Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships

Harvest House Publishers 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships

Wait! Stop! Don't say it! Pegues knows how easily a few careless words can cause problems in our business and personal relationships. Here she offers 30 devotions filled with Scripture, stories, humor, and soul-searching questions to help you take control of hasty, gossiping, belittling, know-it-all, retaliatory remarks . . . before you really put your foot in your mouth! 144 pages, softcover from Harvest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.795 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Review 1 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Actual book size

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eiy5
Location:Torrance , CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Already had a copy of the book and I ordered these copies for members of my Bible study group. I was disappointed that this book was smaller than the one I own. My book was the same size as the workbook
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heed its teachings and you will be a better person

Date:February 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ms J
Location:KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book speaks to a person's heart. There are so many
lessons that hit the power of words and the damage the
words can do to others. It is a timely book that is needed
in this world today. We need to stop and think before
speaking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clear illumination of basic instruction

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sharon Breedlove
Location:San Leandro, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Growth through Scripture as this teaching identifies and validates the daily patterns of mindless destructive practices. This understanding should be "required reading" for all able to speak and therefore impact another.
Excellent analysis and description.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
nickname nif
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book is basically a rehash of sins you can commit with your tongue and some of the damage it can cause. As far as taming it, the only advice given was essentially not to commit these sins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

TAMING YOUR TONGUE

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mrs Pink
Location:England
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book, really though provoking and easily to read. Very clear and concise and it gets the message home without jargon and uses appropriate bible scripture whilst giving clear references.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It just works!

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
davestightend
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Three chapters in, it hit me, It was working!! I find myself watching my words a lot more closely. A little 'preachy' and a bit repetitive, but overall a great read! A must have for anyone looking to make their words a useful tool!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pygz2
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book so much I have the ebook and the paperback version. I read it every couple of years.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful book to read

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Huguette
Location:Ottawa, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In this generation, there is a sense that we should speak out our minds without impunity, not realizing that it often damages others and greatly displeases the Holy Spirit. I was convicted to change my bad "tongue" habits and this very honest and thorough book does a great job at identifying and describing a great number of our daily attitudes. It is definitely a great help to taming the tongue.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will help you change your speech.

Date:February 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandra
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prompted a lot of self-reflection and transformation in my speaking. I recommend 30 to Changing Your Attitude as a pre- or post-requisite. Both are transformational reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very informative

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Moonflower
Location:Roscommon, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This book teaches about different tongue's like lying, harsh, boasting, betraying, and belittling tongue's. It explains the good and bad ways we use our tongue's against ours in these ways. It is a must read to see how we should not speak to friends and family members that we may be doing now and not even know. I know it has opened my eyes!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a great book to read

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Luke
Location:Dillsburg, PA
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this book to others. It is a good book for teens to read. My siblings and I we arguing over petty things and when we saw this book, we got it. It has helped use in areas that we needed to change. It is a good book overall.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT BOOK!!!

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
TOSHA
Location:NEW JERSEY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I WAS SO BLESSED BY THIS BOOK IT HELPED ME SO MUCH I AM A NEW WOMEN AND MY THOUGHTS ARE NEW TOO!!!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great examples.

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
oncelost05
This book dicusses situations when we may say the wrong thing to or about someone else (even ourselves), not realizing that it goes against what our Heavenly Father is trying to teach us, about the evil tongue. I love the outline at the beginning and the checklist at the end. I bought this book for my women's sunday school class. They loved it. Thanks again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good little book

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Prairie du Chien, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I could tell you just how great this book is, but you just have to buy. You won't be disappointed.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Taming my Tongue

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
LegacyKnits
Location:Hartford, CT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has the description for every tongue related problem in a format that is arranged well. You can flip to the area you are struggling with, such as the hasty tongue, or the lying tongue to name a few, and get insight and advice on that issue. I have even used it with my son when he was complaining...and it really helped.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book and WorkBook Even Better Than Expected!!

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Location:Deer Park, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really drawn to this book when I saw it online, especially when I saw all the different areas of the tongue that we all so desperately need to tame. There is no way that a person can do this bible study without recognizing some areas where their tongues can get them in trouble. What I was most impresssed with was the easy read that the book was with its short chapters and the great application that its instruction has for everyday life. Whats more was the profound truth of the scriptures that confirmed and validated the instruction and wisdom that the author brings forth in this book. I bought these books for my Bible Study Group so I also got the Companion Workbook that was equally awesome! Great value too!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maxine Elam
Just started using this book and it is excellent with an easy conversational style. It is also full of appropriate Scriptures to solidify the content.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janis Lanning
Excellent life changing book. Easy to read, yet challenging. Biblical and everyday examples. I have read this numerous times and given many copies away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Gaston
The books arrived in very good to excellent condition and came within only a couple of days--faster than I had thought. This is an excellent book--I am using it to teach a ladies Bible class.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue: What You Say (and Don't Say) Will Improve Your Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Teresa Lynem
This makes the second Sunday we have had our class and we are still in the first chapter. This is such a good book. Everyone has so many questions, really good ones too. I sit back and just look at how much into the converstion everybody is. It's great!!! We are realizing things now that we would have never even considered or taken into consideration. This book really makes you think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>