Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Shadows of Lancaster County

Harvest House Publishers Shadows of Lancaster County

Anna thought she left the tragedies of the past behind when she moved from Pennsylvania to California, but when her brother vanishes from the genetics lab where he works, Anna has no choice but to head back home. Using skills well-honed in Silicon Valley, she follows the high-tech trail her brother left behind, a trail that leads from the simple world of Amish farming to the cutting edge of DNA research and gene mapping.

Anna knows she must depend on her instincts, her faith in God, and the help of the Amish community to find her brother. She also must finally face her own shadows-and pray that she's stronger than the grief that threatens to overwhelm them all.

Average Customer Rating:
4.744 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shadows of Lancaster County
Review 1 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exciting

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:Norway
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The forgivness that the Amish ppl display is a lesson for christians -it is a choice.
The founder effect is real. The rest was a little wierd I think.
A thrilling read, contained a lot. Neatly tied up and yes I was suprised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spellbinding book

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
janhil38
Location:Michingan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a hard time putting it down once I started it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adey
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had recently purchased and read The Amish Midwife and The Amish Nanny co-written by Mindy Starns Clark and I thought they were quite well done. I decided to try 4 of her stand-alone books including this one and WOW! I found them easy to read, and yet the storylines were unique and mysterious. The books had enough substance that it made me want to keep reading even if it was late at night :)
Highly recommend all 4 of Mindy's stand-alone books (Whispers of the Bayou, Shadows of Lancaster County, Under the Cajun Moon and Secrets of Harmony Grove). She starts with a climax in the first few chapters and keeps the intensity there throughout the rest of the book! Next on my list to buy is her Million Dollar Mystery series and I can't wait!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

like this Christian mystery writer!!

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
lovetoshop
Location:San Mateo, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read 4-5 of Mindy's books, so far, and have liked every one of them! I like how she mixes mystery with a just a little romance. She integrates what the Bible says or what a Christian struggles with in a natural way. I'd say there's less of a biblical viewpoint than some other Christian fiction writers, but she gets her point across in an easy-to-read way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting story that held my attention

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara F. Rodebaugh
Location:Greensburg, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story is very believable and getting to the facts of the situation made compelling reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This book has so many great qualities that I almost don't know where to start! It's got a fast-paced storyline, a good romantic element, and a mystery that will have you guessing the "who-done-it" all the way through. Not only that, but it's a hard book to put down. I was reading it every spare minute that I could!
Lately, I've been on the Amish fiction bandwagon, so I really liked the fact that this book was set in Amish country. This was my first experience with an Amish story that was combined with a mystery, with the mystery being the main focus of the story instead of the Amish. With that said, the author does include the important things one needs to know to understand the Amish culture. So, if you've never read Amish fiction before, you'd definitely get a good knowledge of what you need to know to understand their lifestyle.
Probably the most interesting thing that I liked about this book was that the DNA testing and research that goes on in Amish communities is factual. I had no idea that there were several genetic disorders that they have to deal with, but it's understandable since they're all so tight-knit and marry within their community. The author did an incredible amount of research that shows when the DNA lingo starts to get really technical, but she writes it in a way that makes sense.
Mindy Starns Clark is definitely an author I'll be on the lookout for in the future. Make no mistake--you'll not be sorry if you read Shadows of Lancaster County. It is not a book you want to miss out on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The element of suspense adds to the Amish genre

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first novel of this author I've had the chance to read. I enjoyed it so much. Amish fiction novels are what grab my attention but I loved that this one was filled with mystery solving and suspense. I tune out science talk most of the time but even the DNA lab scenes managed to hold my attention. I look forward to more books from this author and hope she will stay with the Amish themes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Roome
I enjoyed this exciting mystery very much. The characters were very nicely potrayed. I didn't guess the end and really enjoyed the way it was revealed!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Shelton
Great story. I could not put the book down until I finished it. I do not remember the last time I read a whole book in one day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rookie Christian Reader...
Amazing Book... Clark had me hooked from beginning to end. I hope to see more from this author not just in print but on the big-screen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marianna Gennett
an excelent read kept my interest through the entire book. I like this author and would read again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Penny Hardaway
This book wasn't exactly what I expected. But it was such a great mystery. The going back and forth between the past and present really kept my interest high. I could hardly wait to finish it. I will watch for more books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
kindermate
This author is so good! If you like mysteries, this one is a real page turner. It is not really an Amish story for those of you who are looking for that. The description makes the book sound a little "over my head" with the mention of DNA, genetics, and high tech but it was not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Shadows of Lancaster County by Mindy Starns Clark if a suspense novel chockfull of twisting plots and unexpected discoveries. Anne Bailey has created a new life for herself in California. Far away from her childhood home in Lancaster County,Pennsylvania and from the crime that destroyed her future. When her brother Bobby disappears leaving behind pregnant wife Lydia and son Isaac, Anne sets out to find him. That quest sets her on a course that will unearth secrets about DNA, long-lost gems, and the Amish. I'm a huge fan of Clark's work, and in the hands of any other author, this story would have been overburdened by all of the different plotlines and twists, but she handles them deftly, keeping readers flying through the pages. There's a lot of info about genetic testing and gene therapy that end up pulling the various story threads together. Clark's novel will appeal to readers who love the growing genre of Amish lit, as well as romantic thriller fans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Mcmills
Mindy Starns Clark you are such a gifted story teller. Shadows of Lancaster County pulls you in from the very beginning into a suprising story that leads you through a great mystery, of a underhanded scheme and plot to deceive the innocent. I love how you write Mindy Starns Clark. Please write more write faster.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ruth Hallock
Didn't have enough everday Amish in it. To much modern world stuff happening. On the other hand if you are into mystery, more than everday happenings of the Amish, this book is for you. You never could guess what was happening, just when you think you have it figured out, there was another twist. Didn't have the calming effect on me like other Amish stories that make you unwind and wish you could go into their peaceful life just to avoid the hassles, but was a good mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debra Brooks
This is an excellent book. It is well written, and has mysteries within mysteries as well as a surprise ending! The characters have depth, and struggle with forgiveness and other christian issues we all face; including choosing the world over Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brita Carlson
Shadows of lancaster County was MSC's best book thus far. I felt for Anna and her struggles and coming to terms with her past and present. Very interesting and informative on the life of the Amish and the whole DNA reasearch was great. Loved the ending of who done it and the "Happy Ever After" part:) I can't wait to read her next book, Under the Cajun Moon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shadows of Lancaster County
This review is fromShadows of Lancaster County, Large print.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Fayetta Rose
Anna, has enough faith and strenth to find her brother regardless of the grief she may run into to find him. She can't go home until she know the truth of what happen to him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shadows of Lancaster County
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pauline Ransley
Kept me so interested that I didn't put it down until I had finished it! Another sleepless night!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>