Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God

Thomas Nelson Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God

Some of the most powerful stories from the Bible will come alive for today's readers through these inspiring selections from the writings of Max Lucado. Max provides a compelling look at the most high-impact moments in the biblical narrative, drawn from his previous 20+ years of writing.

At the end of each chapter will be study guide questions so the reader can go deeper into this scripture.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God
Review 1 for Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have read all of Max Lucado's adult books, and I have to say though this was well written as all his others book, funny and inspiring it was not my favorite. It seemed that he drew on bit's and pieces of this other works and I felt that I was re-reading some of those books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-read for Max Lucado fans

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
theChacogirl
Location:Paraguay, South America
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my review of the book: “Cast of Characters” by Max Lucado
Max Lucado introduces us to various different characters of the bible in this great book. He weaves a story around each one, which makes you think, they are sitting right across from you and telling you their story themselves. And in each life he portrays, you can see the mighty hand of God leading and shaping this person.
One of my favorite chapters is the one about the paralyzed man. Lucado describes Jesus walking through a crowd of suffering people near the pool of Bethesda. He could have been in the temple or in a more sanitary crowd. But he chose to be here because: “When they suffered, he suffered also” (Isaiah 63:9) And even though we might be healthy and not in need of physical healing as this man, who had been lying near the pool for so long, waiting for the waters to heal him, we need Jesus to heal our hearts. Max shows with the verses in Colossians 2:13 – 15 what exactly God did for us, when we accept Jesus as our savior.
• God made you alive
• God forgave
• He canceled the debt
• He took away that record
• God stripped the spiritual rulers
• He won that victory
• He showed the world that they were powerless.
We were trapped and God came to the rescue.
After every chapter there are helpful questions for reflection and discussion.
I used one chapter as a bible study with a group of ladies and we all enjoyed it.
This book is filled with hopeful stories of real people. You can almost imagine they live today and Max Lucado had coffee with them yesterday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book is excellent

