Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Harvest House Publishers Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1

Travel back in time to the fashionable Mayfair district of London---and lose yourself in a Jane Austen-style romance! When trouble at home sends Miss Ariana Forsythe packing, she finds herself neck-deep in high society . . . and scandal. With her Christian principles at stake, will Ariana stand firm, even if it costs her everything? 325 pages, softcover from Harvest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Review 1 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

•°o•:*:•.Pleasant, not great.•:*:• o°•

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather Guerrero, Homeschool Mom to 2Blessings
Location:CORONA, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book seemed a little too forced to me. I enjoyed some parts, but the relationship between Ariana and Phillip seemed unrealistic. She continually recognized he was not a Christian, and finally sends him away to become one. That’s a nice “bow” for a story, but unrealistic for real life. This book tries hard to feel like a Jane Austen novel according to the author, but it fell short of the mark for me. I felt that bringing the 2 characters together in the end, meant ultimately they were unequally yoked. Ariana had a deep appreciation, respect for and dependency upon God. Philip has no maturity in Christ other than a few weeks studying away from her. Overall, it is not a bad read and I have passed it along to a friend. However, I probably would not go out of my way to purchase something from this author again. Perhaps some of her later novels will reside better with discerning readers.
Things that are included: *Period words listed in glossary in back of book. I REALLY appreciated this.
I purchased this copy, and am volunteering my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High Society does not win out where Love is

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You are transported to London where upper class has their standards. But love does not care about Society standards.
Ariana would have married the wrong person had not her parents sent her to her Aunt's house. Her Aunt had no children and wanted to introduce someone into society.
I especially loved where Phillip finds Ariana in a tree she climbed and he shielded her from eyes of Society. I believe one knows when they are drawn to someone - their soul-mate.
I loved all the circumstances that put Ariana and Phillip together. The unfolding of the story from beginning to end holds your attention.
Ariana is torn between love and her beliefs. But as one who took a chance on a new christian knowing God put us together, this part I know first hand.
I highly recommend you prepare for an adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mountian Angel
Location:Tehachapi, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a nice story and I enjoyed the way the author protrayed the characters and their difficulties and personal struggles. There were a few incorrrect historical points, but not many people would notice them unless they were very familiar with the Regancy Era. Overall I liked the book and will add it to my collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Before the Season Ends

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynelle
Location:South Africa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an delightful story I enjoyed immensely.
Loved all the characters especially Mr. Mornay for his willingness to be instructed by a young woman of her spirituality. Unheard of in that age, come to think of it, unheard of in this age as well. Arianna determination to hold on to her believe no matter what society expected from her. To stand her ground unwavering of family and friends and believe that He will do as promised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

An attempt to rehash a Regency novel

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jo Bearsley
Location:New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Ariana Forsythe heads to 1813 London to enjoy her first season under the ageis of her wealthy Aunt Bentley. But a scandal threatens to send her packing in disgrace until the Paragon, Mr. Mornay, intervenes to clear her name..."
I had very high hopes for this book after reading the back cover as I love history and Regency novels and looked forward to one by a Christian author. Unfortunately I'd recently read Georgette Heyer's 'Arabella' and recognised every single one of these characters, right down to the poor urchin that our heroine foists onto her top-of-the-trees admirer. I did appreciate the way that Burkard 'sanitized' the original plot to remove the deceit and adjust some of the language.
The writing is obviously American. The British have a whole class system which the author doesn't appear to have grasped, including the fact that some terms and idioms of speech, although perfectly acceptable for one rank of society, were considered totally inappropriate for others. The characters are overdone, "bursting into tears" where an Austen or Heyer character might "stiffen" or "speak in a constricted voice". Mr. Mornay's behavior in taking a young girl Without A Chaperone! to a party given by the Regent should have assured Ariana's social doom and forever branded her as 'fast', and Aunt Bentley allowing Ariana to actually visit Mornay's house at dark of night would have had them both ostracized immediately. And try as I might I cannot imagine the great Beau Brummell consenting to pack into a carriage where he would be jostled and crumpled, let alone drinking straight from a bottle, without making some very cutting remarks!
Small things perhaps, but they constantly jarred me out of enjoying what could have been a very enjoyable read. I believe that this is Burkard's first Regency novel, so I might try her writing further down the track and hope that she improves with time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
This review is fromBefore the Season Ends - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
2klc
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book! It was a nice, light, read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
This review is fromBefore the Season Ends - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great victorian regeney era read

