Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For

Harvest House Publishers The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For

What in the world has happened to the contemporary church? It seems to be more interested in pleasing men than God. Meanwhile, many Christians are consumed with pursuing pleasure and political correctness, making the church seem to have more in common with the world than with Christ. The Christianity of the Bible is no longer seen as the most explosive, most vibrant, most extraordinary force on Earth - a force meant to bring glory to God and turn people's hearts in His direction. Author Eric Ludy calls on Christians to be brave and fight for the truth. After reading this book, you will never want to go back to "Christianity as usual"!
Average Customer Rating:
4.794 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 333%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Review 1 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the truth is spoken

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jennie
Location:Ripley, OH
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You go, Eric!!!! Talk about preaching the truth of Christ with no apologies! Which is the way it should always be preached! I dare say if someone has a problem with this book and its message, its because their toes were stepped on spiritually and they are lukewarm Christians. Because in TBG, the truth of Christ is presented, lovingly but honestly, in its purest form and Eric shows us how the Christian life is really supposed to be lived. We have watered down the Gospel to what WE want it to say, and in doing so have tried to become our own gods. We need the manly stuff back in the church! We need more men like Eric. We need to go back to where there's a right and wrong; black and white. Back to the bravehearted Gospel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bryon Jr
Location:29 Palms , CA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It really goes through the modern day church in the US and other power house nations. How we allowed the world to infiltrated the Church instead of the Church that should had infiltrated the world. It talk about both the Jesus that let children come here but how we forgotten the Christ that whipped.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
ditto
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The theme of this book is good. The approach of attacking and abusing other Christians is tragic. It seems okay for the author to admit his struggles, but for anyone else to be honest they have committed the gravest of all sins. If you want to see an emergent demon behind every tree then this is the book for you. But his approach is anything but brave- I would call it arrogance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Matthew
A fascinating book written in a breathless style that is fresh in places, awkward in others. Like a first draft, it cries out for a revision. Despite the books late start, Ludys thesis is presented on page one: American Christians have no testosterone. This is served up more delicately from the first sentence, One of my least favorite words in the English language is castrate. Once Ludy finishes apologizing and gets out of his own way, he begins hitting back. A caustic edge appears, a hint of irony that blossoms into honest hatred of what he sees. Part of the books appeal is how it chronicles modern Christianity via Ludys targets. Churches dominated by women is not news, but Ludys swing at the effeminate, cool Christian he calls Metro is new to me. Ludy lets Metro have it in the jaw. I love my friend Metro.... But I have no stomach for him traipsing around like a drag queen under the banner of Jesus Christ. I have to wonder if ol Metro is not the inspiration for the book, if a trend or just one effeminate individual. If a trend, Ludy takes on the task of bucking the trend.A good part of the book attacks the so-called emergent church movement, their rise and their lack of a clear stand on anything. Ludy describes and rebuts this current herresy well. It is a good introduction to this topic.Ludys nails become well and better driven as he names names and turns the charge of legalism on its head. He lays out the distinction between conviction and condemnation, and offers no apology for judging, and neither did Paul (1Cor5:12-13). Still, his issues often come across as local and not exactly familiar. When Ludy confesses that he lives in Suburbia, whose character and follies are well recognized, I am inclined to react, well, what do you expect? its suburbia.An inspiring read in great need of revision. A great theme by a good writer deserves better. Part of the manly stuff is the relentless pursuit of excellence.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sandra Harbarugh
Still reading; can't rush through it to absorb everything. Excellent book. Makes you want to pray more and get as close to God as you possibly can. Also makes you wonder why the true church ever allowed themselves to get where they are today. Let us go back!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lindsey D. McEvoy
This manuscript is extreme. Jesus is extreme. Truth is extreme. Therefore, those whose eyes fall on the pages of TBG will be either intensely hungry for it, or intensely not. It happened to Christ, and because Truth is untainted, it will happen today. This review supports the relevant, Biblical truth Eric Ludy articulates in The Brave Hearted Gospel. Having been humbled by the very truths he writes, Mr. Ludy is credible to write as he relates to his audience on a topic not easily digested. He is profoundly relevant to write this book.The message and method of communicating are vital to the art of effective authorship. TBGs message is clearly Biblical, and passionately uniting with the forefathers of historical Christianity. The method is to directly, and graciously expose we are vividly out of touch with the abundant life available in Christ! Jesus was also gracious, and direct when needed, being just as forward to the Church as TBG! (Rev. 3:15-16, 19)The heart of Ludys plea is that were falling asleep at the wheel. It is time to stop the car, or wake up and drive! The poison of mediocrity is contaminating that which God meant to be holy, set apart, thriving, and desirable!A call to rethink how we have ebbed away from the heart of the Gospel is not easy to digest, but according to the boldness of Scripture itself, we were created to handle it! Therefore, as readers humble themselves before the Lord, this book should be clearly welcomed by all leaders within Christendom!Painfully honest, and directly convicting, TBG is a means of grace! While it feels better to immediately appease symptoms, spiritually or physically, decay is inevitable unless the root problem is addressed. Finally, there is a book unveiling modern day Christianity for what it is out of touch.Through the power of Christ in me, I commit to fighting for this book. And from one soldier in Christ to another, I will pick it up if it falls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kyle Wolter