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sue Skutley
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max Lucado makes the characters come alive and asks questions that I never thought of asking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth Ann Dell
How do you bring Bible characters to life for todays readers? Many authors take us back in time and show the folk in Bible days, but Max Lucado uses an innovative approach. He blasts them into modern societythen tells their stories with modern twists. For example, Matthew, the first-century tax collector, becomes the guy whos never invited to the neighborhood cookouts or high-school reunions.Cast of Characters is gleaned from Max Lucados best-sellers. The Bible folk are chosen from the Old and the New Testament, and include lesser known people like Mephibosheth and heroes such as Paul. It was exciting to see myself in the bookif these peoples lives counted, then mine, with all its shortcomings, also counts in the hands of a loving God.Max Lucados conversational style is a pleasure to read. The chapters are short and stand alone. They start with a Bible reading and then retell the characters story set in modern society and laced with anecdotes from Max Lucados life. Questions for discussion and reflection end each one. I found this book ideal for a quick read during a coffee break as well as a great tool for my devotional time. It also lends itself for use in a Bible Study group. I enjoyed Cast of Characters and highly recommend it.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Natasha Atkerson
This is the first book I have ever read by Max Lucado, and I must say, the best non- fiction book I've read in a very long time! Most devotional/inspirational books-that I've read- are dull and lifeless. Not so with this book! Lucado takes a "cast of characters" from the Bible and places them in real life situations, allowing you to relate easier to them. For instances, take Moses. The scene pans to a murderer, reduced from the life of a big-shot, to a janitor. Ever heard the story of Moses like that? I have now! Each chapter is ended with thought provoking questions pertaining to that chapter.Lucado's writing style is easy to read, and flows. I stayed up into the wee hours of the night, wanting to finish this book! The only complaint I have is that he used one word that is not acceptable in my house. I don't care ___. Not considered "horrible" for most, but not acceptable in my family. Otherwise, I was very pleased with the book. I would jump if given the chance to read another of Max Lucado's books. Romance level: Below Jane Austen. Some Bible references to harlotry and prostitution. But nothing you wouldn't find in the Bible!Violence: low (again, nothing you wouldn't find in the Bible)Negative content: One inappropriate word not used my house. This book was given to me courtesy of Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shannon
Cast of Characters Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God by Max Lucado.When I take the time and try to imagine the Apostle Paul, I tend to think of his achievements and his courage as opposed to his foibles and challenges. When I think of Moses I tend to think of his great faith and not his struggles. Bottom line, these men along with the other common people Lucado writes about are human. In Cast of Characters Max Lucado examines the lives of some very notable people from Scripture. Starting with Joseph, the earthly father of Jesus and ending with Peter, Lucado reminds us that the only thing extraordinary about them was the power of an Almighty God. Lucado writes in a style that is very easy to read, without insulting the readers intelligence. The chapters are short, which makes reading seem almost effortless. And throughout the book I felt myself relating to these characters in new and unexpected ways. I found the reflection and discussion questions at the end of each chapter extremely helpful in processing my thoughts after reading the chapter. From time to time, Lucados speculations on the inner thoughts of these characters seemed a little unnecessary but that can be easily forgiven. Overall this is a book that I would recommend to my friends and family. However, this book should not be used as a substitute for daily devotions. It could however be used as a compliment to your further study. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hayley
Have you ever felt like you couldnt relate to the people in the Bible, that their stories were just history and not relevant to you today? In his book Cast of Characters Max Lucado retells stories of Bible Heroes and helps you realize that they were just common people in the hands of an uncommon God. He helps you see how their stories can be relevant today and how you are very similar to them. This book was such an encouragement to me, because it helped me realize that God doesnt use perfect people, and the people who have it all together. Rather, He uses those who have problems and bad habits and makes their lives an example of His love, grace and mercy. This book is another treasure by Max Lucado and really helped me see that I have similarities to the people of the Bible and that God can use me just like he used them. I may not ever know the impact of my life, just like the people in the Bible didnt know the impact that they would have on generations to come, but God has a plan and a purpose for everything that we do.I would like to thank Thomas Nelson for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2010
you have never read a book by Max Lucado before then this is a great place to start. This book contains excerpts from previous books. Each chapter is a profile of a Biblical character. The profile reminds us that even these heroes of the Bible, Joseph, Moses, John, and Paul, to name a few, all had flaws and struggles. The more you look at people like Mary, Martha, Esther, and Sarah the more you realize that they are human like you and me. God does not chose extraordinary people. Instead God uses ordinary people to do some extraordinary things.I have always enjoyed the writings of Max Lucado, and this book did not disappoint. I need to be reminded that these great people of the Bible are only great because they serve a great God!To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I must post that Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review. I also must say that the opinions are all mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
The play has been cast and the characters have been chosen by God to fulfill His purpose and teach us the lessons we need to know. Max Lucado takes persons from the Bible, the characters, and their stories and portrays them in a modern day language and world so we can more easily apply the situation to our lives. Each chapter is based upon an ordinary person from the Bible who fulfills an extraordinary purpose for God. They are written with the story from scripture at the beginning of each chapter and questions for reflection and discussion at the end of each chapter. This format would be valuable and very useful in a group discussion setting. I have always been inspired by the simple messages that Max Lucado gives us in his writings. He writes in a modern day language using personal stories and reflection to support his points. God used the characters in the Bible to change the world and fulfill His plan. Many of them were seemingly unimportant until they carried out His ultimate plan. Lucado makes us realize that we can identify with anyone of these characters and work toward completing Gods will for our lives.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Godspoetic1
I really wasnt sure what to expect, when I first picked up the book Cast of Characters, by New York Times Best selling author, Max Lucado, to read.This book is about aCommon People in the Hands of An Uncommon God.Story after story, marked by scandal, stumble , and intrigue. Who are these people? Theyre the people of the Bible. And theyre us. We find our stories in theirs. We find our hope, where they found theirs. In the hands of an Uncommon God.As I read through the book, I could see, but who else, God in them all! He was, and is, theirs and our Maker, Shaper, Rescuer, and even a hero! This book is filled with many inspiring stories, and the master story teller, Lucado has revisited many of his favorite bible Characters, bringing alive their weaknesses, to show that they were, and are just like us, yesterday, today, and forever! This book would make a great gift or even tool, to use for small groups or even in Sunday School.As per FTC guidelines, I must state that I received a complimentary copy of the book Cast of Characters, to read for review. My opinions are expressly my own and are in no way influenced positively or negatively, due to receiving this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.