Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook

Howard Books Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook

Raise the standard for raising kids! Considered among America's most widely read parenting experts, nationally syndicated columnist and psychologist Rosemond presents practical principles for nurturing children of character. Arguing that respect for others - rather than self-esteem - guarantees happier, more emotionally healthy kids, he lays out a simple, Bible-based model for successful child rearing. Study guide included. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook
Review 1 for Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook
This review is fromParenting by the Book.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Throw back style to parenting

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Author John Rosemond is a family psychologist who has directed mental-health programs and been in full-time private practice working with families and children. Rosemond has a weekly syndicated parenting column appearing in more than 200 newspapers, and he has written 15 best-selling books on parenting and the family.
Including his latest: Parenting by The Book; Biblical Wisdom in Raising Your Child.
It seems like we all remember our own childhood as the good-ol-days. The days before smart phones, and realistic video games. We all had our elbows off the table, we all cleared our own plates and we always said "please" and "thank you," right?
Yea right....
But is that family dynamic still achievable? Or has that era vanished completely? Author John Rosemond argues for a happy and emotionally healthy child in this book. Upfront, yes this is a Christian book that teaches some biblical principles on child-rearing - and yes - upfront the author does advocate for real and actual punishments for disobedience.
Personally we all have our own tolerance, limits and baggage about what constitutes punishment and going "too far" but we each make those choices as parents and I think the author would agree.
The thing I thought was the most striking was where the author touched on "respect." I have to say that I highly agree and think this is where many parents fail their children; teaching them to respect themselves as well as others.
This book has a lot of information and the author's voice is often humorous and easy to listen to. I think the one disconnect for me was how much this book felt like "Doctor Spock." Not so much the way it was presented, but the mentality. There is definitely a "throw back" approach to parenting in this book - it's not a "modern" approach to Biblical child rearing by any stretch and the author clearly says this is was how his own parents and "grand parents" raised him.
There is a lot of great stuff here, but nothing that stands out as earth shattering. Granted I have not read many biblical parenting books - but this book just felt sort of "middle road" for me.
Thank you to Howard books for the free review copy for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook
This review is fromParenting by the Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Parenting Book by Far!

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
PastorGary
Location:Fishers, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John Rosemond has provided parents with solidly biblical and exceedingly practice advice on parenting with techniques and illustrations that actually work. I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to all Christian parents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook
This review is fromParenting by the Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Priscil
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough good about this book. I wish so much I had this available when raising my three sons. Fortunately all are doing well, married, great careers etc.
However, after reading this book I can see that I would have had more confidence and an easier time of it had I understood the some of principals in this book. I have now passed it on to one of my daughter-in-laws who showed an interest.
Thank you John Rosemond!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook
This review is fromParenting by the Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Belinda Ervin
An excellent book for parenting! John Rosemond's honesty is refreshing. What could be better than parenting by God's Word?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook
This review is fromParenting by the Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie Dick
This book brings a new level of PEACE to the home! I have read it twice since my children were in different stages of development and I am so thankful for John Rosemond and his insight. I have gone from stressed out Mom to calm Mom (usually) and the kids are all the better for it. This is a common sense, reality-check for parents that is relevant whether you are a believer or not. Share this book and bless others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook
This review is fromParenting by the Book.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shabi Bolduc
This book has changed my mindset on parenting/discipline as I now see the importance of God's plan on the subject. I would like more detailed steps and examples of how to carry out God's plan with my two and four year olds and I will look for additional resources from this author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook
This review is fromParenting by the Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jodi Hoddenbagh
Excellent book! I enjoyed his back to basics, simple, biblical approach to parenting. We are currently using this book as our selection for our mom's group book club and is is sparking a lot of discussion. A very valuable read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook
This review is fromParenting by the Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Aaron Francis
Great book! This book brings child rearing back to Bible basics. With all the Postmodern Psychological Parenting advice out there, our society has turned away from God's plan for parenting. It was interesting to read how nearly ever aspect of parenting has been twisted and distorted to nearly the opposite of what the Bible teaches. Rosemond does a superb job in this volume exposing the myth behind "post modern parenting" and clearly teaches the Biblical method for raising children. I would recommend this book to every parent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook
This review is fromParenting by the Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rick Divito
Well, whenever a psychologist bases his patient care on the bible, can you go wrong? I bought this for a young man I work who just adopted a 5 year old. I gave it to him 2 days ago and already has used a method from the book successfully! By the way, I used most of the methods in this book 25 years ago and voila! two doctors from 2 kids!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook
This review is fromParenting by the Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
L.Meiners
Like it or not...John is right. There is not one bit of information from his newest book that doesn't hit the nail on the head. Believe in the Bible or not...John's right! Back to the Basics guys - Back to the Bible! We need a revolutionizing in today's parenting and I speak this truth from the perspective of one in our schools' classrooms and from a parent of 3. My parents, thankfully, raised us very close to John's Grandma and for this I am so grateful. I want all my friends to read this book, no matter their age or the age of their children. We need to faithfully get John's word out to all those in our circle of influence so we can begin encouraging all those around us! Our kids will make their own choices and it doesn't reflect our parenting. We need, as parents, to take the reigns of authority back and exercise them for the greater good of our children and the future of our society. He lays it all out before us and tells us the truth. I have known for the last 12 years that something was askew in the parenting circle of knowledge but couldn't put my finger on it successfully enough to change it. John does - he hit the nail on the head - LIKE IT OR NOT we need to believe it and put action behind his words! Thank you John!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook
This review is fromParenting by the Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Bowser
I love this book! Filled with common sense and,practical, biblical advice. It is time to get back to basics and reclaim what we have lost. Mr. Rosemond does a great service to the readers of his book. I look forward to one day attending one of his seminars and thanking him personally.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook
This review is fromParenting by the Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
S Combe
The best parenting book out right now!Went to a workshop Rosemond offered at BethelTemple and he is dynamic in delivery and hashad experience - not only with his education,but practical experience as well. Linking hisinfo up with the Bible was the work of God Himself in this man. I know because there isa humorous side to all of this as well, we have a fun God. And, now a skillful authorwho knows the ins and outs of parenting fromboth perspectives - education and practicalknowledge! Hallelujah!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child - eBook
This review is fromParenting by the Book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amy Thorpe
So far we love this book. Rosamond's biblical approach is so refreshing and reassuring. While the first part of the book is a little academic, it's still not hard to read and has provided lots of discussion in our small group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.