hunt uses compassion and truth to help readers learn from Jesus' own example of how to forgive. 225 pages, softcover from Harvest House.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It
Review 1 for How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness is not a Feeling

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MrsBrat
Location:NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book. I am a victim of child abuse and this book has helped me move forward with my life instead of being held prisoner by my past abusers. Forgiveness is not a feeling but an act of will, even when your not willing. Forgiveness is not saying 'what you did is ok' . Just because you choose to forgive someone does not leave you bound to that person but instead sets you free from them. There is a difference between forgiveness and Reconciliation. Their not the same. You can set boundries. You dont have to continue ties with people who abuse you. Your in control. This book describes all this. It really gave me some releif from all the pain caused to me in my past. I don't have to be haunted by those memories. I can move forward. This book teaches that. And the author herself has dealt with child abuse. Great testimony. God Bless!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Athena
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book on forgiveness. (I find true forgiveness to be one of my greatest challenges as a Christian - I badly want to forgive, but struggle with the 'how' of it all.) June Hunt does a wonderful job of reminding the reader that forgiveness is a process, not a split-second, once-and-for-all decision. It takes time and effort to be able to completely forgive - and that's ok. She compares carrying unforgiveness with hauling around a sack full of pebbles and rocks - it will always hinder you and keep you from reaching your full potential. She also talks about taking the person who hurt you off of 'your hook,' and putting them on 'God's hook...' letting the Master Crafter shape you and heal you. Overall, a very helpful book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I needed.

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mereida Walters
Location:Georgetown, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"How to Forgive When you don't Feel Like It". I have not yet finished reading this book, but am finding that June Hunt hits the nail on the head for me in terms of unforgiveness....especially in the area of forgiving someone who has grossly hurt me, and my family in a personl way. June seems to answer all the questions I've had for several years, and shows how to work through the forgiveness---One point in particular----Forgiveness doesn't necessarily mean reconciliation...I've struggled with knowing I need to forgive, but thinking that it meant I would need to associate with that person again, and I'm not sure that I could do that. According to what June writes, backed up with scripture, I see now that that isn't necessarily true. Another important area she covers is "finding it hard to forgive yourself". Her book has helped me to see that I can work through my struggle and finally find peace and contentment and no longer let the situation hold me back from living my life the way God wants and expects me to. Definitely an answer to prayer, and a God-inspired book. It's an easy read, and I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone struggling in this area.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible, life-changing book!

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Location:Orange City, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book right after going through a great deal of turmoil in my family. This book far exceeded my expectations and has ministered so much to me. I was so moved by it that I referred it to my sister and my parents who were all effected by our family trauma and it has helped all of us take steps to emotional and spiritual healing; I have been able to truly forgive and feel so free. June Hunt is a gifted author and completely draws you in while teaching biblical priciples on forgiveness in a way that is easy to understand and compelling. I actually just finished the book and plan to order the rest of her books as well. I would encourage anyone that is struggling with forgiveness to read this book and allow God to work through your life to bring healing and wholeness.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beverly Huntington
A pastor once told us that the jails and mental institutions are full of people who can't forgive. I have a jail ministry and I am always looking for paper back books that talk about forgiving. This is excellent. I will need to get some more. Once I put this in the jail, everyone will be talking about it, there will be a need for more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Glenda K Behrens
This is by far the best book on forgiveness that I have ever read (except the bible , of course). I had often wondered about the verse "Love your enemies, do good to those who curse you." like the author did. She nails our correct response! I grew up in Dallas and heard of H.L. Hunt all of my life so it was interesting to read "behind the scenes" of his life and June Hunt's. Hs daughter writes with amazing candor, honesty and humility. It it the approach she chose to take (obeying the scriptures) BEFORE he ever changed, that earned his repect and mine! The "world" would have said she is crazy, he doesn't deserve it! etc. but she obeyed God. Read the book and be fascinated as I was- and learn how to truly forgive (the truth) and be free! .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Glenda K Behrens
This is, by far, the BEST book on forgiveness, I have ever read (except the bible, of course)! I grew up in Dallas and had heard of H.L. Hunt all of my life, so it was fascinating to see what life was like "behind the scenes". His daughter writes with amazing honesty, candor and humility. I learned more from the attitude she chose to take toward him, even when not "deserved"This is by far the best book on forgiveness that I have ever read (except the bible , of course). I had often wondered about the verse "Love your enemies, do good to those who curse you." like the author did. She nails our correct response! I grew up in Dallas and heard of H.L. Hunt all of my life so it was interesting to read "behind the scenes" of his life and June Hunt's. Hs daughter writes with amazing candor, honesty and humility. It it the approach she chose to take (obeying the scriptures) BEFORE he ever changed, that earned his repect and mine! The "world" would have said she is crazy, he doesn't deserve it! etc. but she obeyed God. Read the book and be fascinated as I was- and learn how to truly forgive (the truth) and be free! .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan M. Bafford
This is an excellant book. I have used it for Bible study groups and even for Deliverance ministry. I purchased this copy for our parish library.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly Mancillas
Great book! Very insightful. Helps to see deeply in the thought processes we have that hold us back from true forgiveness, also not to take "short-cuts" and minimize offenses, instead of acknowledging and truly forgiving.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cathy Smith
This is a wonderful book and I highly recommend it. I bought copies for family members and my Sunday School class.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marcia Odom
I truly enjoyed this book. It answered some questions that I have had for a while. I purchased two copies for gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for How to Forgive . . . When You Don't Feel Like It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gloria
This book is just what I needed! I have been unable to forgive people in my past. That has caused issues with my trust in my relationships. I am going through a divorce. This book is helping me through my healing. So I can emotionally move forward. I will tell all my friends!!! Thank You so much and God Bless You
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.