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
card4
Location:Kelowna, B.C. Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good book for those who enjoy Victorian era books. The story has several twists and turns that make it interesting and outcome not exactly predicted when first start reading. Liked the Christian emphasis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
This review is fromBefore the Season Ends - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better Than Expected

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reesy
Location:Texas
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before the Season Ends was a great read! Finally a book in this time period that was historically acurate, and interesting! I easily sympathized with the characters, and was kept turning the pages to find out what happened next. It was a good clean, and interesting read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
This review is fromBefore the Season Ends - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent story

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
sabl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a book I couldn't put down. It's been awhile since I read one I like so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great witnessing tool!

Date:January 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thelma Carlson
Location:Russell, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Before The Season Ends" is a fantastic story and a great
witnessings tool for unbelievers. Linore also taught that
things aren't always as they might seem, therefore we
should not be quick in passing judgement on others. Only
God knows the heart and the things that have transpired
in ones life. I especially liked the glossary in the back that
explained the meaning of words and phrases used in the
1800's. I found the book very difficult to put down. Since
my reading time is in the evening instead of T.V., my days
dragged until I could get back into it. I am most anxious to
get into the sequels; THE HOUSE ON GROSVENOR SQUARE
and THE COUNTRY HOUSE COURTSHIP. This book deserves
an award.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
XS Lindsey
I admit, I fell for the marketing on this one hook, line, and sinker. The very fact that "Before the Season Ends" was described as "Jane Austen-style" was enough for me. I couldn't wait to read it. Well...it wasn't exactly Jane Austen STYLE. The writing is quite different (though I don't know what I was expecting, this being the 21st Century!) It IS Regency period, and "Before the Season Ends" does make use of common social customs, manners, and graces of the period. So, if that is the definition of "Jane Austen-style", then so be it.Once I got past my initial disappointment, however, I did find myself intrigued. One cannot help but love the book's sweet, unassuming heroine, Ariana Forsythe, whose simple yet profound faith impacts everyone around her.Anyone who knows or understands anything about this unique time in British history will recognize the author's command of the Regency era within her plot. However, parts of the plot feel a bit contrived, thus leading to a somewhat predictable outcome. However, what is the Regency period, if not marrying everyone off to better the family coffers? This in itself is where Burkard captures true Austen style -- love ultimately prevails.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
ann Brady
interesting, captivating trip into an earlier historic period. merticulous details of the times, customs and dress. it even has al ittle romance and intrigue.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sherry Ann Miller
Before the Season Ends, by Linore Rose Burkard, is being billed as "Inspirational Romance for the Jane Austen Soul" which made me particularly intrigued, as I love both the Victorian and Regency Time Periods (Jane Austen is one of my favorite authors), and Inspirational Romance is often what I write.Before the Season Ends begins with Ariana Forsythe's family sending her to London to escape a suitor they consider unsuitable (for good reason), hoping some culture (museums, theatres, the ballet) will help round out Ariana's education and take her mind off her suitor. But, her aunt (and now her chaperone and guardian in London), Agatha Bentley, has another idea: marrying Ariana off to a rich and elegant bachelor of the highest rank. When Ariana first hears of Phillip Mornay, she decides he is perhaps the least likely candidate for a husband because he is ill-tempered and too rich to associate with anyone beneath his own station, besides being incredibly handsome. However, Before the Season Ends, Aunt Bentley is determined to make the match possible. What ensues can be scandalous, comical and laugh-out-loud delightful, especially considering Ariana, while endowed with the ability to be graceful and charming, has a tendency to let her temper flare and her outdoor manners run wild.One of the important facets of Before the Season Ends is Ariana's devotion to God, and the role He plays in her every day life. Of course, she wants her future husband to feel as close to God as she does, but Phillip Mornay is not known for any pious inclinations, which makes his suitability, in her eyes, impossible.If you have any leanings toward Jane Austen, the Regency Era, or just plain fun reading, you've got to read Linore Rose Burkard's book. I thoroughly enjoyed Before the Season Ends, and recommend it heartily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2009
