Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1

Harvest House Publishers Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1

The Regency-era romance of Jane Austen meets the sea-faring adventure of Horatio Hornblower! Captain William Ransome never allows women aboard his ship. Julia Witherington must marry immediately to receive a large dowry. The only man she won't wed is Ransome---but he's the only choice her father will approve! Do these two have anything in common? 350 pages, softcover from Harvest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Review 1 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

•°o•Jane Austen meets Pirates of the Caribbean•o°•

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather Guerrero, Homeschool Mom to 2Blessings
Location:CORONA, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ransome Trilogy – Ransome’s Honor, Ransome’s Quest, Ransome’s Crossing
by Kaye Dacus
I am rating the books as a trilogy since I read them all back to back. These books surprised me. I felt book one started out a little slow and a bit stiff. But, they definitely got better. I started book 1 on a Sunday, finished Monday and started book 2 that night, finished it on Tuesday, started book 3 that night and finished by Wednesday afternoon. The story line became so exciting I just could not wait to continue. There is romance, historical nuance, and then the action…OH the action. Fantastic! God also seems to show up more as the story progresses. Not like some authors where you really feel God’s presence throughout, but still I enjoyed it. I did notice the author uses a lot of the same descriptions repeatedly which I did not care for (ex: he punched his fists into his jacket). So for a couple little forgivable issues, I give these 4 out of 5 stars.
My favorite character: Charles Lott – but you will have to read to discover why (wink!).
May 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
This review is fromRansome's Honor - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
tjhanc
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
An okay read. It was a good book to read before going to bed. It was a fun story but never left me desiring to stay up and find what happens next.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
This review is fromRansome's Honor - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ebook was a fabulous price and a really wonderful book to read. I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
This review is fromRansome's Honor - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane
Age:18-24
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is no doubt that this book was very well written. The story is also well thought-of and the author has tried and succeeded in making the plot exciting, making the reader want to continue reading the book.
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes decent fiction.
The message of Christianity is not explicitly announced in this novel, however, the Christian values and the trust in God are.
I would like to read the two following novels of the series, as the reader gets attached to the characters of the story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
This review is fromRansome's Honor - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Suecee
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well written book. I had trouble putting this one down. Can't wait to read #2 & 3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid Regency Romance

