Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Who Stole My Church?

Thomas Nelson Who Stole My Church?

Feel like your church has been hijacked? You're not alone. Millions of seasoned churchgoers feel at odds with praise bands, PowerPoint presentations, and mall-like mega-sanctuaries---and many are dropping out. Through the power of story, MacDonald's fictional tale helps build intergenerational understanding by illustrating that change can advance God's kingdom. Includes discussion questions. 240 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.263 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Who Stole My Church?
Review 1 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joan Holmes
When I began to read this book, after the first page, I thought to myself; OH my goodness, this book is talking about me. It has helped me to understand the need for the changes taking place in the churches today. I am 73 years old and I feel it should be required reading for all people my age. I shared the book with a friend and she thought it was so good that she purchased a book for herself to pass around our church. It is very easy reading. The author did an excellent job of writing an interesting book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lee Wise
My curch is going through a big change. I read this book and it changed my way of thinking about the changes. It is a great book. We are starting a bible study using this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janice Sylvia
Well written and informative. I believe the demonstration of progress in the book is helpful to many of us "older" church members.I do feel like the title somehow convey's a sense of negativity that the content does not have. I actually bought it AFTER I had read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara Lee
Awesome book! This should be required reading for all church members! You will laugh, cry, be frustrated, touched, and spiritually uplifted. Get this book and share it with your church family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
David White
I have encountered the characters in this book in both of the churches I have served. It presents a nice narrative model for addressing change, but as importantly gives a message of hope to those congregations trying to bring the text into a new context.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jane White
I am one of those seasoned churchgoers who sometimes feels at odds with praise bands and power point. Maybe if churches tried to build intergenerational understanding as in Mr. MacDonald's fictional tale, seasoned churchgoers would not feel left out. He is an excellent writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melody Carrier
This book has been one of the most enlightening books I have read as of late. I am reading it for the second time...and discovering new insights...and seeing myself in some of the characters/parishioners struggling to embrace the new ways of worship. I even bought 5 additional copies to give out to others in my church... including my pastor. It's easy reading and worth your time!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Carlton
This was a thought provoking book to read but it was an easy read. This book is for all ages and probably is geared more for the older generation. However, the print is on the smaller side for those of us who are older. I think that every member of a church should read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
This book is not at all what I thought it would be, but as a pastor it is just what I need. MacDonald could have written on the rationale of the church needing to "reinvent" itself on a pedantic level, but he chooses to do so in a narrative style with which each church can readily identify. It is a non-threatening, yet straightforward appeal for every church to evaluate where it presently is in terms of its original purpose, and to not be afraid to alter its approach to ministry while retaining its core values. Every church leader--especially pastors--who think of change as a four-letter word should read this book. In fact, deacon boards and pastoral staffs should read it and discuss it together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Wofford
Great book. Made me realize how much I resist change, when I use to embrace it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Bruley
Great book for understanding the changes going on in your church.As a leader in my church I received insight on why some things doneed to change especially if we want to initiate growth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Wilson
I so appreciate how this book brings understanding to this difficult situation.This book speaks to both sides of the traditional church and contemporary church debate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandy Trout
A thought-provoking book. I agree with some of the thoughts/ideas of the author, however, change for change's sake is questionable if the people the church is trying to attract don't come....in droves. The singing is the hot topic in most modern churches....I don't go to praise and worship to be entertained, but, to join with the congregation in singing and praising together, and this isn't possible with loud, rock & roll music!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nelda Rogers
This is an excellent book written in an easy to read style. I found the material very thought provoking and the subject matter is contemporary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joel Robinson
Mr. MacDonald addresses an important subject for todays church in a fictionalize account. It was a very entertaining read. I would caution readers before studying his comments as instructions on how to do things in your church. There is a good discussion on hymnology. Worship wars are presented as good guys vs. bad guys and all or none option. If you want to hear music you like, go buy a CD and play it at home. The author first acknowledges then dismisses the tearfully powerful memories of hymns gone by. You oldsters will all be dead in 10-15 years so it doesnt matter what you want to sing? Whoa! Members who disagree with the changes either come around to agree or are portrayed in the book as narrow-minded, ill informed, and uncaring of the youth. I came to different conclusions than the author, but the purpose of the book is to make us think, to examine what we see using a different perspective. MacDonald wrote it in a documentary style and it will provoke powerful emotional responses, but remember this is fiction, like "Left Behind" or "The Shack".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Ackerson
It felt like the research for this book had been done in our church. Most of our friends felt the same after we shared the book(s) with them. After much internal "discussion" we now largely support the changes, with some still having reservations and other enthusiastically in support. We would strongly encourage this book to any church still wanting to reach the next generation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Peter Gilchrest
I think everyone can relate to something written in this book, whether you're an "old timer" or a younger member of a church. The issues MacDonald deals with are universal as churches attempt to hold on to their roots and yet try to be relavent to today's quickly changing culture. This book will be a benefit to church members and pastors alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
joe
The problem with books of this persuasion and of the opposite persuasion is that it starts with the basic presumption that church is about having our felt needs meet and about having a good time. No where in the New Testament does it talk about entertainment being the focus of the congregational meeting. In scripture the priority is on the word of God being preached and the sacraments being distributed properly. The body of Christ is made up of the old and the young and one is sick of the older generation complaining all the time about new things and the middle aged people saying that the church is not relevant for the youth. Let the Bible be preached and from there and the Holy Spirit's application of it problems will be solved easier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Who Stole My Church?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Matt Hafer
I get it, i mean, i do. I understand why some might feel as Macdonald does, but, he is way off base. Here is the fundamental problem with this line of thinking:The baby boomers were born into a world of growing churches. Their Sunday Schools were at times better attended than their worship services, and everything was good. The problem is, they saw that effective, and kept it, forever.The reason why there is a drastic decline in church attendance today is largely because the church has been hijacked, by the older generations. They see things have have existed for 60-100 years as holy, but, they were just there to relate to the culture in the US, 100 years ago. The problem is, they fight it when the church tries to relate to the culture, now. Someone has hijacked the church, and until they sit and let God's will happen, and allow a dying generation to be a part of it, the church will keep showing people that it doesn't even care about this generation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.