Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor

Harvest House Publishers Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor

Urgent care physician Lesslie believes that emergencies are opportunities to demonstrate God's grace! Here he shares stories of the miraculous from his 25 years in the ER. You'll witness the handiwork of angels---friends, doctors, nurses, strangers, and unseen "others; learn to hold onto faith during tragedy and triumph; and embrace the healing balm of hope.
Average Customer Rating:
3.783 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Review 1 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it makes you relive memories

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
bunny
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the short stories. If you ever worked in the ER you will love to relive some of the experiences. Some are funny and some are sad. Great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed, it was depressing

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
KRK RN
Location:Toledo, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been a nurse for a long time and really could use some encouragement. I thought this book would offer that. I thought it would give examples of people triumphing through tragedy. I didnt even finish this book. It is so depressing, I have too many examples of people failing in life, I do not need anymore. Wouldnt recommend this book to anyone! Blah!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Re-read w.o. preconceived thoughts?

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:SC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wrote a review for the other volume - but these reviews did me in! True, we hear "angels" and think of some winged being...Well, these folks weren't that kind of angels. But to say the accounts were "JUST ORDINARY ER stories"! Wow! Come on, folks, the miracles were way beyond any angels' (so-called) capabilities. God working through the people in the ER and in His infinite wisdom NOT always giving the grand outcome, from our perspective, I sure do consider these EXTRAordinary stories. (By the way, angels don't have wings, did y'all know that? Check it out!)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maryrose Torigian
Like many other people, I did expect something different, but I still give it 5 stars because Dr. Lesslie does have heart for Christ and he was obviously spirit led to have written the book and so many of us Christians are reading it. You have to admit, the stories do touch your heart and you don't forget them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Troy
Not at all what I expected! I thought I was about to read about miracles of healing from a born again ER doctor, quite the contrary! He says he has never witnessed a miracle! I wish I had my money back!!! :(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jacquelyn Brandon
This book has moving stories with a great variety and also is a "quick read."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Zanicchi
I stayed up later than I should have reading this wonderful collection of stories and could hardly wait 'til my next chance to pick it up. Very encouraging and inspiring. A wonderful testimony of how God works without mentioning Him directly. Even an adamant atheist would be impressed and not offended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Krista Minnich
This book is certainly deceiving. I was expecting miracles, and felt that many of the stories just ended~ not making you feel inspired.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ann C Serocki
I have not finished the book, but it isn't exactly what I thought from the title. It's mainly so far been everyday stories from the ER.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joan E Holt
Reading flowed and was not what I had anticipated from given title. It was very interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Verna Thomason
This is a very interesting book and I enjoyed it very much. Dr. Leslie believes in God and encourages others to believe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
The title of the book is deceiving. The book isn't about miracles or God working in the ER like you would think it is. Instead it is just a collection of Dr. Leslie's personal stories. The stories are okay, but some of them were pretty depressing instead of inspirational. Definitely not what I expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Helen Tufts
I worked 40 years as an RN in a county hospital and as I read that book,I felt like I was bck on duty. Only the names were different, but the experiences were so much alike. People had been telling me that I needed to write a book, After reading this one, I said my book was already written!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Crain
As a retired nurse,this book was very interesting.I was extremely pleased with Dr.Lesslie's christian attitude toward his patients and his "down-to-earth"care for them.Patients need a doctor like him!!!!!I wish there were more with his kind of personality. We need christian doctors more today than ever before!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda Paul
While the stories in the book were interesting and I did read it all the way through, I have to say I was somewhat disappointed. The tag line led me to believe that the stories were "inspirational" yet many of them were about death and left you feeling sad rather than inspired. When I first saw the title, I felt it would be full of wonderful, spiritual experiences in the ER. The stories didn't do much to inspire me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Velasquez
Honestly I was expecting to read a book about people who have witnessed angelic visits while in the E.R. This book instead was about people who worked in the E.R who have the heart of Jesus and some of the amazing work they did. I loved the book. It was so easy reading I actually read it complete in one day. If you need a book of encouragement-this is the book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pamela Childress
It doesn't give stories of actual heavenly angels but rather earthly "angels" who work in the emergency rooms of hospitals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah Stinnette
We take the nurses and doctors in the ER for granted so often. This book reminds us of the constant care being given the patients by devoted and dedicated ER doctors and nurses. We need to read it and appreciate the care given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Shaffer
I bought this as a gift for my daughter who works in the local ER here - she is so enjoying the book! and to add to it we used to live in SC several miles south of Rock Hill but still was somewhat familiar with the area up there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Angels in the ER: Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Faith
This book was awesome. Very well written and reminded those of us who work in healthcare the importance of giving loving care to every individual no matter what walk of life they have come from. I would recommend this book to any one but especially to those who work in the healthcare profession!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>