This is the best book I have ever read in my life. This is the message the church needs to hear if it will be raised from the dead. Read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Harold H. Wesche
Eric Ludys book, The Bravehearted Gospel, is a much needed book exposing error and exhorting Believers to ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein (Jer. 6:16). Eric is valiant for the truth (Jer. 9:3), especially so in this book as he courageously obeys Gods Word when it tells us to Take no part in the unfruitful works of darkness, but instead expose them. (Eph. 5:11). This book is a great introduction to some of the most dangerous errors creeping into the modern church, an excellent starting point for becoming aware of the insidious teaching of the emergent church leaders of today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rich
Like others that have read this book, I found myself moved to do something about the blatant attack on the True "Church" of Jesus Christ. It motivated me to search out the scriptures to learn for myself if what I've been taught is actually what the Bible teaches. Thank you for taking the chance by writing and publishing this book. I only pray that more authors follow in your foot steps. This is truly a God send, something that has been needed for a very long time.Thanks again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Melanie Steffen
The message of this book is what the church needs to hear! It is unvarnished truth that has the power to change lives. I am recommending this book to everyone I know. Its message has impacted me like no other book has. You must read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jason Lewis
Rarely am I as challenged by a modern day author as I have been by "Bravehearted". This book resonates as truth in my soul, and it is a message that should be shouted from the roof tops. It communicates clearly and passionately - reading more like the classical Christian writers - describing a problem with the church that is spreading like wild fire. Oh, we all know all the problems and failures of the church... but I don't think many of us know the dangers of "metro-theism" and how close we are to it. A definite must read for believers who do not feel themselves at peace with the state of the church, and for men and women of God who long for a life with Christ as described in the Bible. We need the "manly stuff", and I'm willing to join the fight!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cindy Poe
The genius of the Bravehearted Gospel is that this is not a book that you will read but rather one that will read you. For anyone who has wondered at the hypocrisy in the lives of those who call themselves believers, read this book. For those who have attended church for any length of time and are wondering if this is all there is to the Christian life, if there is anything more, read this book. For those who are searching for God, for any and all who dare to call themselves Christian- read this book. This book begs you to look into a mirror and down into your own soul and ask yourself who you are who do you want to be. Are you a Christian to whom God is a means to a happy and phosphorus life and not a end upon which all things hinge? Are you a Christian to whom God is more of an insurance policy against the agonies of hell, not an all consuming fire and greatest desire? Is you life yielded to Him, does your life revolve around Him or do you live according to your own ways, tacking God in where it is convenient? This isnt simply a homage paid to Eric Ludy or the Bravehearted Gospel in of itself but to what they represent: Christ. Christ and his perfect, magnificent gospel in its full, unadulterated glory. The Bravehearted Gospel, written with passion, humor, and humility, is a fearless and unrepentant TRUE testament to God and who He really is, not who the modern Church has made Him out to be. Read this book and say good-by to mediocrity and hello to the path of the Bravehearted path. The path pioneered by one Christ Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Naomi Feil
This book contains incredible life changing, I mean world changing truths that the Church desperately needs to hear! Modern day Christianity is a far cry from what it was in the New Testament and there is a desperate need for something to be done about it. Christians are no longer living out the gospel in their everyday lives and the Word of God has been diminished to springy truth by the emergant Church. Droves of people are leaving the Church by the time they get to college as Christianty has become only a free ticket to heaven and nothing more. The Bravehearted Gospel is Eric's best book yet and it is given not with convincing words of men's wisdom, but in the power of the spirit. It describes the desperate need for Christians to live out their faith and practical gospel truths in how that needs to happen. I would strongly recommend reading this book as well as anybody that you know. This message has so dramatically changed by life because it presents the truth and nothing but the truth! Most books at the Christian book store are wolves in sheep clothing that only tell you what you want to hear and not actually preach the gospel. This book is not one of those, it is in a league all it's own! If people read this book, and start truly laying down their lives for the sake of Christ...then watch out this world is going to be turned upside down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Laura Douglas
