Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan TNIV Church & Pew Bible

Zondervan TNIV Church & Pew Bible

Everybody in your congregation will be on the same page when you use this economical pew edition of the exciting TNIV translation.Readable design, reliable content * Same pagination as other TNIV text Bibles and Media Shout Bible projection software * Size: 5.5" x 8.5" x 1.5" * 1184 pages, hardcover.Please note: The binding is pulling away from the cover. It will be sold as-is and is priced accordingly.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for TNIV Church & Pew Bible
Review 1 for TNIV Church & Pew Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than NIV

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
MMFH
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TNIV is easier to understand than the NIV,NLT,NRSV Message etc.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for TNIV Church & Pew Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Translation

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris Myers
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a quality translation by an international committee of evangelical scholars. While some (e.g. Grudem and Poythress) have made some strong criticisms regarding its gender neutral language, I find it helpful (even as a complementarian). It is a faithful rendering of the original text in the form of a dynamic equivalence translation. While I prefer the ESV for in-depth study, I find that this translation is easier for many to read. Highly recommended! The NIV 2011 is closer to the TNIV than to the NIV 1984, but there are several changes. If price isn't a consideration, get the NIV 2011 edition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for TNIV Church & Pew Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Drew Epperson
Love the Bibles. Very durable and love the TNIV translation. Christianbook.com has an amazing customer svervice. Thanks for everything!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for TNIV Church & Pew Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Scott
TNIV is as good as any translation, and better than most. I've been primarily a reader of NIV for many years, but am transitioning to TNIV. I only wish TNIV were available in more study formats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for TNIV Church & Pew Bible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Johnny
The TNIV is a false translation, a warping of the Scriptures to please those who would set their own doctrines above the authority of the Bible. This so-called "Bible translation" is fit only for those who "will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own passions." Have nothing to do with it, and encourage everyone you meet to avoid it or get rid of it.
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for TNIV Church & Pew Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Brandon Stewart
The TNIV is an excellent thought-for-thought translation, it shows excellently both human gender neutrality (this translation does not refer to God as the divine "it") as well as corrects some of the translation difficulties of the NIV. In addition to both of those benefits, it is also easy to read and understand, and can also help the reader to dig deeper, all in all an excellent translation.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for TNIV Church & Pew Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
David Lassiter
Love this new version. It is nice to see how God's Word applies to both men and women.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for TNIV Church & Pew Bible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2005
I Don't like it at all. I will not add this to my library. After reading Genesis 1 I quit reading. I don't consider this the inspired word of God. Sorry to sound harsh, but, it's the truth.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.