Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Common Sense Press Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow

Common Sense Press Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow

This Learning Language Arts Through Literature (LLATL) Yellow Activity book contains independent work activities, enrichment exercises, additional readings, word puzzles, analogies, logic activities and other activities. All answers are found in the sold-separately LLATL Grade 3 (Yellow) Teacher's Guide, and this book cannot be used independently of it. 376 pages, softcover.

Books Needed to use this Curriculum:

  • The White Stallion by Elizabeth Shub / ISBN: 9780440412922
  • Madeline by Ludwig Bemelmans / ISBN: 9780140564396
  • Meet George Washington Joan Heilbroner / ISBN: 9780375803970
  • The Courage of Sarah Noble by Alice Dalgliesh / ISBN: 9780689715402

    Note:For a printable list of what books are needed for this curriculum, please see the "More Information" (PDF) link above.

  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.833 out of 5
    4.8
     out of 
    5
    (12 Reviews) 12
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
    5 stars
    10
    4 stars
    2
    3 stars
    0
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    0
    7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Questions & Answers:
    1 Question | 3 Answers
    Customer Reviews for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow
    Review 1 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Language Arts the Natural Learning Way

    Date:March 31, 2014
    Customer Avatar
    Kathy
    Location:Southeast Wisconsin
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Learning Language Arts through Literature is based on the educational philosophy of Dr. Ruth Beechick and her natural learning method as outlined in her books, "The Three R',” "Language and Thinking for Young Children,” and “You Can Teach Your Child Successfully.” The curriculum is authored by the late Debbie Strayer, a homeschooling mother, teacher, author and public speaker.
    Learning Language Arts through Literature Yellow Book is a comprehensive language arts curriculum which teaches phonics, spelling, reading, grammar, composition, research and study skills, higher order thinking skills, creative expression, games, and penmanship. The author has chosen “real books” which are the back bone for the curriculum’s lessons. “Real Book” selections include: “Madeline,” “The Courage of Sarah Noble,” “Meet George Washington,” and “The While Stallion.”
    Literature passages from “real books” such as “The Other Kitten,” “The Tale of Jeremy Vole,” and “Bible Stories to Read” are utilized for copy work and dictation. Learning Language Arts through Literature incorporates choral reading, drama, illustrating, oral presentation, pantomime, poetry, puzzles, and riddles into the daily lesson plans.
    The instructors guide is comprised of easy to use lesson plans spanning a period of 36 weeks. Each lesson is made up of the following components: New Skills Taught, Materials Needed, Scripted Lesson Plan, Higher Order Thinking Skills, Answers, Examples, Diagrams and References to the student activity book. The Skills Index is an easy to use reference for the teaching parent. Assessments allow the teacher to evaluate the student’s progress. Review activities follow the lessons to provide the student with additional skills practice. Placement tests are available online at the Common Sense Press website.
    As a homeschooler, I have perused several language arts curriculums. I cannot praise this curriculum enough! Learning Language Arts Through Literature receives an A+ from this homeschooling parent!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    This is a great all in one L.A program!

    Date:January 4, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Jodyrigler
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Love this all in one. Saves time switching from one subject to another. It does a great job of giving extra when needed and wanted! I think I will use it all the way through!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    We love this curriculum!

    Date:October 9, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Kari
    Location:Cambridge, MN
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This is a wonderful well-rounded curriculum. Some things are challenging, but never too tough. A must-have for the mom's that are a little concerned about teaching grammar. This eases you in nicely to the grammar, even for those of us that never had grammar in our education growing up. The spelling words are great. The writing passages are neat. The books to read are a bit simple for my daughter, but she reads plenty of other books, so it's ok if her school books are not extremely challenging. Will stick with this curriculum for several years to come!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    great for kids who like interaction

    Date:September 7, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Homeschoolmom
    Location:Colorado
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Our daughter likes this book because it never gets boring to her, and she likes the interaction with me. I like it because it requires just about no work ahead of school, and it's so easy to use.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Very Pleased

    Date:September 1, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    rose
    Location:NC
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I am very pleased with this set, this manual provides all of the information I need and lessons are very simple to follow.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:August 19, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    slvdb
    Location:North Chesterfield, VA
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Easy to use and follow, laid out very well for student and parent. Fun and my son loves his time of LA.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Learning Language Art Through Literature Grade 3,

    Date:January 20, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    mama2fourgirls
    Location:Illinois
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    We have been using LLATL for years now. I am always very pleased with the gentle flow of learning that comes with these books. In makes it not only a joy to teach, but my children really love it as well!
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:August 27, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Janey Goude
    Lessons are well marked out. They are a nice size for one day and a good variety. Some of the instructions are not the clearest, but maybe that is just us since it is our first year with them!Binding makes it difficult for kids to manage. This would be much better as a spiral bound. I took it to Office Depot and had them cut the end off and put a spiral bind on it. It was only a few dollars (I think just under $4 each). Highly recommend. Especially for littler hands. But even my 7th grader has appreciated the spiral binding. Caution, the 7th grade one came with pre-punched holes - which was useless and made the spiral binding less sturdy. If you have a choice, opt for the copy without holes.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 7, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    MNHomeschoolmom
    I have homeschooled for 9 years and this is the best language program that I have ever seen. I have used it for 5 years with various ages. The Blue Book is an EXCELLENT phonics program. My children have all turned out to be excellent writers. Also, the teacher's books are very nicely laid out for ease of use. Good stuff!
    +4points
    4of 4voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 5, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Tabitha Ostermann
    I love the Language arts program , for a mom who hasn't had college edu. It's teacher freindly I taught my 2 oldest to read with it. Now I'm teaching my 3 younger children. And it's fun to go to the library to get out the books they reccomend. :)
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:March 9, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Erin
    I ordered the yellow book for the 2009-2010 school year. It would be for my daughter who will be in 3rd grade. I think this is a very well thought out curriculum, but I would say that it is at least a year behind.
    +1point
    2of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature, Grade 3, Yellow
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:October 8, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    DeAnne Henderson
    It's great! My son doesn't complain, so this is a real blessing. Easy to follow and teach from.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.