Two years ago two of my friends dared me to read Pride & Prejudice. Actually, they told me I was uncultured. And of course, being the type of person that I am, I accepted their challenge. It took me two years to do it, but I finally finished Pride & Prejudice and I'm glad I did. I felt a sense of accomplishment, but didn't feel excited about reading anymore of Austin's book. So when I got Linore Rose Burkard's book, whose tag line is "Inspirational Romance for the Jane Austen Soul", I straightened my shoulders and said "If you can read Austin, you can read this."Much to my surprise, I plowed through both Burkard's books in two days! These books shocked me at how great they are, not because Burkard is a sub par writer (she isn't), but because I didn't think I would enjoy another Regency story. Burkard is a phenomenal writer. She has captured Austen's style enough to amaze me, but made it her own enough to keep me turning the pages.The characters are well fleshed out and memorable. Thanks to Phillip Mornay, I realized I'm secretly in love with Mr. Darcy (shh, don't tell him). I also love Ariana's aunt. She definitely adds drama to the story. These books would make a great gift for all the Austen lovers in your life. Burkard lives up to her tag line a thousand times over!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2009
A Faith-full Regency RomanceI met the charming Ariana Forsythe and her handsome fianc, Mr. Philip Mornay, aka The Paragon, in Linore Rose Burkards debut novel, BEFORE THE SEASON ENDS. I was drawn to these characters, enjoyed the bumpy journey they traveled in that book and looked forward to the sequel, THE HOUSE IN GROSVENOR SQUARE.The story picks up with their wedding two weeks away. After all theyve been through together, Ariana and Mornay hope for time to pass quickly without further incident so they can marry and begin their life together, but troubles plague them. Items from his lovely home go missing--after Arianas visits. When shes taken in an attempted abduction, Mornay vows to find the culprits behind the troubling deeds. He shocks the ton by moving her into his guest room in order to keep her from harm, but he refuses to let the gossipmongers deter his need to protect his beloved.THE HOUSE IN GROSVENOR SQUARE is full of surprises. Burkard kept me reading as I hurried to see Ariana free from danger. However, just as Id think things were going to improve, along came another hurdle. By the time I neared the end, I stopped looking at the clock or worrying about how tired Id be the next day because I was eager to see how things worked out.Once again, Burkard has captured the rich dialogue of the Regency period in an inspirational tale where faith plays a vital role in the characters lives. Her attention to detail and historical research enable her to do a wonderful job of depicting the period. THE HOUSE IN GROSVENOR SQUARE delivered all it promised. I had a good time visiting my old friends Ariana and Mornay and enjoyed this fast-paced tale of trials overcome and mysteries resolved.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tina Dee
Sweet and charming, Before the Season Ends is a delightful page turner transporting you back to the Regency period. The details in dress, architecture, and the Regent's inner circle make the adventure all the more! Wonderful read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
England, 1813. A time when a young ladys life was all about finding the best husband. Country girl Ariana Forsythes parents do not approve of the man she has set her sights on and send her to London to live with her rich Aunt Bentley. Ariana can hardly wait to see the city, a place filled with history, museums, and art. Aunt Bentley has different ideas of how Ariana will spend her time, however, and drags Ariana on countless shopping trips to prepare for her debut into society.But Aunt Bentley over exaggerates. Arianna is not the eldest daughter nor does she have a large inheritance, though no man could doubt it the way Aunt Bentley presents her niece. Ariana feels as though she is deceiving everyone she meets. She does not wish for a rich husband. She only wants one who loves God as much as she does.Ariana seems to attract disaster. A misunderstanding with a rich and powerful woman results in a vicious rumor about Ariana and Londons current rich and rouge bachelor, Philip Mornay. Despite Philips indifference toward young women seeking a husband, he offers to help Ariana dispel these rumors by pretending to court her. Arianas faith and future are on the line. Will Philips intentions help to clear her name? And can she resist giving her heart to a man who does not share her love of God?What a delightful read! I love books based on this period in history. Ms. Burkard has written a wonderful story of the complications of high society life in regency England. Her characters were both charming and deep. I longed for Ariana to find what she really wanted and get away from her manipulating aunt. But Ms. Burkard found clever ways to overcome each worrisome development Ariana managed to get herself into. I highly recommend this novel for those who love Jane Austen and romance stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Green
