Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Common Sense Press Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 2, Activity Red

Common Sense Press Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 2, Activity Red

This Learning Language Arts Through Literature (LLATL) Activity book contains student instructions to allow for independent work, enrichment exercises, copywork, word puzzles, analogies, logic activities, additional literature passages, and hands-on exclusive activities. All answers are found in the sold-separately LLATL Grade 2 (Red) Teacher's Book, which this book must be used with, alongside the student readers, which are found in the full kit. 376 pages, softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 2, Activity Red
Review 1 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 2, Activity Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tracey
Location:Edmond, Ok
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loved this language arts program. It gets the job done and the readers are very sweet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 2, Activity Red
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

LATL Red: Mixed feelings

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
tallmamaof3
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have mixed feelings about this curriculum, now that we've plugged away with it for the entire year. I love that it is all-inclusive and uses readers as well as real books (that's what I like most). I do wish it used the real books even more. I also like all the hands-on materials. That really helped my little kinesthetic learner. It is also very affordable, which is SO important. With that said, I am unhappy with the fact that this is not anywhere near 2nd grade level according to our state standards. We've ended up skipping more than half the book and I had to supplement a lot of my own materials and printouts. The "spelling" portion is nearly non-existent and I had to add "Sequential Spelling." It kind of made for a very incoherent day (which defeats the purpose of using this curriculum). If you are coming straight from the Blue Book, this will be fine, but if you're coming from something else, it will be all review, you shouold probably look at the yellow book. I wish I would have. If you've got the money, you may want to invest in one of the more expensive curriculums. I gave it 4 stars becasue it's a good base to work from, and being a former public school teacher, I've got the know-how and resources to add what we needed, where as a new homeschool mom may not.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 2, Activity Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom of Many
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This is a wonderful LA program. It may "seem" too easy for some who are used to typical workbook style but in the end this program really delivers. The only thing I would ever add to it would be a bit more writing opportunities....we've always added a daily journal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 2, Activity Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great All In One LA Program!

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Location:Sk, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first year homeschooling. I chose to go with LLATL because it was recommended to me by several homeschooling friends.
I love that this is an all in one set. I did not want to have fuss with different books for each sub area of language arts, and I am really enjoying it's ease of use.
I have to admit that I underestimated how important the readers are to the course. I figured that all I needed was the student book, but I am finding that we end up missing a substantial amount of the course. I would highly recommend that you get the full kit with readers to get the most out of this program.
The book is well made and has a wide range of activities to help kids retain what they are learning. Extra activities, mini books, and flip books are all things my son is enjoying about this program.
One small thing I would change, though, is the binding of the book. As we are nearing the middle of the book, it is sometimes hard to write neatly as it does not open to a lay flat position. Tear out pages, or a coil binding would greatly improve the student manual. However, if this is a problem for you too, you could always cut out the pages or pay your local print shop to cut off the spine and coil bind it for a small fee. I wouldn't let this minor thing stop you from using a great program!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 2, Activity Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
This has been one of the nicest and most wonderful Language Arts curriculum that I have used. I enjoy the fact that by going through books while teaching the concepts of Language Arts it encourages your child to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 2, Activity Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
MNHomeschoolmom
This is a great continuation of the phonics program started in the Blue Book. Very teacher and kid friendly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 2, Activity Red
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Penny Murphy
I used this program with my son and am now using it four years later with my daughter. We really enjoy it. It covers the needed material in such a way that it seems fun and not boring. There is quite a bit of cutting and pasting, but if my daughter does not want to do that or if I feel it will break up the flow of learning to much I do the cutting and pasting and just have her do the actual learning part of the activity. I would recommend this program to anyone who is not looking for your typical workbook program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 2, Activity Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2002
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Excellent, easy to teach and fun! My kids loved it and so did I! No preperation time and tons of fun projects to do. Good stuff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.