Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2

Harvest House Publishers Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2

Secrets, treachery, and persecution are only a few of the challenges that test Rachel's faith and her love for the forbidden "outsider," while Gant's own hopes and dreams are dealt a life-changing blow, rendering the vow he made to Rachel seemingly impossible to honor.

Many of the other characters first introduced in Rachel's Secret now find their gentle, unassuming lives of faith jeopardized by a malicious outside influence. At the same time, those striving to help runaway slaves escape to freedom through the Underground Railroad face deception and the danger of discovery.

Average Customer Rating:
4.45 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Review 1 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Where Grace Abides is the second book in the Riverhaven years series. It picks up a few months after the first books ends and continues Jeremiah and Rachel’s story. We get to read about David and Susan’s wedding and the new career choice that Susan's son Gideon makes. We have new plot twists and get a pair of new characters that I hope we will get to see in the third book because I would like to get to know them better. Asa had a big part in this story which I thought was wonderful. He is truly a delightful character to read about.
For the middle book in a series it was decent. The story moved along fairly well, although I really didn’t get really and truly caught up into it until about half way through it. Over all it was a good book and I didn’t feel that I wasted my time with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting and Romantic.

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By now, the main characters in this series are like old friends to me - quite real and very lovable. I found it hard to put the book down. True to life in that there were some sad times, many happy times, and a few shocking events. And it had a happy ending - a must for me! I enjoyed it just as much as I did book one, and I am eagerly awaiting book three.
The first book in this series was my introduction to BJ Hoff. I will definitely be looking into other books written by her. I like the way she presents the story - not much taken for granted, plausible and entertaining. It's easy to love the heroes and intensely dislike the villain. The central theme of God's love and involvement in our lives is clear. It presents a strong Biblical base.
Activity in the Underground Railroad is the sub-plot. It's entertaining and exciting. Some close calls for the two characters that were transporting runaway slaves created suspense, and a notable increase to my heart rate! Mrs Hoff is an excellent story teller.
I really enjoyed this book very much and would recommend it without reservation. I think it would be suitable for adults - men or women, and mature teens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book series! Can't wait for #3!

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Levana
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a lover of Amish fiction, being of that heritage myself on my mom's side. B.J. Hoff captures the struggles and danger the Amish faced during the early years in America. I highly recommend any of her books-especially this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riverhaven Years

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
5grandes
Location:Ms
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed both Riverhaven Years books. Have waited for #3, but haven't found it. Help!! When will it be available?????
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

great series

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
southwestlover
Location:Mc Henry Il
Age:55-65
Gender:female
The riverhaven series is very exciting to read, one of those you just can't put down. It is a good combination of Amish fiction and history. I can't wait for the next book, it has been too long.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Sequel

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I usually prefer modern day stories when I'm reading Amish fiction. However, this series surprised me from the beginning and book of The Riverhaven Years upheld the fascination I found with book one.
Well written, intriguing, and very enjoyable read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeanne Muto
The book was very good. Couldn't put it down & had it read in no time.. Worth buying the book. I read all the series of them, excellent...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol Wilson
Loved both books...but upset the next and final episode is so far off...I want to read it NOW!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elaine Stout
Wonderful book . . . wonderful series. Can't wait for the next book to come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Enjoyed reading it Have forward it on to friends to read Looking forward to book 3 and so are my friends Unfortunately not coming out until fall of this year So long to wait to see what happens with Rachel and her outsider Will they be allowed to wed or will she have to give up on that idea
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Rogers
Very good. Of course I like Amish books so I guess I would like it anyway. But very good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Big Fan
Was so excited to read the second book in this series and it exceeded my expectations. The only problem is...now I have to wait to read the third one! A perfect combination of humor, drama and suspense, packed with characters you'll love- and a couple you'll love to loathe-this book is a page turner! Can't wait for the next one, BJ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Penny Hardaway
After the first book in this series, I could hardly wait for the 2nd book. I was not disappointed. I eagerly await the 3rd book.The author combines adventure, mystery, love of family, and romance successfully.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca gonzalez
I love the book, can wait for the next one, please make soon. I think of Rachel there wailing and waiting for her captain Gant and the big day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine Howard
A very enjoyable read, with just the right amount of questions answered and unanswered to keep the reader's attention and drive to finish a series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ellen Bushatz
My heart went out to Rachel.I love the sweetness of little Fannie and her faith and willing to forgive others. I"ll be hoping for #3 book to be available soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet Martin
I enjoyed this book tremendously. As this is the second in the series I am looking forward to the third book. The characters were well developed and the plot was believable. The author incorporated scripture, faith and history, at the right point without making the story, preachy or overstuffed. I highly recommend this book as well as the first and hopefully the third.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Ruwet
Surprising how the story twist and turns, great story, hard to put the book down again and can't wait for the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda J Landreth
This was a good book but it left a lot of questions in the plot unanswered. I guess they will be answered in the next book to follow. I like conculusions and things pulled together so maybe there could be subplots for the next one and more things answreed in this one. I did enjoy it though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Where Grace Abides, Riverhaven Years Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Turner
I enjoyed the book Cannot wait till the next one It held my interest couldnot put it dowm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.