This book is a MUST Read! It will challenge your faith no matter how strong you THOUGHT it was. Eric Ludy challenges us to be REAL, UNCOMPROMISING CHRISTIANS. This would be a great gift for everyone you know. You read it too--- it's well worth your time and money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
John Murray
God used this book to change my life. I've been walking with the Lord for over 20 years and the Lord used this book to convict me of the subtle compromise in my life. I have re-committed my life to Christ and He is restoring to me my first love. Read it. I dare you!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Renee
This is Eric Ludy at a whole new level. He has moved beyond teenage relationship advice and emerges as a solid, convicting voice speaking directly to the American Church. His message is beyond relevant - we needed to hear this yesterday! Ludy speaks truth with a gentle ferocity. His humility and "I'm-writing-this-to-myself-too" attitude is clear, and yet he increasingly calls Christians to a higher standard. He does not settle for lackluster, but pleads with a disillusioned Church to see the glorious Light! This book will transform the way you view the world, the culture, and Western Christianity. It will stir something mighty and valiant within you, and it's hard to sit still after reading even a few pages! Eric Ludy's message is a wake up call, a bucket of cold water, and a war cry for the saints of Christ. I pray that the Church takes notice and bravely takes a hit from this timely ton of bricks. Bring on the "manly stuff"!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Katrina
Eric Ludys new book, The Bravehearted Gospel, is a gripping and unashamed proclamation of truth that is desperately needed in our modern era of a redefined, watered down, anything goes Christianity. The compelling message of this book is a call to arms for the defense of Gods Word. It is a rousing cry for the return to Biblical, historic Christianity a Christianity that is alive with fiery passion, courage, sacrifice, victory, and the relentless pursuit of God Himself. It is a passionate appeal to be the hands and feet of Christ to the oppressed and needy of the world. Once I started reading my advance review copy of this book, I could not put it down. Every paragraph struck a chord within my soul and urged me on to the next. With his usual masterful eloquence, Eric issues forth a stirring challenge to live the sold-out, set-apart life of a true warrior of Jesus Christ no matter the cost. Those who catch the vision are sure to change this world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rhonda
Finally, someone with some backbone! Thank you Eric for being bold enough to proclaim this message! I get so tired of seeing Christians live in such mediocrity. Thank you for reminding us that it's not about us! We need to die to ourselves and live for Christ alone! We are to be His vessel, His hands, and His feet. This is a must read for every Christian! It's time that we give up the shallow, lifeless pursuits that we live for and stand up for what is right, a life fully yielded to the pursuit of Christ! May that name of Jesus be proclaimed and lives changed through the message of this book! Well done, Eric! And as for the Bravehearted Path, count me in!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Melody Mason
Wow!!! This book should have been written years ago, and has the convicting power that could change our entire generation!! No more "status-quo, let's keep them comfortable, make sure my cross is padded" messages for me!!!! The Bravehearted Gospel is a WAKE-UP CALL and MUST READ for everyone seeking to truly stand for Christ and Truth!!! It's a life-transforming, radical, powerful call to the return of the nitty-gritty gusto of Historic Christianity that we sooooo desperately need! But the path to this "return"....well, it will probably be different then you expect. I couldn't put the book down, nor can I reccommend it more highly. But beware, don't start reading unless you are willing to be challenged and inspired to live for Christ like never before...a life that will ultimately mean your death!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Bravehearted Gospel: The Truth is Worth Fighting For
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joel P.
Wow! The Church needs this message, we need it now, I want a case-load, and I know plenty of others who will as well! As a youth pastor, I saw the "cool", the counterfeit, and the "open-mind" constantly oozing into the Church passing itself off as the Truth, and it turned my stomach! The Bravehearted Gospel has a different effect on my stomach: It puts fire in it, and though it has made me uncomfortable, I love it! In fact several times I was talking to myself as I read, saying, "yes, Eric, yes, keep bringing it, thank God someone has finally taken the gloves off for the Kingdom!" I have grown so tired of generalities and wishful thinking with regards to what needs to change in the Church in America. By God's Grace, Eric Ludy got specific, he got practical (though he unfortunately ran out of room), and he named names. It's about time someone did! The only thing I would perceive as a problem is that at times early on he seems almost too apologetic about writing this book. But then, that's coming from someone who has historically leaned a bit more toward the Luther/Wallace way of doing things. I guess it's the Scotch and Cherokee in me! :) I thought the way he alternated the Parts with Chapters and then The Bravehearted Path was very effective. I realize some of what he says may be a real stretch for some people's minds, but the fact of the matter is, if the Church in the United States doesn't stretch some, she is going to die for lack of exercise! I pray that this book will be a like a match that lights a dynamite fuse in our generation! I love it! The Bravehearted Gospel --- I'm in, all the way!!! And I'm already looking forward to that second book Eric mentioned...Sola Deo Gloria!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>