Ms. Burkard is a talented author. Her writing style is that which pulls you in and doesn't let go until you've reached the end. And even then you wish there to be more. Thank goodness there's a sequel. Indeed, I was quite astounded at the aptitude of the author not that I discounted Ms. Burkard before reading, but that she is just so very good at writing Regency. You might even believe you're reading a period novel. The heroine, Ariana Forsythe, starts out seeming quite young and naive at the onset of the book. As we aren't allowed into her POV much in the 1st 3 chapters, I wasn't quite sure of want kind of character she would turn out to be. She is a young woman of great moral fiber who loves God and in following His commandments receives the desires of her heart. Ariana is such an endearing character. I enjoyed her very much. What an example she is to all young women even today in their Christian walks. The reasons that the unattainable Mr. Mornay falls in love with her are the very same reasons you will find her delightful.Mr. Philip Mornay is called the Paragon. Every lady wishes to attract him and every man tends to emulate him. From fashion, wealth, and society he is at the peak of the swell. He's very proud and at times seems angry. He can be brusque and rude and everyone allows it because he is the Paragon. Then he meets Arianna and his heart and behavior begin to change. For every action there is a reaction and Ariana soon learns the reasons for the behaviors in the man she has come to love.Before the Season Ends was simply enchanting from the first page to the last. It is very romantic and yes even passionate at times. Such a sweet romance and one that got my heart to pounding to see these characters get together. The Christian message is quite transparent from the very first chapter. No watered down Christianity here. It was wonderful to see the plan God had in the lives of these two people. I look forward to reading the sequel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
i loved this book! it has everything. period details, wonderful romance, humour, real love, and most of all a very serious attitude towards God. i especially liked the way the heroine stood firm in her faith, despite the fear of losing a great romance. i can't say i know any "christian" girls now that would have done the same. i confess i was curious to see how believable the hero's conversion would be and of all the things i had thought of, the simple prayer he said from his heart, was the greatest surprise for me. it was so honest, so genuine, so childlike in its nearness to God, that i even cried a little. i also like the fact that he didn't hide it from Ariana that he wanted to follow Christ because he wanted to marry her, as i have seen many many men come to church for similar reasons, but with a total lack of sincerity about it. finally, i want to say that the author compares herself (or puts herself in a similar position) to Jane Austen, or maybe even other successful regency authors. what i wanted to say is that although it does her credit to have been influenced by authors such as Austen and Heyer, she has developped a style entirely her own, on top of which, her book is filled with God. and, although i have read Austen's and Heyer's books to shreds, i would any day prefer to read a so well written regency that also says about my Saviour, than any of those famous authors, who, however good they are, they do not have Him on every page (or indeed on any page). of course, it takes time for people to get to know a new auhtor, but i really think mrs Burkard has an original style and very original ideas for the plot and best of all, a very personal faith in God. i am so glad i found this author!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Before The Season Ends, London Regency Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2009
I have been in a Jane Austen sort of mood lately. So this book fits perfectly with the way my mood has been. This book is written perfectly in the Regency tone of voice and style. I loved Ariana's character. It was fun to read about her stepping into high society at the benefit of a rich old aunt. The chemistry she had with Phillip was wonderful and very believable. It's very easy to swoon while reading this book. You wish you could live like this all the time! All the details in the book are wonderful, the description of the places and the clothes really make the story come to life. I enjoyed reading about the fashion and all the little customs of the time period. I even like the part where it's explained how Ariana could not be called by her first name in society because her older sister had not been married yet. I wish that happened today! The scene involving Ariana being stuck in a tree was my favorite. It was like something really out of a Jane Austen novel and I could picture it in a movie coming to life. Very funny and great way to make the characters interact with each other. Since this is a Regency Inspirational Romance, there is talk about religion and Christianity in the book but it's not preachy. Yes they are key elements to the story but even if they are not something that you agree with, honestly the setting and tone of writing are the main focus of the book.My only qualm is that there is a nice guy who gets hurt and gets no condolence. I always feel bad when the nice guy loses! However this book was a gem to read. I could practically see myself wearing the empire dresses and listening to classical music during the book. I have expected Darcy or Edward Ferras to pop up and make cameos! This is a wonderful time in British history and one I wish I could go back in time to visit. I am looking forward to reading the rest of Ariana and Phillip's adventures. If you are a Regency fan, you will adore this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.