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When the headstrong and independent Julia Witherington finds herself in a desperate situation in which her scheming relatives attempt to seize her family’s Caribbean plantation through forcing her to marry, she finds herself turning to a man her father respects, and who broke her heart over a decade ago.
When Julia fell in love with a young sailor so many years ago and expects his proposal, she is deeply wounded and betrayed. Still, she turns to the now respectable William Ransome in order to avoid this planned, forced marriage only to find her heart engaging once more.
Shades of Jane Austen’s Persuasion are evident in Kaye Dacus’ Ransome’s Honor, the first in an expected trilogy. This sweet, Regency-era romance features a great deal of political and military detail (due to Julia’s father and William Ransome’s involvement in the navy) with a capable, confident heroine who finds herself manipulated by the limitations of her role in society. Captain William Ransome is a noble and admirable hero who distinguishes himself by his dedication and protective love.
This is an enjoyable read for fans of modern Regency fiction, and it follows a fairly traditional Regency-romance format. However, there are strong hints of a more adventure-focused sequel, and finale to follow. I prefer the more sedate, traditional Regencies, so I am bidding this series adieu at the end of this first installment. If you choose to do the same, have no fear – there are no cliff-hangers here, and you can read this novel as a stand-alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Kaye Dacus writes with an Austen flare but in a style and voice all her own. This is a great Regency romance read. Julia is a memorable heroine unorthodox and spunky. William makes an intriguing (if misguided) brooding hero. Kayes villains are just plain evil and she expertly weaves their diabolical plot to a powerful climax. Wonderful secondary characters and Im particularly intrigued by Charlotte which is good since the next book in the series belongs to her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee C.
The publisher says this series has "...the wit, romance, and social commentary of Jane Austen..." and it really does! If you are a fan of Persuasion you will definitely love this book! I'm sorry that it took me almost a year to read it. I really wish I would have read it sooner since it is sooo good, but that means I have less time to wait till I read the next book, Ransome's Crossing which releases in June!The heroine in this story is 29-year-old, "on the shelf," spinster, Julia Witherington who believes she lost her chance at love when William Ransome, a young officer in the Royal Navy, did not propose. Twelve years later, William, now a successful naval Captain, returns to Portsmouth much to Julia's surprise. Julia, who longs for her quiet life in the West Indies must find a way to save her inheritance from unscrupulous family members and return to her plantation while dealing with her heart.Ransome's Honor is not packed with searing kisses or sultry glances, the romance in this book is sweet. We even get a glimpse of what has the potential to be a love triangle between William Ransome's young sister, Charlotte and two gentlemen, one whom is introduced and one who is still very much a mystery! I really grew to like Charlotte almost as much as Julia and can't wait to see what adventures await her in Ransome's Crossing!Christian fiction fans pick up this book...I don't think you will be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I really enjoyed reading Ransome's Honor. The title fit the story perfectly. It was like a blend of Marylu Tyndall's pirate stories as well as Linore Rose Burkard's novels. I've never read Jane Austen (oh the shame...) but I hear it has a similar feel to it. Ransome's Honor was filled with culture and details about the mid 1800s that gave it an authentic feel. Plus the use of language from that day in age made it seem like I was part of the era as I read along. I found William to be quite the gentleman and an exciting hero as well. The story had just enough romantic tension to make me smile when things got tense between them. Julie was a likeable heroine and I found her feelings and responses to be authentic. I loved that she didn't wuss out and that she cared about other people more than herself, especially toward the end. It was interesting, too, how this book contained the other man's POV on occasion as well as a few other characters. It wasn't distracting like it often is when you get just a snapshot from one character's POV. In Ransome's Honor it added to the story rather than distracting from it. All in all, I found this story delightful and I'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys Regency era novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shannon
Ransomes Honor by Kaye Dacus is Regency a la "Georgette Heyer meets Horatio Hornblower"only better. The characters honor is not merely based on social convention, but springs from their own deep devotion to the Lord and His word. But this is not some dry tale of two people primly doing what is right. Julia is a spirited bit who struggles not to hold a grudge against the man who broke her heart years before. William, though he strives to be courteous and proper, does not want to face the one girl hed loved above all otherbut could not offer for because of his circumstances.How God brings them back togetherand how they find the path to mending their hurt and disappointmentis a tale truly worth the read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Abel
As much as I enjoyed reading Kaye Dacus' first two books in her Bonneterre Brides series and have recommended them frequently to friends, I must say I think Ransome's Honor is her best yet. You quickly find yourself loathing Ransome's rival and want to read just one more chapter before you turn the light out at night. It's a balance of romance mixed with a bit of suspense. I can't wait for the next book in this series to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
J. M. Hochstetler
In the first book of her Ransome Trilogy Series, Ransomes Honor, Kaye Dacus brings the English Regency period to vivid life in the tradition of Jane Austen, but in her own distinctive voice and style. The plot is engaging and the hero and heroine sympathetic and believable, as is the entire cast of well-drawn characters who populate this book including the delightfully villainous villain. You quickly begin to care about William and Julia and root for them to cast their past aside and finally give in to their love for each other. One of the best things about this story is how Dacus incorporates extensive research in an unobtrusive and involving way. Readers learn a great deal about the world of 1814 England, the town of Portsmouth, and the Royal Navy without feeling as though theyre being given a history lesson. The element of faith is also exceptionally well integrated and central to the main characters lives. Delightfully, the crisis is just hair-raising enough to keep the reader turning pages without becoming overwhelmed. My kudos to Ms. Dacus for another excellent read! I'm looking forward to the second book in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Drewry
