Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD

Zondervan TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD

The most ambitious, critically-acclaimed presentation of the Bible ever produced, Inspired By … The Bible Experience features a star-studded cast of almost 400 performers, including 23 Grammy winners, 8 Emmy winners, 5 Golden Globe winners, and 3 Oscar winners.

Highlighting the cast is 2007 Academy Award-winning actor Forest Whitaker as the voice of Moses, along with Angela Bassett (Esther), Cuba Gooding, Jr. (Jonah), Denzel and Pauletta Washington (Song of Songs), LL Cool J (Samson), Eartha Kitt (Serpent), Bishop T.D. Jakes (Abraham), Blair Underwood (Jesus), Samuel Jackson (God, NT only), and Bishop Eddie L. Long (Joel) among others.

The Bible Experience uses Zondervan’s most accessible and up-to-date translation, Today’s New International Version (TNIV), and includes dramatic performances set to an original musical underscore by the Prague Symphony Orchestra and Hollywood-style sound design created at Technicolor Studios.

The Bible Experience has become not just the bestselling audio Bible, but also one of the all-time fastest-selling new Bibles. In addition to record-breaking sales, Inspired By … The Bible Experience has received unprecedented consumer satisfaction and national recognition including numerous five-star reviews on Amazon.com, an Audies Audiobook of the Year (the highest honor of the Audio Publisher’s Association), an AudioFile Earphones Award, and a nomination for an NAACP Image Award.

The complete Bible features 79 digitally mastered audio CDs, a bonus “making of” DVD, and a convenient carrying case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.816 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(147 Reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (147 reviews)
5 stars
129
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
33 out of 3594%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Review 1 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well Done, My Good & Faithful Servants

Date:October 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Kings Kid
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Audio with Sound Effects. I've worn my CDs out; I 'm purchasing another set. God Bless all of the participants of this well-done work of art on the Word of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice carrying case to take anywhere with ease

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Yvonne
Location:Ceterville, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once I started listening it's hard to turn it off. I even purchased a personal CD player with ear phones to fall asleep with at night. It was truly an awesome gift to myself. I'm sure by the "Bonus Materal" lots of prayer and work went into the production. Thank you to all of the celeberitys lending their hearts and voices to make this project a success. It has so touched my spirit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How did I live without this series in my life?

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Xquizitmind
Location:Alpharetta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so in love with this product! The Word of God everywhere I go. The narration is beautiful. Worth every penny if the price were 10Xs higher. Don't miss out on this one. It's an investment that pays eternal dividends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely the best for the visually impaired

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:Colorado
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son has been legally blind for over 12 years now, and this New Testament was given to him by a friend when it was first released. He has listened to it so much that he almost has it memorized. We had used other audio programs, but the readings were so dry and lifeless--difficult for a kid (or 'most anyone) to keep focused on. This is enjoyed by all our family. This Christmas we look forward to getting him a set complete with the Old Testament.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm loving it!

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Minsey
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Hearing the Word of God in my car and in my home is awesome. I travel a lot so having God's Word read to me as I drive is wonderful. The expressions, the music, the many voices permeate God's presence. I'm loving it!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Donny
Location:Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a nice experience to listen to...I could have done without the background voices of animals and people on so many occasions because it distracts my listening . When GOD speaks on these cds i think HE should sound loving but powerful and commanding (a deep voice) but this is only my opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Crape
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At the end of the day I never had time to sit down and read my bible and when I did have time I never understood what I was really reading, But with this audio book I can pop it in on the way to work and listen to it. It really helps to understand it better when each actor/actress has their own line and the background sounds are amazing its like being at the movies without the picture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was an awesome gift!

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denise Hornaday
Location:Caldwell, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I personally have not listened to any of the CDs, but I did listen to the samples online before I purchased the CDs as a gift for my husband who is a pastor and has wanted the Bible on CD to listen to while he drives.
I must say that he told me that this was the best gift ever! The CDs' dramatization is great and the music and sound effects are awesome. He is thoroughly enjoying this CD set.
I know that I'll eventually get to listen to the CDs, and if his reaction to the CDs are any sign of what I'll be listening to, then I can't wait to hear them myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it!!!

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jackson1679
Location:Janesville, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this as a Christmas gift.
I have had other audio Bibles. They didn't do much for me. This one is different! It captures and holds my attention. It makes the narrative come alive. The reading is clear; the background effects are effective and non-intrusive. It is fun to listen to while I am driving.
I plan on buying several and making them available to my church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Gift

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peanut12
Location:Atlant, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this product to a very close friend for his birthday and he appears to really like it. The mix of actors doing the readings was the biggest draw in making this purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love, love, love

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christine
Location:Westminster, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful way to get into the bible! I bought this as a gift for my husband. He has a lot of drive time to and from work. He wasn't excited at first but once he put the cd into the player, he was thrilled. He looks forward to the long drive he has to make six days a week. The animation and drama that this version brings is so entertaining. It has surpassed my expectations. And he tells me all the time how much he is enjoying it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amy B
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible Experience exceeded everything I was expecting & I recommend this for any age! =)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Absolutely love it, however...

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ijsj2
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I first purchased The Bible Experience when it was initially released and offered in only one testament. I absolutely loved it, said so, and was one of the ones who readily wrote requesting other testament, making it complete Bible listening. When few years later the complete Bible was offered, I bought it and absolutely love it, too. However, it's sound balance or editing doesn't seem to be as good as initial release. Too many times I just simply cannot make out what is being spoken and way too many times the music and/or sound-effects overpower words causing them not to be heard/understood. It's as if sound-track was not balanced or some parts were mastered and others not. Though this is a problem throughout the entire collection, I've found it to be more so in new testaments. Additionally, even though singers and music are great, I'd rather them not be placed where they interrupt my 'flow'. Again, this was found to be worse problem mostly in new testaments. Singing and music were in old testaments, too; however, their balance of their sound and placement was so much better making them less disruptive/intrusive. That said, I'm so blessed that 'inspired by' made and released 'The Bible Experience'...I absolutely love it, I keep purchasing and giving it as gift, recipients love it , and I recommend it to others--definitely and without a doubt!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very misleading

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
judy
Location:minnesota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am extremely dissapointed with this "the bible experience"
I have never been disgusted with any Bible on cd, until this one! I realy dislike the theme music at the beginning & end of
each cd, PLUS songs put inbetween some of the chapters, the
volume has too many differences, from too loud to can't even
hear the word spoken sometimes. Also disc #19 is totally mis-
labeled when put in a computer, & has other misleading inserts
labeled which are the added theme music between some of the
chapters or verses but states something else. What happened to never adding or subtracting from Gods Word?
I do like The Word Of Promise extremely compared to this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historic

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
michael fisher
Location:Rancho Dominguez,Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I am proud this product. May God blessed everyone who had a hand in this. It's just like Black History Month. We shall not be moved and let Freedom regin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
truly Blessed
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing ~ so worth the Price-not a big reader so this was just perfect for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alfred
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It makes the Bible very practical and easy to understand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Brings the Bible to life!!!

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donna
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One comment on the background music. I listen to this at night while in bed. Sometimes the music is a little frightening; otherwise, awesome tapes!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyce Miller
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spend alot of time in the car, so to be able to listen to the Bible on CD is great and the readers are exceptional
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for TNIV Complete Bible: The Bible Experience--79 CDs with bonus DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

outstanding bible cd

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
frank
Location:waterbury,ct
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i enjoy every moment listening to all the bible cd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345 ...8Next >>>