Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Ransome's Crossing, Ransome Trilogy Series #2

Harvest House Publishers Ransome's Crossing, Ransome Trilogy Series #2

Desperate to reach Jamaica and her secret fiance, Charlotte Ransome disguises herself as a midshipman on a convoy led by her brother, Captain William Ransome. When her identity is discovered, Charlotte begs William's wife, Julia, not to tell her brother. But will this secret create insurmountable waves for the newlyweds?
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ransome's Crossing, Ransome Trilogy Series #2
Review 1 for Ransome's Crossing, Ransome Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

•°o•Jane Austen meets Pirates of the Caribbean•o°•

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather Guerrero, Homeschool Mom to 2Blessings
Location:CORONA, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ransome Trilogy – Ransome’s Honor, Ransome’s Quest, Ransome’s Crossing
by Kaye Dacus
I am rating the books as a trilogy since I read them all back to back. These books surprised me. I felt book one started out a little slow and a bit stiff. But, they definitely got better. I started book 1 on a Sunday, finished Monday and started book 2 that night, finished it on Tuesday, started book 3 that night and finished by Wednesday afternoon. The story line became so exciting I just could not wait to continue. There is romance, historical nuance, and then the action…OH the action. Fantastic! God also seems to show up more as the story progresses. Not like some authors where you really feel God’s presence throughout, but still I enjoyed it. I did notice the author uses a lot of the same descriptions repeatedly which I did not care for (ex: he punched his fists into his jacket). So for a couple little forgivable issues, I give these 4 out of 5 stars.
My favorite character: Charles Lott – but you will have to read to discover why (wink!).
May 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ransome's Crossing, Ransome Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kaye
Location:Arizona
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
If you're thinking about purchasing this series, please do not hesitate! I have put mine aside to read again (and again) at a later date. Great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ransome's Crossing, Ransome Trilogy Series #2
This review is fromRansome's Crossing - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of surprises right to the end!

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karen Hollenbeck
Location:Naples, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this second book in the Ransome triology; like the first, it kept my attention right to the last page and then left me eager to read the next book in the series. Not only is Charlotte full of surprises, but so are her brother and sister-in-law. This is both a love story and a quasi mystery, extremely well-written and without the overt love scenes that so many authors feel compelled to include. Hats off to Kaye Dacus for another wonderful book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ransome's Crossing, Ransome Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katharine Macdonald
loved it!!! Can not wait until the next one comes out so I can see how it all ends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ransome's Crossing, Ransome Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Fleming
Kaye Dacus has officially become one of my favorite authors with Ransome's Crossing, which combines romance on the high seas with spiritual lessons that kept me thinking for hours after I put the book down. Filled with engaging characters, fast paced action and sweet romance this book was a fabulous read that is impossible to put down! I highly recommend this book, and advise book lovers to get their hands on everything Kaye has written or will write!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ransome's Crossing, Ransome Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
S. Ketchersid
Ransome's Crossing by Kaye Dacus is the second book in The Ransome Trilogy. I took it with me on my vacation to Colorado and loved it! I hadn't read the first book so I wondered if I would have a hard time jumping into it, but there was no problem. Kaye seemlessly wove in information from the previous book so that you knew what was going on.What I loved about this book is the adventurous spirit of the heroine, Charlotte. She is one tough gal who is courageous enough to risk her reputation (this is the Regency era, you know) and even her life to work among sailors in the midst of war. While a bit misguided in her quest to reunite with her fiance, she does what she does with honor and determination. She is amazing in this book!I love how Ned secretly longs for Charlotte and she slowly begins to long for him. It is a slow and beautiful dance Kaye orchestrates between the two and I was routing for them from the get-go.There is a cliff hanger at the end, which makes me sit on the edge of my seat in anticipation for the next book! You will LOVE it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ransome's Crossing, Ransome Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
Since I love books that take place on the highseas during the time of this book, I enjoyedthe action and deception. Charlotte was verygood at being a boy. Excellent read
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ransome's Crossing, Ransome Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shannon
Picking up immediately after Julia Witheringtons marriage to Captain William Ransome, this story is a marvelous follow-up to Ransomes Honor. It covers not only the continuing struggle of Julia and William to define the boundaries of their relationship, but the adventures of Williams younger sister Charlotte, and her growing attachment to Ned Cochrane, her brothers first lieutenant. The writing is once again smooth as silk, the descriptions vivid, and the story tightly woven and soundeven regarding the element of Charlottes passing herself off as a young midshipman for the voyage to Jamaica, which initially raised some skepticism for me. I wanted to savor the end more fully, but with this book ending at a cliffhanger, Im confident the author will tie all things up beautifully in the volume yet to come!In all, spending time again with Julia and William was most enjoyable, and I grew to love Ned and Charlotte as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ransome's Crossing, Ransome Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Oh my gracious, but I enjoyed this book. Kaye lays out a story with a sweeping background full of humor and havoc. Several stories I've read and movies [especially old ones] I've watched were freckled throughout this tale. The interworkings of the crew on ship and the continued give and take with William and Julia held my interest; not to mention the internal struggles of Ned and Charlotte and Henry. My only regret - I can't read the third book now...but I will as soon as it is out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ransome's Crossing, Ransome Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Elerick
I just finished reading Randome's Crossing today. I have been anticipating this book every since I finished the first one right after it came out. The book is full of imagination and is different than what I have read before. Of course the love story is great too. Now I have to wait for the third book. Enjoy..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ransome's Crossing, Ransome Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kim
Just finished reading this today. I absolutely loved it! The second one was just as good as the first one. The ONLY disappointment that I have is that I will have to wait for the next one to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.