I enjoyed this book. It is a very light read, with less historic detail than I would have liked
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bethany Welch
Very good Regency-era novel; I am looking forward to the next two in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2009
Wow! Ransome's Honor by Kaye Dacus is a winner. From first page to last, I was swept into the world of Regency England, brought to life through her vivid descriptions. I could visualize the bustling town of Portsmouth, smell the salty sea air and hear the lap of waves against the hulls of the Royal Navy's magnificent sailing ships.Amidst the spectacular setting, we encounter a wonderful cast of characters. I liked both Captain William Ransome, the epitome of a distinguished naval officer, and Julia Witherington, a bright, determined, resourceful admiral's daughter. The secondary characters, from Julia's garrulous best friend to William's unrefined but well-intentioned steward-cum-valet, are engaging, although Dacus crafted a set of scheming scoundrels sure to raise your hackles, especially the blackguard Sir Drake Pembroke.Dacus is a talented author. I read her contemporaries, Stand-in Groom and Menu for Romance, and enjoyed both. I wondered, however, if her voice would lend itself to historical romance. Indeed, it does. Her research and attention to detail are remarkable, as are her command of the fashions, furnishings and dialogue of the period. She does a fine job incorporating the faith element into Ransome's Honor and has produced an inspirational Regency I enthusiastically recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine Howard
This is a lovely, entertaining, and genuinely enjoyable read. The characters are as presetned - Jane Austen and C S Forester quality. I read this in one setting and found myself anxious for the second installment. How refreshing to turn the pages of something other than the deluge of modern [adultery and child molestation] Christian fiction. Thank you, Kaye!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2009
Do you enjoy regency stories? I do, so I was excited to read this story by Kaye Dacus set in in England complete with high waisted dresses and all. When the story starts, Julia is only 17, but the majority of the story is later when she is almost 30 and it was fun to read a regency romance that was about an "older" couple. I would not want to spoil the story for you, but when Julia is 17, she falls in love with a young man who works alongside her father in the Navy. Her twin brother has gone missing and she is dealing with that, but also expecting a proposal from her young man. When it does not come, she becomes somewhat of a laughing stock of proper society, despite the fact she is well off. A spinster, she finds things to make herself useful, helping her father in keeping accounts and taking care of the less fortunate with her good friend Susan. At the age of 29, the young man who left her heart broken, returns to her life. She is dealing with conflicting emotions of anger as well as others that frustrate her. Add to this a plot from her aunt to marry her off to her cousin (eeww!) to take her money, makes this story one you will be able to smile your way through. It is one of those happy stories you can lose yourself in and think that all of life is good and nothing wrong will happen to you for a short time. I look forward to watching when the next two book come out in this series and reading more adventures of Julia and others in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
jubilee
Often, people think of romance novels as wild romps through contrived plots and outlandish characters in unrealistic settings. And sometimes that is true. Not so for Ransome's Honor. It's a fun, satisfying read, but without the unrealistic contrivances.The author has a way of weaving details of her extensive knowledge of ships and The Royal Navy so that the reader is given a good sense of Regency life for sailors and their families. Characters are fleshed out and easy to keep straight, assisting the reader's imagination.As you might have guessed, Ransome's Honor is right up my alley. I am so thankful for talented Christian authors, Like Kaye Dacus, who write about my favorite genre: historical fiction. And especially historical romance. This novel fits the bill wonderfully. I am looking forward to reading the other books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
Oh my! This is the best book that I have read in a while with no exaggeration. In a way it is Persuasion with some Pride and Prejudice as well as a bit of Sense and Sensibility put within. Action, adventure, intrigue, romance, rescue, and true love, edge of the seat, page turning, not able to read fast enough thrills throughout. This novel has all of the great qualities of a fabulous read and reminds me of other stories I have read and loved. Without a doubt this is one for the permanent keeper shelf and I cannot wait for more from the series. This is my first Kaye Dacus, but not my last. I plan to read some of her contemporary series next.As far as a recommendation for who would like this book... Well it's regency, and deals with the King's Navy. I would relate the adventure and feeling of reading that that of when I read a book by MaryLu Tyndall or Kathleen Y'Barbo. In my opinion, set some time aside when you plan to start this book, because you will be in pain to attempt to set it down and walk away from what happens next! Highly recommended!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ransome's Honor, Ransome Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2009
Ransomes Honor by Kaye Dacus is a beautiful novel of romance and intrigue that captivates the mind and transports the reader to 19th century England. The characters in this novel really breathe: Julia Witherington, our heroine, is a wise and beautiful woman, trusted by her father to see to the running of the family sugar cane plantation in Jamaica; Captain William Ransome, our hero, is the man who did not propose to Julia 12 years ago and now that he is in her company again, is mildly nursing regrets; Drake Pembroke is a slimy, oily scoundrel bent on marrying Julia to acquire her dowry and inheritance to pay off his gambling debts and restore his familys home.I loved this book! Although I do not like the cover at all, and the romance developed a bit too slowly for my taste, this is a well-written novel, sprinkled with seafaring language throughout. There are elegant parties and tales of exotic Jamaican settings. And once the romance began, it rolled! I cannot wait to read the rest of this trilogy (Ransomes Crossing and Ransomes Quest)!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.